Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Examination of the Newborn : An Evidence Based Guide, 22 Nov 2011
This book is aimed at any practitioner who is involved with examination of the newborn.

A consistent approach to the examination, early intervention and preventative care can have the most positive influence on outcome for the newborn. To this end, the UK National Screening Committee have produced a set of standards and competencies for clinical practice that all health care professionals should be taking into consideration before undertaking the newborn examination.

The book takes the reader through the process of examination of the newborn using a systematic, evidence based approach paying close attention to the UK Screening Committee's Newborn and Infant Physical Examination standards and competencies.

In additon to the physiological aspects, the book addresses areas such as the importance of history taking and how central this process is to a positive outcome. Professional issues surrounding the newborn examination are also addressed together with the role of the employer in facilitating midwives to perform the examination within Trusts.

The text also deals with the midwife's role in child protection and sets this within the context of the newborn examination.
Examination of the Newborn:An Evidence Based Guide is the only book of its kind that incorporates the UK Screening Committee's standards and competencies. Therefore it provides essential reading for all health care professionals who are continually striving to update their knowledge and contribute positively to the standardisation of care on a national scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative, evidence based excellent book in relation to newborn examination, 21 July 2011
The examination of the newborn is a well written evidence based book that covers a wide range of issues in relation to newborn examination. The book covers a range of topics that are relevant to clinical practice from history taking to anatomical examinations. In particular some of the paragraphs on specific conditions e.g. in relation to chromosomal and genetic problems, examination of the newborns skin and examination of the newborn heart and lungs are through giving information on anatomy and physiology, the relevant examinations and a range of conditions that may be present at birth. A range of photographs, diagrams and illustrations are used throughout the book that support the text very well and reinforce the many complex ideas put forward.

Overall this book is an excellent, informative and evidence based read that is academic, yet understandable that would be useful to student nurses, midwives and qualified staff alike. In particular this book would be useful for nursing and midwifery staff or students with an interest in the neonatal field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful textbook, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Champak "Hundalz" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As someone in medical field, I recommand this useful book as a great reference to people who are in this field from medical students to GPs as it is very well divided, detailed and also being practical.

I suggest this book to new parents who are intrested to know more about medical things as it is written in an easy understanding way that can be informative for families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive overview, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Very thorough reference book; an essential guide for GPs, paediatric juniors, and midwives conducting newborn examinations. As a GP, I perform occasional newborn examinations, and frequent 8-week checks; this is the best book covering the area that I have come across and I have found it extremely useful repeatedly. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference but would have liked coloured pictures, 25 April 2013
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a primary care practitioner I was interested to see this book since I hoped it contained information that will prove useful in my day to day work , and will help me to know the 'normal' as compared to 'abnormal' when examining and handling new babies.
It covers various aspects of examination and issues like Child Protection and Genetic conditions are nicely presented .
The skin section in particular is thorough but I would have liked the photographs - of which there are several - to be in colour.
I think in addition to people in my role , it would prove a useful resource for Midwives and Health Visitors alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Examination of the Newborn, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to compliment my studies to be an examiner of the newborn. It has provided me with the knowledge that is required to undertake this task. It is an easy read and follow and will make an excellent choice for any other professionals that are undertaking similar studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Examination of The Newborn, 19 July 2012
By 
Binka - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I work as a midwife and am coming to the end of an Examination of The Newborn module at uni so I can undertake this extended role. This book has been invaluable.

It covers all areas needed such as;

Changing circulation of the newborn
Common skin conditions/complaints
Examination of the respiratory system
Examination of the abdomen and genitalia
Jaundice
Foot abmormalities
Genetic problems
Child protection issues
Head, neck and eyes.

If its not in this book you won't need to know it! Would be a great book for junior paeds, VTS trainees as well as paed nursing students and midwifery students. Even if you're not doing the extended role it will help you learn about any problems you may come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another textbook.., 24 May 2012
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am in the medical profession so looking at this book is like looking another text book for me. Actually it is not really a text book. It is a useful reference manual for medical professional or professionals allied to medicine who comes into contact with the newborns eg GP, health visitors, midwives, student nurses, medical student. The book is not too thick which makes it easy to focus and read on subject one chooses to aim for. It is well referenced and thus makes it a good base for further research. It is well divided into section and rather succinct. Overall it's a good book to dip in and out with references and an invaluable tool for those who work with the newborn. Certainly more aimed for the British medical market with British medical guidelines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eseential Reading for all healthcare professionals, 17 May 2012
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am currently rotating through paediatrics and I found this book a valuable resource for examination of the newborn. It is written with the allied health and all care givers in mind, so takes its time in explaining in a great detail all the processes and medical conditions in a language that anyone will understand. It is this that makes it a great book for the general public as the language is very simple,but content is detailed to cover all aspects of newborn examination and screening.It also contains the latest guidelines and is evidence based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Examination of newborn, 16 May 2012
By 
S. Hammond "Steve" (Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A handy text book for any professional working with the newborn baby. It provides insight into the checks newborn babys have and will be valuable for many professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews