Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly crafted film!
This is an extremely deep film that will provoke much thought and questions. Don't watch this film with a Sci-fi context, it isn't what it went for.

It's about a young girl and how she deals with an horrific life changing accident and her relationship to the character on the receiving end. The film is beautifully made and really makes you feel for the...
Published 7 months ago by L. Leondiou

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but not wonderful
The idea of another earth populated by doppelgangers and the workings of synchronicity are certainly food for thought. The photography was artistic and quite beautiful in places, and it was interesting to see how the theme of another earth was enhanced throughout the film in subtle reflections. The leading actress is very 'easy on the eyes', which adds to making the film...
Published 9 months ago by Andy P


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly crafted film!, 26 April 2014
By 
L. Leondiou - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an extremely deep film that will provoke much thought and questions. Don't watch this film with a Sci-fi context, it isn't what it went for.

It's about a young girl and how she deals with an horrific life changing accident and her relationship to the character on the receiving end. The film is beautifully made and really makes you feel for the characters. It makes you think and question yourself on life experiences and to me, carries a message of forgiveness and hope.

I really wish I had a wider vocabulary and was able to construct lovely sentences because I can not give this film the justice it deserves. It is an absolutely stunning film; give it a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, 12 Dec 2011
By 
G. Southwell (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Earth [DVD] (DVD)
I am not convinced if this is an Indie Sci Fi film or an Indie film with a bit of Sci Fi chucked in. If you just like your Sci Fi to be lasers, explosions and scientists driving around shouting at NASA on speakerphone this is certainly not for you.

The story is that another Earth (or Earth II as it is dubbed) appears in the sky. A girl who is drunk and driving is looking at it out of her car window crashes and wipes out a family. It then turns into a slow paced indie film about people dealing with their feelings in a well done but not massively original way with one moment of supreme pretentious rubbish which I am choosing to ignore.

At times the Indie "aren't we all so deep and meaningful" stuff is nearly too much, but Earth II hanging there in the sky along with the information drip fed to you via the media makes your "what if" synapses go off like machine guns.

More of that please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect jetting upwards, 29 Mar 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Another Earth [DVD] (DVD)
Watching Lars Von Trier's Melancholia, about an approaching planet led me to this movie made around the same time.

As Another Earth begins, we are introduced to a bright, attractive young girl with a brilliant future, with an interest in the Cosmos, and she has just got into MIT.

When another earth with the same continents and oceans appears in the sky, people get excited, some are nervous. As she drives along that night, a radio announcer talks excitedly about the new planet, while a father, pregnant mother, and five year old child sit talking in a parked car. Momentarily, she looks skyward. You can probably imagine what happens.

Now we have a woman whose life is but a walking shadow. After some time she returns to the world. But her star has somewhat diminished. Although she says little me may infer that she has unresolved grief and guilt which cripples her from moving forward in life. She takes a job that requires little human contact, as a cleaner. Her thoughts of jetting to a different sphere put on hold.

Returning to the scene, she discovers the husband, and contrives to meet him and seek forgiveness.

Discoveries about the other earth may make you wonder if there are people like you on this other earth, mirrors to ourselves, mirroring our events or not. Such possibilities offer the hope of redemption, although others find it frightening.

As the husband continues to contend with his waterlogged grief, his withdrawal, and limitations of his previous musical abilities, we see no way for her to broach this subject. Meanwhile, a Branson like entrepeneur offers a select few a free trip to the other earth.

My favorite scene in the movie is when she tells the husband the story of the first cosmonaut, a healing metaphor, and so perhaps if she cannot reveal herself she may be able to heal him in other ways. I watched this scene over and over. We wonder how it will all turn out.

I found this movie to be very beautiful. It has won several awards, including two Sundance Awards, the Special Jury Prize, and an acting award for Brit Marling, a young actress who struggled to obtain acting jobs in Hollywood, and had the novel idea of writing a movie for herself with cowriter and director Michael Hall.

In doing so, they have crafted a wonderful movie. As an actress she delivers a very subtle and nuanced performance. In three scenes in a row near the begininning she says very little, but she conveys a tremendous amount without words, and she has a certain beauty, let's face it, that, if you're like me, grows on you as you watch the movie. Another earth looks like an expensive movie, yet was made on a shoestring, causing director and actress to be very resourceful. To obtain a shot of her walking out of a prison, she walked in pretending to be a yoga instructor, there to give a class to inmates. When she walked out he got the shot.

I was hugely impressed with this movie, the acting, writing, directing, the visual effects of the other planet. William Mapother, who you may remember as Ethan from Lost, or the villain from In the Bedroom plays the husband. Certainly, I liked this movie much better than Melancholia.

Now, I would watch any movie featuring Brit Marling or made by Michael Hall. I think you will love it.

I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but not wonderful, 22 Mar 2014
The idea of another earth populated by doppelgangers and the workings of synchronicity are certainly food for thought. The photography was artistic and quite beautiful in places, and it was interesting to see how the theme of another earth was enhanced throughout the film in subtle reflections. The leading actress is very 'easy on the eyes', which adds to making the film easy to watch. The pace was unrushed and almost trance like. For me, it was the ending which let the film down, because it left me feeling flat and therefore dissatisfied. However, overall, I'm glad I've watched the film, and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys artistic productions, a slow thoughtful pace, and a sense of realism combined with some otherworldliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and beautiful, visually and psychologically, 26 Nov 2011
By 
Doha (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Another Earth [DVD] (DVD)
This film. Wow. I have never been so completely blown away by a film. This is the film that slams every argument I've had with myself about entertainment passing itself off as genuine heartfelt art.

Another Earth seems to be about so many things, and yet not about them at all: you could say it's about loss, tragedy, physics, science fiction, consequences, redemption...and yet none of these things, singly or combined add up to what this film is. Simply put, it's a masterpiece of intricacy. I'm not really a film person - I'm a books-person - and for me, this film hit all those spots that only a handful of incredible books have reached. The way the scene concentrated so intensely on the moment, on everything about it - the texture of a wall, the space taken up by silence, the smallest nuances of expression, the play of light - every detail came together and gave it so many dimensions that you could watch each minute over and over and it would still be worth watching. The saw scene: so visceral and immediate and breathstopping (where that is a cross of heartstopping and breathtaking)...what a magnificent piece of work.

I loved that silence was given such a significant part. I think a lot of films are let down not necessarily by poor dialogue, but by oversaturating, so that the spoken so heavily overlays the visual that each diminishes the other. I also resent the overuse of music solely for mood manipulation (I realise there is an equal and opposite argument to that, but I'm on the less-is-more side): the fact that at the most emotive moments, there is no music at all, and all you can hear is your own breathing - that is when cinema is at its most powerful.

To quickly visit the entire premise of 'another earth'...this isn't Independence Day or anything like it. It's nothing like it at all. If you go away thinking 'what has another duplicate earth really got to do with it at all?' then the answer is, as always, nothing and everything. It's a story that in many ways circles back on itself, and you finally understand that it's about *patterns*, the patterns that underlay everything - the rules of the universe, people, action and consequence, tragedy and coping, truth and lies.

Finally, a quick summary: On the night a new planet is discovered, Rhoda Williams (Brit Marling, and what a work of art she is, in every sense) is involved in a car accident. She lives every day with the knowledge of having done something unforgivable, and is unable to forgive herself. She sets out to find herself some kind of forgiveness, and when she seeks out the only person who can give her it, she is drawn into his world, with consequences she never imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in lak'ech, 30 July 2014
By 
in lak'ech (London, England) - See all my reviews
Strangely the Mayan's had a word for the concept in this movie though their interpretation is not as individual, that word is in lak'ech. Here I find myself talking about this when having the Amazon public name in lak'ech. Feels a little bizarre.

In guilt people often destroy themselves, sabotage their future happiness. I have witnessed a beautiful girl with all the potential in the world (someone very very close to me and much like the protagonist in this movie) do this to herself. This film enscapsulates that pain, her inner conflict, the lies and deceit, her avoidance of what is true. In short this is a masterpiece of indie cinema. Soft, subtle, so many nuances and magnificently powerful. 10/10. It is not sci-fi, it is psychological and philosophical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good material for an insomnia cure. I was out after about 10 minutes, 5 July 2014
Good material for an insomnia cure. I was out after about 10 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughful and stylish science fiction drama.., 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Another Earth [DVD] (DVD)
This film may not have done as well as it should have done. It may be that you saw it advertise but did not know what to think-many might have seen it as being too pretetious, arty or whatever. It is not as hugely science fiction as some might hope, but it is very philosophical, morally challenging and questioning in a quite, thoughtful way.
It is similar to a very sombre episode of Twilight Zone or Outer Limits-there is a science fiction element yes, but then it is largely about the characters and thier lives and challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, shocking, moving and thought provoking movie with terrific central performances., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brit Harling who stars, stars, co-wrote and produced this, her first movie is someone to watch: smart, photogenic and a storyteller with precision skill. This is one of those films that startles, amazes and shocks. It makes you think about what it is to be human, to make mistakes, to succeed and fail, to fall in love ... it'll bug you for days until you watch it a second and third time. And all of this on a shoestring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is how a film should be made, 7 Dec 2014
This review is from: Another Earth [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant film. A beautiful film. A touching story, with great acting. The way the story has been filmed is just fantastic. Every camera shot put together with great skill to create a work of art that doesn't detract from the story, but just makes it a joy to watch. I can't remember seeing a film this good... and I do get out a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Earth [DVD]
Another Earth [DVD] by Mike Cahill (DVD - 2012)
£8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews