Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing early British documentaries
This is Volume One of the BFI's commitment to ensure all of acclaimed British documentary maker Humphrey Jennings' films are finally available on Blu-ray and DVD. This is a Dual-Format edition, so there's both a Blu-ray disc and a DVD with the same content. Due to the quality of the prints of these early films, dating from 1934-40, they are never going to be breathtaking...
Published on 25 Sept. 2011 by T Everson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD problems
I really wanted this DVD, but it would not work in my recorder - Amazon were great about a return. I thought the DVD was faulty, so ordered from the issuing company, the BFI. Wouldn't work from them either. Apparently this will not work on all DVD players, and I was unlucky. Be warned.
Published 8 months ago by Ann McCabe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing early British documentaries, 25 Sept. 2011
By 
T Everson (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
This is Volume One of the BFI's commitment to ensure all of acclaimed British documentary maker Humphrey Jennings' films are finally available on Blu-ray and DVD. This is a Dual-Format edition, so there's both a Blu-ray disc and a DVD with the same content. Due to the quality of the prints of these early films, dating from 1934-40, they are never going to be breathtaking transfers, but because of this I honestly can't imagine them looking any better than they do here. Some of these have been released by the BFI on previous boxsets, but this is the first time that we can finally have all of Jennings' early films together in one set. Here's a list of all the films included on this set:

Post Haste (1934)
Locomotives (1934)
The Story of the Wheel (1934)
Farewell Topsails (1937)
Penny Journey (1938)
Speaking from America (1938)
The Farm (1938)
Making Fashion (1938)
Spare Time (1939)
SS Ionian (1939)
The First Days (1939)
Spring Offensive (1940)
Welfare of the Workers (1940)
London Can Take It! (1940)

As special features go, there's a couple of alternate cuts of the above films, and a 1936 film for Shell, 'The Birth of the Robot', which Jennings worked on. Jennings was one of the very best documentary makers Britain has ever produced, and hopefully this collection will reintroduce his work to a new generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful!, 10 May 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
As with Volume Two of this new proposed series of three blu rays dedicated to the work of the inspired film maker Humphrey Jennings, I cannot praise the BFI too highly in making this work available. The documentaries are extraordinary and capture our history and culture in ways which are both lyrical and inspired. And the transfers are as good as they will ever be. Impressive stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of the Documentary, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
Starting from the early days of film documentaries, this collection shows just how they developed from the early, almost amateurish beginnings to the more powerful just a decade later. This collection is worthy of anyone's collection if they like the story of cinema taken from another angle.

I went to 'The Pictures' almost weekly during the early to mid sixties and would always watch everything shown at least once, often twice - I liked to get my money's worth. The main film, the 'B' film, Pathé News, the travelogue or whatever the documentary happened to be and even the adverts. It was far removed from the television of the time (black and white, grainy and small screen) and the cinema became an adventure.

These documentaries take me back to a more innocent time - happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GENIOUS, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
THE FIRST DAYS is a must for people who like me like good documentaries.
HUMPHREY JENNINGS made this kind of film work an art form.
the whole trilogy is brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'd never heard of Humphrey Jennings, but all has changed!, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
Sorry to say nothing ever gets 5 stars, but this DVD is brilliant.
If you came from that era, its wonderful to see many long forgotten images of childhood, most of which was happening without my knowledge behind my mother however.
My favourite film has to be 'Sparetime' which has so much in common with 'Every Valley' the BT film of 1957, that one realises what influence HJ had on later film makers.
I highly recomend this and look forward to a purchase of the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 1930's through the lens., 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
One man's ideas of film making, from some of the early work through to WW II.
Unmissable documentary films, sadly not shown on TV enough..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding record, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
Jennings' work, especially in the London sequences,
is truly inspired. It is also, of course, a superb historical record.
A must for documentary enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant body of work, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
I bought this boxset along with volume two and watched them as they arrived. I loved the way Jennings held up a mirror to the times he was recording and has left us with a body of work that will live on as a document of the time now sadly (or not) gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Documentary gold, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
D. Branch (Birmingham ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
Love these old documentary's of our bygone past most of these filmed in troubled times London can take it being a great example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD problems, 18 Jun. 2014
By 
Ann McCabe (England, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939] (Blu-ray)
I really wanted this DVD, but it would not work in my recorder - Amazon were great about a return. I thought the DVD was faulty, so ordered from the issuing company, the BFI. Wouldn't work from them either. Apparently this will not work on all DVD players, and I was unlucky. Be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Humphrey Jennings Volume One: The First Days (DVD + Blu-ray) [1939]
£10.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews