Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational "business" literature
This book was first published in 1996 and has an introduction by Peter Senge. Senge refers to Robert K. Greenleaf's book "Servant Leadership", as the best book on leadership (to that date) and says that Jaworski builds on Greenleaf's thinking and goes further especially in dealing with the path of personal transformation that the effective leader must undergo. Senge also...
Published on 21 Dec. 2003 by Miss Sahar Huneidi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read
The book is very well written and got off to a good start, but in the end it seems to wander a bit.
Published 8 months ago by Frederico Alexandre de Matos M...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational "business" literature, 21 Dec. 2003
By 
This book was first published in 1996 and has an introduction by Peter Senge. Senge refers to Robert K. Greenleaf's book "Servant Leadership", as the best book on leadership (to that date) and says that Jaworski builds on Greenleaf's thinking and goes further especially in dealing with the path of personal transformation that the effective leader must undergo. Senge also refers to the transformational effect that a meeting in 1980 with David Bohm had on Jaworski.

Jaworski's account of the influence of synchronicity on his life is well written and interesting. He describes how he became dissatisfied with his successful life-style, he was a highly paid trial lawyer, and wanted to do something else.
He resisted this, but details a number of influences and incidents that were important for his own development and growing awareness.
One example he gives is of an encounter with an ermine, in the Grand Treton Mountains of Wyoming; he says of the ermine, "She couldn't have been more than ten feet from me. All at once she appeared with her almost black eyes looking directly into mine … She sat there staring straight at me, moving not a whisker."
He added, "We communicated, that ermine and I, and for those few minutes, I experienced what I can only describe as a kind of transcendence of time and a feeling of oneness with all the universe."

Jaworski became to believe in the importance of teaching people the importance of good leadership and eventually founded the American Leadership Forum which focused on developing leadership in American communities, businesses and administration.
He had no formal training in leadership, but was heavily influenced by the writings of Robert Greenleaf who wrote that the essence of leadership is the desire to serve one another and to serve something beyond ourselves, a higher purpose, Greenleaf described this as "servant leadership", the leader as the servant of the people he or she leads.
For Jaworski, with his growing sense of the interrelatedness of everything Greenleaf's ideas made perfect sense. He saw relatedness as the organizing principle of the universe.
Jaworski has a concrete sense of the importance of following your own destiny, his description of his departure from his law firm to set up the new venture puts this well:
"At the moment I walked away from the firm, a strange thing happened. I clearly had no earthly idea how I would proceed. I knew no one who could help me on the substantive side of things, no network of experts. …. Yet, at this point, strangely enough most of my concerns and doubts about the enormity of the project were erased. I had a great sense of internal direction and focus, and an incredible sense of freedom that I had never felt before in my entire life."
Jaworski believes that when we focus on what we have to do then something miraculous happens. He says: 'The day I left the firm, I crossed the threshold. From that point on, what happened to me had the most mysterious quality about it. Things began falling into place almost effortlessly - unforeseen incidents and meetings with the most remarkable people who were to provide crucial assistance to me'.
Jaworski describes how a meeting in 1980 with David Bohm, the physicist, had a profound effect on him, coming as it did after he resigned from the law firm.
Bohm had just published "Wholeness and the Implicate Order". Bohm told Jaworski that the concepts of time, space, and matter no longer applied, they talked about what happens in a "bubble chamber", in the bubble chamber particles sometimes move backwards in time and notions of earlier and later are no longer clear; time-space processes sometimes run in reverse casual sequences.
They discussed Bell's theorem, which proves that the world is fundamentally inseparable. Bohm said that everything is connected to everything else, and told Jaworski that, "The oneness implicit in Bell's theorem envelops human beings and atoms alike."
Bohm said that everything is enfolded in everything, "If you reach deeply into yourself, you are reaching into the very essence of mankind. When you do this you will be lead into the generating depth of consciousness that is common to the whole of mankind and that has the whole of mankind enfolded in it."
Bohm said that we are all connected, but that people create barriers between each other, but if these barriers are removed then human beings could operate as one mind, and pull together.
Jaworski goes on to describe the successes and setbacks he met, and of the way in which synchronicity operated.
That when he tried too hard things did not work, but that when he let go then things flowed. He experienced the effectiveness of collective thinking, or dialogue. Jaworski also notes Bohm's idea that the fragmentation of thought is reinforced by a world view inherited from the 16th Century.
Jaworski describes the traps he encountered; the trap of responsibility, the trap of dependency and the trap of overactivity. But this book is above all a description of a process that transcends the "normal" existence of many humans.

As Jaworski says:
"If we have truly committed to follow our dream, there exists beyond ourselves and our conscious will a powerful force that helps us along the way and nurtures our growth and transformation. Our journey is guided by invisible hands with infinitely greater accuracy than is possible through our unaided conscious will." He uses the metaphor of the journey or the quest.
At the end of the book he also refers to the inscription that hung over the entrance to Jung's house in Switzerland: Vocatus atque vocatus, Deus aderit - "Invoked or not invoked, God is present".
I strongly recommend this unusual book which was published in order to inspire business people dealing with the issue of leadership, but one which deals with the real development of people and the need to connect to the higher powers that we are linked to. At their best the authors of "business" literature are trying to inspire - Jaworski achieves this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and Inspirational, 7 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This book is not for those who aspire to be a leader. Rather, think of this book as the guidebook for a journey that connects you to life and culminates in the gift of leadership. From the forward from Peter Senge (which to me was best skimmed and reread midway through the book) to the last page, Truths were exposed and enjoyed. This book takes the premise that leading is serving and gives insight to the transformation we must make internally, not externally to become a leader.
For me though, this book was not about leadership or developing leadership. It is a book that helps you understand life in a new context. Synchronicity becomes the goal and the added benefits of leadership qualities become more of an after-thought.
Since reading the book and trying to consciously build in lessons from Joe in my life, I have seen remarkable changes in my life. It is still a journey not a destination, yet a more fulfilling journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING BOOK, 13 Feb. 2001
This is a truly stunning book,which has a huge level of honesty & integrity.It delivers a real message about our personal leadership & how we need to be if we are to lead by example.The type of book that can touch your soul & change you from within.Please buy it ,read it & be inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life, 17 Oct. 2007
...well perhaps that's a little OTT, but reading this book gave me hope for the future when I was ground down by managerialism at work, and gave me confidence that my vision of how work could be was realistic rather than naively over-optimistic as I was beginning to believe.

To be honest, I am surprised that there are no negative reviews on Amazon as it can be a bit 'cheesy' at times, and Jaworski can come across a bit self-obsessed and self-justifying at times - though for me his flawed humanity increases rather than decreases the value of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scenario plannning based on dialogues to change the world, 4 Aug. 2008
By 
laurens van den muyzenberg "laurens" (Villa Lama, Super Cannes, 06220 Vallauris Golfe-Juan.) - See all my reviews
The part I found most fascinating is the description of scenario planning in Royal Dutch Shell. Shell prepares on a regular basis detailed description of how the world might change over the next twenty to fifty years in two different scenarios. The author led the development of the scenarios covering 1992 to 2020. The two scenarios were based on (A) continued globalisation and liberalisation called "New Frontiers" and (B) on increased nationalism and protection called "Barricades". In developing these scenario's the author made two innovations (1) he brought groups together from widely different people and organised dialogues following the principles of David Bohm, a famous physicist with a unique approach to holding constructive dialogues, and (2) The author recognised that making scenario's is a way you can influence the outcome.
For example, in South Africa still during the apartheid period two scenarios were developed with participation of all different groups in South Africa, one scenario with the continuation of apartheid and the other without Some of the participants in the group were those in favour of maintaining apartheid and others strongly believing it should be abandoned. By working on two different scenarios the participants developed a much better understanding of each other's positions and of the consequences. The author believes that this had a positive effect on solving the apartheid problem in a peaceful way.
In the latest Shell scenario, 2008 to 2050 Shell presents the case of what will happen if governments in the world cooperate to take vigorous action to slow down fossil fuel consumption and develop alternative sources, scenario Blueprint" and a scenario where governments will only act after very serious crises have happened convincing governments to take vigorous and joint action, scenario "Scramble". The CEO of Shell, Jeroen van der Veer says, "in our view, the Blueprints' outcomes offer the best hope for a sustainable future".

The author also founded the American Forum of leadership to a large extent based on the dialogue ideas of David Bohm. That organisation makes important positive contributions to society.

Synchronicity is a concept launched by C.G. Jung the Swiss psychiatrist. The meaning is that two events occur simultaneously that has great effects that cannot be explained by probability. Every event at a specific moment in time is unique as it is based on innumerable interdependent chains of causes and effects. For that reason each specific event when specifying all its details beforehand has zero probability of occurring, but it does happen
It is also clear that people that are intensely searching for something with an open mind will see far more unique opportunities than a person not searching for something with a closed mind.
These coincidences that have a great effect can be good or bad. If Marx had not had net Engels communism would have never come of the ground. Fortunately for he author he experienced many positive coincidences.
Serendipity may more accurately describe these experiences than synchroncity as defined by Jung. Serendipity means to discover accidentally something fortunate, especially when looking for something else. That is even more improbable but still not a miracle. Louis Pasteur "In the field of observation, chance favours only the prepared mind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live the dream to manifest in reality, 8 April 1998
By A Customer
This book describes how people are hindered in their perception and appreciation of their world by their limiting beliefs and paradigmas. Jaworski describes his own personal development process, how this empowered him to lived his dream and how it manifested for him in reality in a poignant way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stage IV leadership, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
N. Marik "Neelesh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What stands out in this book is the deeply personal nature of the story of the developmental movement of the author over time, narrated through a first person account of second person interactions and third person observations. In summary, it is the flesh-and-bones discovery and enactment of walking the fine edge between letting things happen and making things happen.
From Robert Greenleaf’s categorization of servant leaders (called Stage 3 by Scott Peck), Joe paints the evolving nature of Stage 4 leaders, who believe that ‘there is an underlying intelligence within the universe that is capable of guiding us and preparing us for the futures we must create.’ A new capacity for accessing tacit knowing is combined with sharpened cognition to shape a personal sense of possibility – the possibility of ‘actualizing hidden potentials lying dormant in the universe’.
Building on breakthrough insights from the likes of Joseph Campbell, David Bohm and Francesco Varela, we are made aware of the three traps of modernist thinking:
• The trap of responsibility: identifying oneself with the indispensable ‘General Manager’
• The trap of dependency: the obsession with particular individuals as being indispensable
• The trap of over-activity: the glorification of the ‘busy’
The latter half of the book introduces the U-process of letting go and letting come, in the context four key shifts in the Newtonian – Cartesian belief system that are so critical to the human journey in the 21st century:
1. There is an open and emergent quality to the universe: what Alfred North Whitehead refers to ‘the creative advance of novelty’ from components at a higher level of self-organization
2. The universe is a domain of undivided wholeness: the holographic principle of the whole subsumed in the part as well the part subsumed in the whole, of which both the material world and consciousness are intertwined
3. There is a creative Source of infinite potential enfolded in the universe: this has been called by various names such as ‘Tao’, ‘qi’, ‘prana’, ‘Akashic record’, ‘implicate order’, ‘zero point vacuum’ among many others
4. Humans can learn to tap into the Source: by direct exposure to, and allowing of the generative processes of nature

I use prosaic license to rewrite the concluding line of this narrative of inspiration:
‘Invoked or not invoked, the Source is always present’.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic story of Leadership., 24 April 1999
By A Customer
I have now read this book three times and find it compelling reading. I would recommend all managers to read this journey undertaken by Joseph Jaworski. It is so well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 3 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
The most inspirational book I have ever read.
Not a boring management book, but an excellent story of one man's life that serves as a much better vehicle to convey such important messages as those dealt with in here. Brilliant - I liked it so much that I have now bought it for all my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Synchronicity - The Inner Path of Leadership by Joseph Jaworski, 20 May 2010
This is one of my all time favourite books. It is inspirational, well written, honest and with a clear message. I have read it several times although only recently bought my own copy. The book is about Joseph Jaworski's personal life journey from when his first marriage broke up, to how he dealt with it, the forming of ALF (American Leadership Forum)then when he moved to work with the Royal Dutch Shell Scenario Team. But it is also about a lot more - it's about a life journey and how he grew and developed as a person. There are lots of references to other books which I find extremely useful. He explains what synchronicity means and about servant leadership which was first coined by Robert Greenleaf.

If you are interested in personal development or leadership then I would highly recommend this book. This is the only book that I know that he has written and I would love to meet this man.Synchronicity: The Inner Path of Leadership
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews