Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
100
4.1 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Anarchy Edition|Change
Price:£7.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2011
Its the end of the world as we know it....

Is it just me or are we getting a wee bit obsessed with the world ending? Post apocolyptic storylines are coming out of the wood-work of late and to be honest I dont mind one bit. I cant get enough. Being a big Fallout fan I simply couldnt ignore the premise of ID's latest offering - RAGE.

Set a hundred (or so) years in the future after the planet has been hit by a giant asteroid and all has gone to hell. The world is a wasteland. A big wasteland filled with small raggedy bastions of humanity, lairs of bandits and hives of mutants. Its a recipe that we are all too familiar with these days. But a succesful recipe nontheless.

Enter the protagonist - an ARK survivor. Before the asteroid hit Earth a series of Arks were created and humanities best were put inside and cryogenically frozen - in hope that they would survive and come forth to re-populate the earth after the dust had settled. So you play as one of these guys. With a basic introduction you are thrust into the wild world of the wasteland, no longer safe inside the Ark. Rage doesnt take long to get going and before you know it you will be introduced to your first friendly NPC, given something of a base camp and a vehicle.

Let me just get this out of the way now - Rage, despite a small resemblance to Fallout, is not a Role-play-game. By this I mean there are no stats, no perks and no levelling up. So it isnt a roleplay game in the traditional sense of the term but.....there are factors concerned that will be decided by player-choice and development tastes. Its up to you if you want to engage in side-quests to earn more money, gamble it away or spend it on ammunition, ingredients for recipes etc etc I'll get onto that soon though. Just ultimately think of this game as role-play lite if it makes you feel a bit more confident in parting with your cash for this product. I do believe that there is something for everyone in this game.

Crafting and resources

Rage offers the player recipes. As you progress through the game you will earn, discover and buy new blueprints for new items. Ingredients for these recipes can be discovered across the wasteland, inside bandit lairs and so on. At first you will unlock simple things such as healing aids, health boosters and tools aimed at progession (ie the lock grinder - some missions contain areas with locked doors but once you reach a certain point you can make a lock-grinder to reach these areas - so it is worth going back to previously visited locations). later into the game and you will have access to turrets and spider like sentry bots, effectively giving you more killing power.

FPS heaven

Rage handles well. Its smooth and the combat is really satisfying. Pop a bad guy in the leg and he will believably hit the deck and crawl away for cover. Pop him in the body and if the momentum takes him he's going down again. Given the fact that you have a decent arsenal at your disposal then it really pays to experiment with the options. The standard revolver can be upgraded early into the game with a magnified sight, allowing precision head shots, couple that with more devestating ammunition called Fatboy ammo and you have a one-hit-one-kill weapon. Of course this applies early into the game when opponents arent heavily armored but thats what Rage is about - understanding your weapons and more importantly the ammo types.
Each weapon has various ammunition available. Personally I like the Crossbow with electro bolts. If you hit someone normally they will react with convulsions while being hammered by an electric current, similiar to the electro bolt from Bioshock might I add. Hit someone in water, or even a group of enemies in water, and that electrical bolt is going to spell lights out.
Plenty of weapons and ammo choices, and some ammo does need to be crafted using the recipes I mentioned. And given the fact that money and supplies are not endless in this game...it pays to flash the cash sensibly and invest in the upgrades that suit your style of play.

Racing for life

I love the racing on this game and the vehicle exploration. Its cool. Its arcadey. Its like Mad Max. Its what Fallout would possibly be like if it had vehicles in it.
You will, after a couple of hours of play, be awarded your own buggy. And then you are free to speed off into the sunset...well, kind of. There are simple diversions available to you if you like the vehicle side of Rage. This game does not force you into racing although you will use it a lot in the exploration side of things as it isnt advised to be hoofing it about on foot everywhere as the Bandits have rides too. There are maybe two, three races that Rage forces you to participate in. This is for main story progression. After that it is up to you if you want to get out onto the track.
Racing offers awards in the style of race flags with 15 up for grabs in every event. Race flags can then be exchanged for vehicle upgrades (please note that race flags are the only means of buying vehicle upgrades - cash wont do). The racing is far from Forza 4 but its fast, arcadey and purely designed to be fun. I'm not very good at racing games full stop but even on the harder difficulty settings I can beat the racing on this game. So thats a thumbs up from me.
Anyway back to upgrades. Vehicles can be upgraded in several or more areas. New engines, boosters, armour, paint and deco styles, weapons; ocket launchers and so on. It certainly pays to win races and spend those flags because it makes hunting down those bandit drivers in the wasteland more fun and yes, the vehicle combat is quite satisfying.

Rage's storyline isnt brilliant I am afraid but then again its more about the action and gameplay modes on offer. The variation of FPS and racing is quite refreshing and the makers of Doom and Wolfenstein do know how to make a good shooter. Like I mentioned earlier this game could be considered RPG-lite and there is a decent amount of exploration to be had but this is not Fallout. Do not expect multiple path conversations or perks - Rage is a true FPS wrapped up in a believable world with options for the player to pursue, or not pursue.

The Anarchy edition of this game offers spiked gloves (brilliant in the early part of the game as they literally kill the bad guys with 2 hits, helping conserve ammo), A Rat Rod buggy (unlocked once you reach the first major settlement in the game) which boasts slightly better armour than the normal buggy and it looks cool, a double barrel shotgun (Mad max style). Finally you get some exclusive armour called the Crimson Elite armour. This armour has combined abilities of all three normal armours available within the standard edition.

Finally if you buy the game new then you get the Wasteland Sewer mission pack DLC. Basically this will allow you into the sewers, several are dotted around the wasteland. You can then face off against lots of mutants and steal there stuff. A nice distraction.

Finally .....

Rage looks great,plays great and is sure to win over a lot of fans.

A good offering from ID and a solid 8/10.
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
Okay, I'm probably not the only person who initially upon seeing this game thought, just another Fallout. I was wrong, while it is similar in style, this game does what fallout failed to do several times. It introduces multiple environments, outside and in, along with an jaw dropping array of enemies which turn a gun fight scenario into a harrowing "lets get the hell out of here!" Zombie style scene. The variety of weapons is pleasantly enhanced by in used of a variety of ammo choices for each gun, making one weapon into several. The use of vehicles, while not in depth, still provides significant portion of enjoyable gameplay, due to a variety of vehicles and customisations, including big guns!
If I had to give the gold medal to one weapon in this game it would have to go to the Wingstick. A surprisingly useful bomerang style weapon, the Wingstick allows room for tactics as well as just plain looking more skilful than you are.
I would recommend buying the anarchy addition as extra levels, weapons, vehicles and armour maximises the enjoyment potential of this game. I sincerely recommend this game to anyone who likes Fable and Call of Duty, or anyone who likes either of the games to a strong extent.
It'll scare, it'll, test you, and it'll constantly remind you that you chose the right game!
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
RAGE is one of the best FPS that I have ever played. Although it is lacking a 'shooter style' competitive multiplayer, single player side is so much fun to play and that will keep you busy for sometime for sure. Including all of the side quests, its single player experience is slightly longer than the other FPS titles around. Graphics, sounds, feeling of the guns, movements of the AI are very mature and incredibly satisfying. I highly recommend this game to any FPS fan. Such a bargain for that price!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The graphics take a whopping 22 gigabytes of space, but they are stunning.
The gameplay is excellent, as are the mini games and the interaction with other npcs. The storyline is rich and engaging from the opening sequence to the finale.
In theory, you could rush through the game in 20 hours, but having played it a number of times, there is much more to be had by taking your time and planning your attacks ...giving you ample time to luxuriate in the rich and very impressive environments.

I could write a longer and more illuminating review of the game, but its an old game with no sequels or add on Dlc, so the review is short to simply say... At prices of now round £5, this game is a must have if you enjoy fps games.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Bethesda are renowned for turning out high quality FPS style games. Fallout 3 GOTY edition.... Dynamite!!! Skyrim Legendary edition.... Sheer brilliance.... FO New Vegas Ultimate edition...... Class from start to finish.
This offering, done hand in hand with ID Games picks up the Fallout Gauntlet and slaps the VATS system round the chops. It is NOT a Fallout re-hash, so don't expect nose to tail likeness, BUT it does take the FPS concept, blends it nicely with a handsome dose of survival horror, soaks it in post-apocalyptic mutant raiders, adds a healthy pinch of 'think fast' and results in a game that demands you apply brain-cells in order to complete.
Not a linear, point and shoot, button basher at all. You are required to communicate, create, invent, develop, sneak, drive, puzzle solve and much much more.
Younger gamers might find it a tad challenging without resorting to internet walkthrough guides, and there is a smattering of colorful language and gore-ridden execution methods, but nothing that will have anyone losing sleep over.
In a nut-shell, a very well put together apocalypse-style survival game with a MASSIVE arena of play to explore in the style and order best suited to the individual gamer. A shed load of gaming hours packed with decent A.I. varied bad guys to wipe out with an arsenal of weaponry that can be customized and unleashed.
Why the Anarchy Edition? Well, it's a matter of chump-change between the cost of this edition brand new and the regular flavor so for the sake of pennies you might as well get the nice little extras. For your bonus cash you receive a nice new war buggy, a tidy shot-gun, a suit of very useful armor and a set of spiked knuckles, all unavailable in the initial release.
If you are, as I am, a whopping fan of the Fall-out(esque) type wasteland survivor FPS formats then you would be a total muggins to pass up on this delectable offering. For less than a weekly bus ticket you can get this beauty BRAND SPANKING NEW!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I bought this game because it is made by id software, who are the developers of one of my favorite game franchises, DOOM!!!

I knew right away that with a developer like id, I wouldnt be dissapointed.

This game is similar very open, yet is linear at the same time, a cool mixture that I havnt seen before.

the grphics and setting are incredible, the story is easy to understand, simple, but at the same time original and epic.

There is alot of things to keep you busy, from doing racing, doing ransom jobs or just fidning tons of cool things like sewers for rewards (DLC) and gonig back on your tracks if you dare, to find cool things to earn more dough.

It took me about a week of casual playing to get through the game, I expected more of a completion award such as replaying with all my same weapons and stuff, but there was nothing but oh well...the game is a great game and we can definitly expect a sequeal on next gen so buy and play now!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
This game is an absolute must for the price it is now available for. It was not a cheap budget game by an inexperienced team trying to break through. It was made by the same team that has brought us Doom & Quake.

I think the biggest reason that this game got overlooked is because as soon as people saw Bethesda on the label they mistook as being comparative to Fallout which it isn't. Fallout is an futuristic rpg set in a post-nuclear world and the feeling is supposed to be slower and have a darker element. This game however is not post-nuclear but rather a world that has been hit by an asteroid. It still has the technology and health of the previous world, just without the structured society of orderly and lawful governments as the story will unfold.

It is if anything more like Borderlands but less of a cartoon jokey environment but has a slightly more serious and in depth world and story line. The illustrators have done an amazing job of the settlements and people in the game. The towns and wasteland is great and the enemies look amazing.

Things this game has over Borderlands is it has more driving to a point you can race. It has more little side games like gambling in the bar or at the side of the street and it has something called "Mutant Bash" which they also released as a phone app for the newer intelligent phones.

The only big (and I mean BIG) problem with this game is the fact that the main quest finishes with the feeling it is half complete. It also ends without the ability to continue free-roaming, mutant bashing, racing, bandit killing, gambling... and you have to either go back to a previous save or start again. Considering this and then looking at the price that is now available for then this game is a steal. I just hope they release a expansion disc / dlc which carries the game on from where it leaves off
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
It didn't buy this game on release or soon after as I was skeptical about it, but in actual fact it's very good.

It's way better than Boarderlands and makes that game obsolete, but it doesn't have as much open endedness or RPG elements as Fallout.

STORYLINE: 8/10
It's pretty standard, like fallout you are one of the last survivors of humanity and are put into cryostasis in an underground vault known as arks. A big asteroid hits and the earth is turned into a wasteland with bandits and mutants etc. You wake up just over a hundred years later and from there on piece together what's happening in this new world.

GAMEPLAY: 9/10
The game itself is somewhat sandboxed, you can't just jump or drive over mountains like in red faction guerrilla, you go around set areas to reach different locations. Scattered around are different places you can enter, like different hideouts of various bandits etc. The missions you're given revolve around helping people to help you and in the process uncovering more of the games story every now and then. The FPS aspect of the game is spot on and nothing bad to say about it, controls are like COD so people should be familiar. And there's various side quests to do for more equipment, schematics, money etc.
You can get some nice weapons and various ammo types, you can upgrade your car and your armor, also combine items to make different things. There are also some strategic boss battles in the game which are nice. The game manages to feel like Half Life and Metro in some parts too. However I can't give it a 10/10 as some parts can feel a bit linear.

VISUALS: 10/10
They are lovely, and the attention to detail is quite something. The lighting effects are great too when inside a ruined structure and moving past openings with bright beams of sunshine. The sky in this game is the most realistic I've seen, and the blood in this game is quite violent too, shoot someones head at close range with a shotgun and you'll know about it. When you walk through water thats dripping or poring it runs down the screen as though across your face realistically. The new engine shows!

SOUNDS: 09/10
The sfx are good and nothing sounds out of place, when in the Dead City it gets very atmospheric and the mutants sound like something from a horror movie, nicely done. The game doesn't have a lot of music, mainly ambience but nothing I can complain about.

OVERALL: 9/10
A lot better than I thought it'd be, and makes me look forward to Doom 4! The life span seems to be decent, as I've only just started the 2nd of the 3 dics after 6 hours.
I haven't played the multiplayer aspects yet but I'm sure they'll be alright.
I recommend getting this game, it feels like Fallout at times when in indoor environments only with a much more solid FPS side to it. And less of the RPG side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
This has nothing to do with 'Fallout 3', which you can play for weeks and weeks.

You get to shoot things, they get to shoot back. You get to drive things and upgrade your car if you win a race or two, which is good. You get to trade items and make a few items which can be of use for getting through locked doors etc. And all of this sounds great, the problem is that the game is too small, there is not enough to do and plays in a certain order after which it ends. Starting again is just the same thing with the same outcome.

This is not a bad game it's just not a great game. Buy this game if you just want to entertain yourself for a day for under £6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Really got into this game after a while, but the story was a little slow, you dont really know much about what is happening or why, the opening cinematics and story could do better but overall a good game
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)