Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'COMPETITION RATHER THAN FRIENDSHIP PERHAPS'
C.I A Agents 'FDR Foster' ( Chris Pine ) and 'Tuck' ( Tom Hardy ) are partners watching each others back when the chips are down, most importantly of all however they are ''Best-Friends''
'Tuck' meets a girl 'Lauren' ( Reese Witherspoon ) via an on-line dating agency, 'FDR' meets the same girl in a video store.
Competition between the two friends becomes intense...
Published 10 months ago by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A cold war
This Means War is a light piece of entertainment. It starts off rather funny but eventually falls into the usual cliches. Two best friends who also happen to be spies end up falling for the same girl. When they realise this the game starts with both guys trying to out do the other to win her affections.

Of course they both use the resources they have at their...
Published 7 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'COMPETITION RATHER THAN FRIENDSHIP PERHAPS', 6 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
C.I A Agents 'FDR Foster' ( Chris Pine ) and 'Tuck' ( Tom Hardy ) are partners watching each others back when the chips are down, most importantly of all however they are ''Best-Friends''
'Tuck' meets a girl 'Lauren' ( Reese Witherspoon ) via an on-line dating agency, 'FDR' meets the same girl in a video store.
Competition between the two friends becomes intense as they both do everything to spoil the others chances with 'Lauren'
friendship between the two is put to the test, priority's have changed.
The film with 'Tuck' and 'FDR's' working together as they've always done,, whilst simmering in the background the explosive competition between the two is often quite funny as the two go to great lengths to belittle the other.
well worth a watch at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total nonsense - great!, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: This Means War [DVD] (DVD)
Can't really imagine this will appeal to the boys - check out the bad reviews, most of them mail. However for a rainy Sunday afternoon I thought this was great. I rarely laugh out loud at films but did so on a couple of occasions. OK it wasn't going to win any Oscars but it was a light hearted romp. And of course Tom Hardy was his normal gorgeous self.

How earth RW would choose Chris PIne over him is beyond me, but then in Hollywoodland the Yanks are always going to beat the Brits. So if you have a spare couple of hours this is worth giving a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May the best man win, 11 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This Means War on paper at least sounded like a complete disaster but manages to be
a completely ridiculous very silly but very funny action comedy about 2 rival spies who end up both falling for the same girl. Tom Hardy and Chris Pine 2 of the best upcoming talents are both very good as the two best friends and CIA agents who both meet and fall for Reese Witherspoon also giving a very good performance and then have a competetion which gets out of hand as each agent attempts to sabotage the other's attempt to win the girl's heart. They both use every trick in the book and use every CIA resource in an attempt to get the girl. Forget reality, the whole film is very over the top, silly, immature but if not taken seriously like it's not intended to be taken seriously then it is a lot of fun with good action scenes. The name McG normally makes me cringe but this is probably his best film. Switch brain off and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dumb, silly and strangely enjoyable, 3 Sept. 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Means War [DVD] (DVD)
This Means War is the oldest tale: two men fight for the attention of a beautiful woman. However, this time, the two men in question happen to be the new Captain Kirk and the new Bane from Batman and they're vying for the affections of that chick from Legally Blonde. Unfortunately, neither man use phasers, photon torpedoes or terrorist plots to sack an entire city, but they do make for an interesting pair of combatants - namely because they're both best friends who happen to work for the CIA (incidentally, everyone in the CIA looks like a supermodel - you probably didn't know that).

This means that there are gadgets and underhand techniques aplenty in their mission to generally do each other down and stab each other in the back.

This all takes place in a strange world filled with primary colours where everything looks like the inside of a Barbie doll's house (plus in this world a girl who looks like Reece Witherspoon can't actually get a date). There are some brief battles and even a minor car chase to keep the action junkies in their zone, but, primarily, this is a love (triangle) story and, if I'm honest, it's not a bad one.

This Means War is stupid, predictable, dumb, but strangely quite endearing and I found myself even laughing out loud in some places.

I think the film could be described as a `date movie' as it's a good one to watch with a lady. And, if I ever stop sitting on the sofa watching DVDs and take a girl out, I may just show her this film.

And, just as a side note, why do both leading men look like they're wearing lipstick? Is it just me who thought that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unisex Rom Com, 3 July 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Means War (DVD) (DVD)
FDR (Chirs Pine (Star Trek) & Tuck (Tom Hardy -The Dark Knight Rises) are two long time friends & CIA operatives who take covert to a new level of carnage, much to the dismay of they're boss. But the pair who watch each others back's, maybe about to fall out, as they realise they are both after the the same girl, Lauren (Reese Witherspoon - Legally Blonde). They make a gentleman's agreement, but the gloves are soon off as the spy equipment & CIA staff are put onto tasks of an unimportant nature to US security, as the pair try to get one over each other on they're dates. May the best man win!

Overall i liked This Means War for it's approach on the Rom Com genre, as a male, i found it caught my attention & peaked my interest a lot more. The use of the spy equipment, gadgets & surveillance was very funny in places & added another dimension to the proceedings, compared to more traditional Rom Com's. The leads all had a good chemistry between them, which is a key factor for a Rom Com, as if you don't get that right you end up with a film where you don't believe there is a real two way connection. Chelsea Handler's (Chelsea Lately) interfering friend added some fun too, confusing matters for Reese who is usually a strong willed woman, but need's that push to take risks. While the sub plot with the Russian baddie Heinrich (Til Schweiger -Inglourious Basterds) bookended the proceedings.

In conclusion, This Mean's War is a good unisex Rom Com that would be ideal for sitting down with a loved one over some take out & refreshments. Contains mild language (1x F-bomb), violence & mature themes. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Your Mrs will love it! And it's better than Bridget Jones!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Means War (DVD) (DVD)
Was a bit sneaky and bought this for my wife. It was a clever way of buying her a chick flick as a little extra present to put me in the good books, but with the added bonus that it had a bit of comedy and action running alongside the usual romantic tripe.

Reese Witherspoon is her usual dopey self, not funny in the slightest, but able to pull of some reasonably good acting (if anyone has seen Four Christmases, she's basically the same character in this).

Tom Hardy is fantastic, as usual. I must admit I've become a huge Tom Hardy fan, he just seems able to perform any role and undertake any character with brilliance. Got to be one of the very best British actors of all time.

The other guy, I forget his name - Probably due to the fact that he's annoying and has little or no acting ability whatsoever. Oh no wait there was this one scene where he.... No wait that was someone else, in a completely different film... No the other guy is just pants!

Generally a reasonably good film. I would have only given it 3 stars as a film myself, but the Mrs liked it and it's a clever way of treating the woman in your life to a chick flick without having to sit through endless hours of Renee Zellweger, Sarah Jessica Horse-face or Katherine Heigl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another film that was much better than reviews suggested, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: This Means War (DVD) (DVD)
For some reason this was supposed to be "a career low for all its three stars" according to one review in the press. I am glad I still went to see it! The plot of this comedy, if you don't know, is: two CIA agents and best friends accidentally start dating the same woman. Although they start off amicably, they progressively get down to dirtier tricks to spy on and undermine each other's efforts as they try to out-do themselves in front of her - while keeping their jobs secret and investigating the case of a German assassin heading to LA. Eventually the truth comes out... Who will she pick? How will it all end?

This is NOT one of those films where you are supposed to 'turn off your brain' (like Transformers) and it is definitely not an insipid rom-com. I don't know how, but all the incredible silliness and plot holes just don't matter and actually add to the enjoyment. Yeah, sure, in real life they'd be busted the second they diverted CIA resources to surveillance of a random civilian, and what the heck is an East Londoner doing working at the CIA? Forget it all. Both male stars bring something different to the film and for the girl it is a genuine dilemma of who to pick. I would say there is definite chemistry in both couples, and a believable friendship between the 'lads'.

I was fully expecting to sit through the film with a fixed grin and smile half-heartedly at the bits that were obviously supposed to be funny - I am a bit of tough audience when it comes to comedy and sick of the pulp that Hollywood rams down our throats. Not a bit of it, I totally got involved with the film, laughed, and didn't really see much coming in advance until it didn't matter.

I would really recommend this film (also, a mercifully short 1hr 40mins) for a cheerful evening in, whether by yourself or in a group - especially mixed girls and guys as there is a lot of 'relationship stuff' there to laugh about from both sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I found it funny which surprised me, 16 Feb. 2013
This review is from: This Means War [DVD] (DVD)
Its a silly type of funny,but considering i thought it was going to be a disaster ie "Tom Hardy" in a romcom i was pleasantly surprised. Now the acting does seem peculiar,not on Reeses part she does this sort of thing and shes good at it. But i couldn't make up my mind if Chris Pine was a poor actor and Tom was stuck with the "slow bloke" or if Tom was overacting and Pine was normal. Either way i thought anyone could have played Pines character, and Tom kept swapping between every character his ever played sounding well spoken one second with the "You're lovely,"; to Bronson in the next "Alright Mate."

I know he does this in other films but it wasn't fluent or as asset to a romcom character. There were reflections of the film The Holiday in it because i can remember hearing some of toms script and thinking dejavu and with regards to the video store. Liked the alternate endings given its due its an easy film which i found funny and often slickly shot with a some what cheesey script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Standard formula, predictable outcome, well executed, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Lauren (Reese Witherspoon) is in a funk about not obtaining a particular man for her own. So her friend in passion Trish (Chelsea Handler) puts Lauren's profile on a dating site. Soon Lauren meets two different men. Turns out they are both looking for love or at least a challenge. The two men are CIA agents, FDR Foster (Chris Pine), Tuck (Tom Hardy), and now unknown n to Lauren are vying for her affection. Toss in some besmirched bad guys and you get the idea.

I won't go into any more detail as it is the unfolding of the story and the interaction of the characters that you will want to obtain a copy of this presentation and watch. I will say the film was well executed and has a slick seamless presentation that is not found in low-budget films.

Aside from all the laughs this movie deals with love, lust, friendships, trust, and other weighty emotions. However if you're looking for some sort of new insight or exclusive story twists you can just forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun action comedy, 16 April 2015
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Means War [DVD] (DVD)
3.5 stars.

A fun breezy comedy that ticks all the right boxes, good cast, good story, good action and good direction.

If your a fan of movies like Mr & Mrs Smith or Knight & Day this is along a similar line, mixing romance and action around a flimsy but fun plot.

Hardy, Evans and Witherspoon play there roles well, as two cocky spies and the cutesy girl they both fall for.

Cue lots of one upmanship as they both try to woo her and make the other look a complete idiot utilizing there spy training and technology.

A traditional spy genre subplot involving Both men trying to take down a ruthless villain is thrown into the mix and provides the big action highlights.

Not smart, but big dumb Hollywood fun that should entertain guy's and girl's alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Means War (DVD)
This Means War (DVD) by McG (DVD - 2012)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews