Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great drive performance, but be careful about pre-order checks
This drive had a recall in June 2011 due to an issue with its Sandforce controller - any drive with a manufacturer date of 1122 (week 22, 2011) or earlier has to return the drive to get the fixed version. There's also a firmware update (currently 1.3) that you have to apply (annoyingly only via AHCI and via Windows - Corsair should really release a bootable ISO to apply...
Published on 20 Aug. 2011 by R. K. Lloyd

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great product, BAD batch !
EDITED Feb 2014: My SSD died today, after all it seems it wasn't the good batch. Ignore this product, go for Samsung 840 / PRO

SO yea, this is the new batch so don't be afraid you will get a bugged one !
Performance wise, I managed to get 95% of the advertised speeds, which is amazing ! 111 GB total storage after reformat.

Remember...
Published on 11 Nov. 2011 by Alex A


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great drive performance, but be careful about pre-order checks, 20 Aug. 2011
By 
R. K. Lloyd "rklrkl" (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
This drive had a recall in June 2011 due to an issue with its Sandforce controller - any drive with a manufacturer date of 1122 (week 22, 2011) or earlier has to return the drive to get the fixed version. There's also a firmware update (currently 1.3) that you have to apply (annoyingly only via AHCI and via Windows - Corsair should really release a bootable ISO to apply the firmware to allow non-Windows users to patch their firmware). It would be nice if Amazon could confirm that the Force 3's they are shipping have a date greater than 1122 (considering the recall, it would be very irresponsible of them to ship the older hardware).

Also beware that Marvell SATA 3 controllers aren't too clever and don't provide the full bandwidth needed by this very fast drive. Atttach to it an Intel SATA 3 controller if at all possible (AMD users should generally be OK - the SB850, for example, is supposed to work fine with this drive).

Assuming you get everything sorted, this is one heck of a quick drive - probably only slightly bettered by the GT version of the drive (which is 40-50 quid more than this one). I can't give it 5 stars because of potential hardware, firmware and controller issues, but it's a 5-star drive if you manage to avoid those problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Force 3 SSD, 28 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
bought this SSD about 4 weeks ago, was a bit deubious with all the firmwear issues this SSD had and negative feedback from consumers but from july all Force 3 SSD's were recalled and sold with new firmwear just like the one i got from amazon and had no problems installing it what so ever. this drive is fast, windows media index rates it at 7.7 and from a compleatly powered down system to up and running takes about 9 seconds, full restart from powered up machine takes 12-15 seconds depending on how many apps you have open at the time of restart, i use this as OS HD and have a 600GB wd velociraptor for game installs and media storage and the 2 are perfect together. cant falt this product at all at the moment but the real test is durability... lets see how long it stays faltless... but even if it dose give up the ghost Corsair are a very reputable company and i know from personal experiance they will do what ever they can to fix any problem should one arise.

very happy with this purchase rate the product 5*/5*Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SSD, 19 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Simply amazing. Super super fast. Makes everything else so slow. Everything loads in my PC nearly instantly. Boot time is 8 seconds! Worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great product, BAD batch !, 11 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
EDITED Feb 2014: My SSD died today, after all it seems it wasn't the good batch. Ignore this product, go for Samsung 840 / PRO

SO yea, this is the new batch so don't be afraid you will get a bugged one !
Performance wise, I managed to get 95% of the advertised speeds, which is amazing ! 111 GB total storage after reformat.

Remember !
-Minimize write on it. Move TEMP folders to a HDD. (google how to)
-Move pagefile to an HDD.
-Enable AHCI for the selected sata port in BIOS BEFORE installing windows
-Disable prefetcher
-Disable scheduled defrag
-Disable search indexer

Great SSD !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Received a dodgy post-recall one, 3 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Personal experience of this drive wasn't great. Artificial benchmarks were giving me a performance boost of more than double my previous SSD (Vertex 2), but real world performance increases were basically non-existent. Regardless, this would have been a five star drive *if* I hadn't had problems.

Unfortunately it is only this specific drive that seems to have problems. Three times within the past three weeks it corrupted in a bizarre way - I'd have to reinstall the Windows bootloader with the installation disc as the computer just literally wouldn't boot. Another strange error that has happened a few times as well is that the drive just suddenly dropped out - as far as the computer was concerned, it had been yanked out. In fact, pressing the reset button on the computer after the inevitable BSOD would show that not even the computer's BIOS was able to see the drive at all, with only a cold boot suddenly bringing the drive back into existence. This was bad enough in itself, but it caused extra irritation as it triggered a verification/rebuild of my 8TB RAID 5 array every time - which can take upwards of 18 hours to finish. Corsair's own suggestions to fix any problems, such as upping the motherboard's voltage or using a shorter SATA cable seemed daft, especially considering that I had no problems with any of the other SSDs that I've owned.

I can appreciate that I've probably just been unfortunate enough to get a bad drive. However, the experience has been a bit too sour for me to accept a replacement, and I've opted for a refund instead so that I can try a different brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faster than HDD even without sata 3, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Definately faster than standard hard disk drive even without sata 3 as i have a motherboard not supporting this or the faster i series intel chips. also didnt have any issuse with any blue screens as mentioned in previous reviews. Also note i used windows 7 system imaging tools to switch over to flash storage and found the process seamless.

I was initially a bit cautious over moving to flash as I read about limited writability but according to my techy freidn who works in a large it department says that the drive has built in wear leveling (which is good to know, even without the use of that TRIM command - which i must add I havent got a clue whether or not its working as the information is so contradicting on the internet that i just consider my motherboard doesnt support its use. Even so he mentioned that even before the drive reaches it's last cycle of all the cells I'd be more likely to have upgraded for more space with the prices reducing all the time and even that said in the event the writes have reched the end the drive would still be readable. Unlike a standard hard disk drive that more comonly stops working due to mechanical faults eg read write head ceasing or the platter spindle.

Overall I'm definately glad I swapped over to flash and purchased this drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good SSD, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Bought this SSD to replace a Hard Drive in my Dell laptop. This drive has lived up to expectations in all regards. The Dell has been given a new lease of life - with performance enhancements nearly across the board. Happy to give this drive a good 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deesy, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Great disk. Speed is fantastic. Ended with about 15 sec boot time for Windows 7 Ultimate, when before took about 45 sec for Sony Vaio SA2 laptop.
All was good. but after few months use laptop stopped boot from hdd. Hdd is gone. Had to contact Corsair to ask for replacement which was provided and got new hdd in week time.

At the moment 120gb is not enough but 500gb sdd still quite expensive, tempting to buy hybrid hdd (750gb Seagate Momentum XT) as replacement for it but keep it for P8Z68-Pro motherboard as caching storage.

Happy purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASTEST BSD ever! :), 8 Nov. 2011
By 
Ricardo Dias "slowmotion" (Lx, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
First I wan't to say that it's a good drive but since the begining i get some really anoying BSD after a freeze.

I looked for some documentation and found in the Corsair forum that there wore problems with the drive. After upgrading a new firmware (let me say that it was a secure and very simple way to upgrade) recently I'm getting a very steady system now.

Since upgrading I did not had any problems.

Recommend reading some posts in this forum... [ ... ]

Hope the problem is fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Drive, 20 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Brilliant SDD. This is my first SSD drive and it's connected via SATA 2 on a 2008 Dell XPS 420 (Intel Q6600, 8GB RAM, nVidia 8800 GT, Windows 7 64 bit) so I wont comment on read/ write speeds. This is now my boot drive and my Samsung 1 GB F3's has gone to be become 1)Primary data storage and 2)Automated backup. What I can say was installation was fairly easy and it comes with 2.5 to 3.5 drive adapter, so you won't need one (as Amazon suggests). This is significantly faster than my Samsung F3's a in Raid 0 and obviously quiet! The fans seems to be a tiny bit quieter too as the F3 as they are not in constant use! The only reason I chose this over say a SATA 2 drive was that in future I could use the SATA 3 advantage and at just under £1.20/GB it compares favourably with other SSDs. Finally stock from Amazon.co.uk after 10th August are with the new firmware. Earlier firmwares had issues.Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews