Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars239
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2014
This was much better than I expected it to be and we stayed engrossed throughout. Recommended viewing. George is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Nicely acted by all the cast, a bit edgy ... a bit different from the usual predictable storyline ... worth a viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
brilliant very moving. not what i expected. a film that just happens in every day lives, brilliant well worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
The movie revolves around Matt King, (Clooney) who is a lawyer and sole trustee of a family trust that controls 25,000 acres of land. His relationship with his seventeen year old daughter is fraught with difficulties and I guess to some extent Alex's dopey boyfriend is amusing, (but any appeal he has quickly runs thin).
Matt has a fairly good relationship with his ten year old daughter Scottie, but I think he feels that she is growing up too quickly.
However, the film concerns Matt finding out that his wife Elizabeth who is in a coma has been having an affair and is in love with Brian Speer (Matthew Lillard). He initially is incredibly angry with Elizabeth in her hospital bed, (aware). As the movie progresses he appears to get Alex on side who helps him track down Brian and get the opportunity at his holiday beach home to remonstrate with him.
Its a feel good movie in places, its comical in places and its also sad in places. As Matt says in the voice over to the trailer people think just because they're in Hawaii they're living in a paradise but that simply isn't the case. I feel its a very average film with some sparkles of brilliance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I do enjoy this film. I have watched it several times. It is a story of a family. But this is a large family. There are many cousins. George Clooney plays the lead and his generation's great great grandmother was a Hawaiian princess who brought a dowry including a stunningly beautiful large piece of land with her when she married their great great granfather. The land has been left untouched for many many years. The story is complex: the script is excellently written so that even the actors with cameo roles have interesting words to say. The story unfolds at a easy pace. The film was shot on location in Hawaii and we are given many wideshots of the beautiful countryside, mountains, beaches and sea. Some lovely sunsets too. The houses are comfortably furnished, and the costumes are pleasing as well. George Clooney wears some lovely patterned shirts and shorts. The music is evocative, the graphics very pretty and all in all the production values are of a very high standard. And then there is a beautiful Hawaiian quilt in shades of gold which plays a big part in the story. All this for £3.00. You can't go wrong
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
As usual, excellent service and product, very pleased with it, I shall order more from the same site in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
This is an ok film - good ol' Family dynamics that go pear-shaped. But an ok 'watch'! George Clooney especially!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Really enjoyed the film was very moving and emotional. Would recommend it to other people for a weepy night in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
was a very good story and acting especially George C looney and other actors some i had never seen before
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Enjoyed this film over Christmas....good story and of course George Clooney makes it a 5 * ! Good buy for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)