Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great drive performance, but be careful about pre-order checks
This drive had a recall in June 2011 due to an issue with its Sandforce controller - any drive with a manufacturer date of 1122 (week 22, 2011) or earlier has to return the drive to get the fixed version. There's also a firmware update (currently 1.3) that you have to apply (annoyingly only via AHCI and via Windows - Corsair should really release a bootable ISO to apply...
Published on 20 Aug 2011 by R. K. Lloyd

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great product, BAD batch !
EDITED Feb 2014: My SSD died today, after all it seems it wasn't the good batch. Ignore this product, go for Samsung 840 / PRO

SO yea, this is the new batch so don't be afraid you will get a bugged one !
Performance wise, I managed to get 95% of the advertised speeds, which is amazing ! 111 GB total storage after reformat.

Remember...
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by Alex A


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great drive performance, but be careful about pre-order checks, 20 Aug 2011
By 
R. K. Lloyd "rklrkl" (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
This drive had a recall in June 2011 due to an issue with its Sandforce controller - any drive with a manufacturer date of 1122 (week 22, 2011) or earlier has to return the drive to get the fixed version. There's also a firmware update (currently 1.3) that you have to apply (annoyingly only via AHCI and via Windows - Corsair should really release a bootable ISO to apply the firmware to allow non-Windows users to patch their firmware). It would be nice if Amazon could confirm that the Force 3's they are shipping have a date greater than 1122 (considering the recall, it would be very irresponsible of them to ship the older hardware).

Also beware that Marvell SATA 3 controllers aren't too clever and don't provide the full bandwidth needed by this very fast drive. Atttach to it an Intel SATA 3 controller if at all possible (AMD users should generally be OK - the SB850, for example, is supposed to work fine with this drive).

Assuming you get everything sorted, this is one heck of a quick drive - probably only slightly bettered by the GT version of the drive (which is 40-50 quid more than this one). I can't give it 5 stars because of potential hardware, firmware and controller issues, but it's a 5-star drive if you manage to avoid those problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Force 3 SSD, 28 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
bought this SSD about 4 weeks ago, was a bit deubious with all the firmwear issues this SSD had and negative feedback from consumers but from july all Force 3 SSD's were recalled and sold with new firmwear just like the one i got from amazon and had no problems installing it what so ever. this drive is fast, windows media index rates it at 7.7 and from a compleatly powered down system to up and running takes about 9 seconds, full restart from powered up machine takes 12-15 seconds depending on how many apps you have open at the time of restart, i use this as OS HD and have a 600GB wd velociraptor for game installs and media storage and the 2 are perfect together. cant falt this product at all at the moment but the real test is durability... lets see how long it stays faltless... but even if it dose give up the ghost Corsair are a very reputable company and i know from personal experiance they will do what ever they can to fix any problem should one arise.

very happy with this purchase rate the product 5*/5*Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SSD, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Simply amazing. Super super fast. Makes everything else so slow. Everything loads in my PC nearly instantly. Boot time is 8 seconds! Worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great product, BAD batch !, 11 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
EDITED Feb 2014: My SSD died today, after all it seems it wasn't the good batch. Ignore this product, go for Samsung 840 / PRO

SO yea, this is the new batch so don't be afraid you will get a bugged one !
Performance wise, I managed to get 95% of the advertised speeds, which is amazing ! 111 GB total storage after reformat.

Remember !
-Minimize write on it. Move TEMP folders to a HDD. (google how to)
-Move pagefile to an HDD.
-Enable AHCI for the selected sata port in BIOS BEFORE installing windows
-Disable prefetcher
-Disable scheduled defrag
-Disable search indexer

Great SSD !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Received a dodgy post-recall one, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Personal experience of this drive wasn't great. Artificial benchmarks were giving me a performance boost of more than double my previous SSD (Vertex 2), but real world performance increases were basically non-existent. Regardless, this would have been a five star drive *if* I hadn't had problems.

Unfortunately it is only this specific drive that seems to have problems. Three times within the past three weeks it corrupted in a bizarre way - I'd have to reinstall the Windows bootloader with the installation disc as the computer just literally wouldn't boot. Another strange error that has happened a few times as well is that the drive just suddenly dropped out - as far as the computer was concerned, it had been yanked out. In fact, pressing the reset button on the computer after the inevitable BSOD would show that not even the computer's BIOS was able to see the drive at all, with only a cold boot suddenly bringing the drive back into existence. This was bad enough in itself, but it caused extra irritation as it triggered a verification/rebuild of my 8TB RAID 5 array every time - which can take upwards of 18 hours to finish. Corsair's own suggestions to fix any problems, such as upping the motherboard's voltage or using a shorter SATA cable seemed daft, especially considering that I had no problems with any of the other SSDs that I've owned.

I can appreciate that I've probably just been unfortunate enough to get a bad drive. However, the experience has been a bit too sour for me to accept a replacement, and I've opted for a refund instead so that I can try a different brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good SSD, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Bought this SSD to replace a Hard Drive in my Dell laptop. This drive has lived up to expectations in all regards. The Dell has been given a new lease of life - with performance enhancements nearly across the board. Happy to give this drive a good 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing wrong, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Performs as fast as you would except. There's no turning back to HDD once you have tried SSD!

Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Very pleased with the product.It is much better than I even expected!The efficiency is absolutely perfect and fast speed.Great job,congrats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for upgrade!, 23 July 2012
By 
Josef Ioannou - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
It's been a while that I wanted to upgrade my standard magnetic hard drive and with this Corsair my computer is faster and it's temperature is really low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great drive, 29 Jun 2012
By 
JJW3 (Highbridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corsair CSSD-F120GB3-BK Force Series 3 120GB Solid State Drive - Read 550MB/s, Write 510MB/s (Personal Computers)
Never had any problems, i had in in a windows 7 machine but then decided to put it in my 2010 imac for OSX Lion and use the existing 1tb for storage, works really well, the imac feels 10x faster than it was before, although a small note of caution when taking apart an imac, its not for the faint hearted or someone who doesnt 100% know what there doing, its a bit more difficult than a macbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews