Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film
This film is must see.....totally must see.....beautiful in every way.One of the best films I have seen in a long time. Authentic acting and a story we can all relate to
Published 4 months ago by Maurice

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Avoiding This
...Just don't bother, really quite bad. I found it truly difficult; near impossible believing in any of this movie and it's cliched characters. Spoiler alert; matey's final art submission was simply the lamest plot ending I've ever seen. Rubbish. Just watch The Perks Of Being A Wallflower instead; far more heart, honesty and edge; that and it's just good compared to this...
Published 4 months ago by WilfredTrinder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 28 April 2014
I've been meaning to watch this since it came out and I kick myself for not watching sooner!
No matter how old you are, you will be able to relate to it. Absolutely brilliant, lovely wee film. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully acted film well worth seeing by any age group, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is a "rite of passage" film about teenagers growing up , and their complex emotions as they find first love, it is so well crafted it will appeal to all age groups who appreciate a good film. Nearly everyone can identify with the emotions from some period in their own lives. Freddy Highmore's acting is superb and totally convincing ; its a step further towards adulthood from his fine performance in "Toast", and one can look forward hopefully to more films from one of the most talented of young British actors (not that I would know from his film accent that he was not American!). Emma Roberts is equally as good, as might be expected , and Blair Underwood convincing.
What differentiates this film from other similarly themed films is I think the quality of the acting, casting and production. Interestingly, Johnnie Depp was an early protagonist of Highmore's acting ability, and I can see a parallel with "What's eating Gilbert Grape" - with Johnnie Depp - which was an early example of Di Caprio's acting talent.

A great film, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginative, predictable but worst of all, boring, 28 Nov 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
The Art of Getting By (TAOGB) is the story of George (Freddie Highmore - Charlie and The Chocolate Factory) - a fatalist teenager struggling to motivate himself to complete his high school diploma. Acutely aware of his own mortality, he finds it difficult to warrant the reasons to complete his trig homework. Rudderless, he bumps into fellow student, Sally (Emma Roberts - It's Kind of a Funny Story) who finds a kindred spirit in him, however his directionless meanderings might just lose him Sally in the end and George sees a reason to motivate himself.

TAOGB is not a bad film inherently, it's well filmed and the roles are well acted by the capable cast. However, it's the story and it's moral that makes TAOGB a truly awful film; falling far-short of an indie-classics such as Juno, literally nothing of interest happens in the entire 84 minute bit. How on earth this script got passed without a rewrite I have no idea. This is nearly an hour-and-a-half of teenage self-indulgence as George wallows in his angst and uncertainty. Somebody really needed to tell this character to 'snap out of it' and that compared to most people, his problems are truly insignificant and he should be thankful for his privileged position. Instead he whinges, complains and is truly ungrateful for what his parents do for him.

The worst part is that George is so alternative (for alternative read; incapable of functioning in society) and he is held up to us a role-model or an independent-spirit, walking his own path (if doodling incessantly in your expensive textbooks is groundbreaking social progress then we are all doomed). This film makes me worry for high school students that will try to emulate George or any of the other socially-awkward-protagonists that Hollywood spews out at us.

Extras: A couple of featurettes, a director commentary by Gavin Wiesen and the theatrical trailer.

Moral lecturing aside; there is no story-progression at all, you could explain the finer intricacies of the plot on the back of a beer mat and lo' and behold, George gets everything right, vindicating his slacker-mentality and further suggesting we should all be a bit more like him. A cliché, boy-meets-girl, coming of age movie. If that's your thing then fair enough, but honestly, I think you'd be richer for the experience having not seen this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very well crafted film, 11 April 2014
great acting, sensitive script. well worth watching. Disappointed that there were no umpa lumpas in it, but apart from that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Freddie Highmore worth buying for alone, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Short but very, very sweet. And not in a bad way. Engaging performances. Winning chemistry. Pitch perfect acting. Oh and did I mention Freddie Highmore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this rating because it was such a nice cultured film. It arrived before the date shown and I would 100% recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well-acted coming of age film, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
Compared to many coming of age films, this deals with the real emotions of growing up and having a first love and deciding what to do once you finish school/college/university etc. Freddie Highmore proves to be growing as a dramatic young actor and shows he isn't just the cute little boy from 'Charlie and the Factory' if you like Freddie Highmore watch him in 'Bates Motel'. Emma Roberts also proves to be growing as an actress as she plays a girl who wants a boy friend and not a boyfriend and has a grown up a lot since playing Nancy Drew. This is a very well done for a teen drama and delves a bit deeper into true teenage emotions and angst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
this film is one of the best coming of age films ever. Freddie Highmore is much more grown up in this to anything previous, apart from Toast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Getting by - GREAT MOVIE, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That's pretty much all there is to say... It's a great movie, with the talented Freddie Highmore as George, as a High School Student with a purpose in life, he just doesn't know what it is, only that there must be something better to do with life, than go a whole life, just to die at the end.

See the movie to find out more... worth every penny :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better on second viewing!, 15 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
I will admit when I first watched this at the cinema I wasn't that bothered by this movie despite quite liking it. The poster looked like a rom-com, a nice, adequate rom-com you could watch on a rainy day and the time would go by swimmingly. Watching this movie a second time I actually enjoyed it a lot more and I wasn't bored. Eddie Highmore is great in his central role, I love Emma Roberts in this. She plays a great character, wanting to be George's friend when he's not completely with the world as he should be.

I also did like the supporting cast, Michael Angarano who was great in Ceremony and he's great here. I liked Sascha Spielberg as Sally's mom, who was amusing being drunk and almost hitting on George by mistake. Rita Wilson was very, very good as George's mum and I liked the actor who played his step-father but I've never heard of him before. The soundtrack was really good, lots of tracks which speak volumes to this movie. I liked George as a character, this movie is really a character piece. Don't be expecting anything else or this isn't the film for you. I liked how this was a character piece, we got into George as a person but I can't spoil obviously, this being a review.

Overall: 7.5/10= Very, very good movie. Don't judge a book by it's cover is the appropriate way to describe this movie. Well worth watching and especially if you don't have anything to do for an hour and and 23 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Getting By [DVD]
The Art of Getting By [DVD] by Gavin Wiesen (DVD - 2012)
£5.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews