Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gets better as it goes on
At first i though the writing was a little bit "unpolished"?, if thats the right word and the storyline a bit thin. But as the story progressed i found myself becoming interested in the characters , there are no dull moments and by the time i had finished it (in one sitting ) i was hooked .Ive downloaded Book two and if its as good as the first one part three will quickly...
Published on 29 May 2011 by J. R. Weston

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed
After reading the reviews decided to download it glad it was free very disappointed wont be reading the rest of the series I didn't think they used words like "come on you Guys! " and " wow! " in "ancient times" I almost expected Kael to say......" like ,totally awesome "
Published 21 months ago by H Hornby


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gets better as it goes on, 29 May 2011
By 
J. R. Weston "pegasus" (plymouth u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
At first i though the writing was a little bit "unpolished"?, if thats the right word and the storyline a bit thin. But as the story progressed i found myself becoming interested in the characters , there are no dull moments and by the time i had finished it (in one sitting ) i was hooked .Ive downloaded Book two and if its as good as the first one part three will quickly follow. An excellent first novel. The only reason i dont give it five stars is that i thought the first section of the book dealing with Governor Adair's abduction wasnt quite up to the standard of the rest of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
After reading the reviews decided to download it glad it was free very disappointed wont be reading the rest of the series I didn't think they used words like "come on you Guys! " and " wow! " in "ancient times" I almost expected Kael to say......" like ,totally awesome "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good Trilogy, well worth the read, 11 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
I accept that many first books don't live up to expectations in terms of storyline and pacing. However, these books kept me reading right to the end and I didn't need to snooze through long and endless explanations put in to get the word count up. It was well-paced, well-structured and well written. I also wasn't constantly aggravated by the lack of attention to spellings as is often the case on kindle books (attention to these things is everything) although the occasional one crept in.

I actually paid for books 2 and 3 without realising that book 4 was a free compilation of the trilogy but, actually didn't mind because the author gave me value for money. I will more than likely follow up when additional adventures are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Book Review, 9 Jun 2011
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
This is my first Amazon book review, and this book inspired me to share my opinion that if this is Jason's first attempt at writing I eagerly await what he has in store for his fans in the future. I was sceptical about not only kindle but also the free and cheap books available, but I am now completely hooked. The Awakened is a great yarn set in an ancient time that takes the reader on a journey through the lives of the main characters as they deal with lives that, at the outset, are idyllic. But soon things change dramatically and before you know it you are swept along to a quite cliff-hanging ending. If you enjoy a good fantasy download this book and hold on tight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A competent debut effort, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
This is the author's debut work, published in three parts (called Part One, Part Two and Part Three, and isn't that better than inventing meaningless titles?). These are all cheap downloads, and even better value as a combined volume, which is how I read it. This review deals with Part One.
The opening is intriguing - an apparently present-day encounter with someone from another time (or world), and then we are plunged into a standard fantasy scenario, a ruling family is a great city, which is fragmented by events. The father disappears, the son is essentially kidnapped to train as a follower of the All Powerful god, and the mother is left to survive a number of difficulties back home. We follow several characters initially, but not all of them are there for the long haul, so it is a little hard to know who the story is really about. There are obviously some strange things going on, and the action scenes are dramatic and very tense - I particularly enjoyed Adair's race through the strange structure beyond the reef.
World building is fairly sketchy. Certain locations are described in almost too much detail (we don't need actual measurements of rooms, or how one room connects to another, unless it's relevant to the plot), but others are hardly touched on at all. There is very little sense of what the city of Bastul is like, for instance, apart from a vague sense of a warm-climate Romanesque lifestyle with dark-skinned slaves, while the people of the monastery are almond-eyed eastern types with a disciplined, austere lifestyle. There are also some primitive people, with bones through their noses. This is all sadly stereotyped.
If there is overt magic in this created world, it is not obvious, although there is clearly some strangeness - a crossover from the fantasy world to what appears to be our own world. There are also gods somewhere in the background. I rather like this kind of subtlety.
The characters are a little difficult to believe in, being rather too black and white, evil or nice (Lemus is particularly overdrawn). I felt they all needed some more backstory and depth, especially Maeryn, Adair and Lemus, and with Kael I was not even sure how old he was, an important detail. Having so little background makes characters' motivations hard to understand, so sometimes major things just seemed to happen without rhyme or reason. A little more subtlety and greyness in the characters would have improved the book immensely.
The prose is a little clunky at times, but there are few typos and only occasional grammatical errors. There is perhaps too much descriptive writing, and the dialogue fails to bring the characters fully to life, but it is all very easy to read, and the reader is never left wondering exactly what is going on (sometimes why, but never what). One minor annoyance: my Kindle version had every mention of Bastul and a few other places hyperlinked to the maps at the back. This is useful the first time, and after that is just distracting.
The pacing is good at first, with racy passages interspersed with more introspective sections. However, once Kael begins his training, the descriptions become a little too long and detailed, and could be over-slow for some readers. Things pick up again just before the end, with a slightly melodramatic cliff-hanger.
There are some seriously unconvincing plot contrivances. Adair, for instance, is the ruler of a major city, yet he decides to take off on a secret mission of his own. And why exactly was Bahari so important to him anyway? Why was the Council so quick to replace him? Then there was Maeryn and Lemus - I really found the legal position unbelievable (I can't think of any real-world equivalent), so that needed some elaboration, to say the least. Some more detail of Maeryn's feelings would have helped here. The subplot dealing with the rebels, in fact almost all of Maeryn's story, feels as if it is setup for events in the later books, and it just never seems to get going.
But having said all that, I found the story extremely readable - I just kept on turning the pages to find out what happened next, and that, after all, is what everyone looks for in a story. Only some minor quibbles over plot and characterisation hold this back from being a very good debut work. It is a good 3.5 star effort, so on the assumption that things will fall into place in the later books in the series, I will give this 4 stars. And so on to Book Two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, interesting, suspenseful cliffhanger., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
"What IS that bird shape, where DID all the water come from and how is everything connected". Tesar throws the reader straight in to the story, but before answering any of these questions, more are asked.

I was hooked from the first chapter of this book and found myself just wanting to read more and more. (Now impatiently waiting for book 6). What's great about these books is that you can read them at face value and suddenly be hit with an "Oh...So that's why" moment.

It feels as if there are many stories that could be told about many of the characters and we are just getting a glimpse at the key players. Tesar has picked a perfect balance of character development vs. story telling. I personally love the diagrams and maps at the beginning. Not too detailed as to ruin anything but enough to help set the scene.

To anyone intending reading the full series, it's worth reading "Incarnation: Wandering Stars Volume One" before Awaked book 4: Seeds Of Corruption. This is the order the books were published in and makes sense of some of the goings-on in books 5&6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has everything love misterey and surprise, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting story line. Has everything love misterey and surprise. Would recomend it to anyone that like all this mixed in with myth and sience fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
Anyone wanting to add to their collection of goof mystery books will love this. I thoroughly recommend this, I will keep it and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this from start to finish. Can't wait for the next installment.
Good characters developing throughout the story kept turning pages to see what happened next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting read, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awaken His Eyes: The Awakened Book One (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down until the end. What an amazing imagination so believable a story line. I think I will end up reading the whole series, can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews