Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film
This film is must see.....totally must see.....beautiful in every way.One of the best films I have seen in a long time. Authentic acting and a story we can all relate to
Published 11 months ago by james

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Avoiding This
...Just don't bother, really quite bad. I found it truly difficult; near impossible believing in any of this movie and it's cliched characters. Spoiler alert; matey's final art submission was simply the lamest plot ending I've ever seen. Rubbish. Just watch The Perks Of Being A Wallflower instead; far more heart, honesty and edge; that and it's just good compared to this...
Published 11 months ago by WilfredTrinder


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 12 May 2014
This film is must see.....totally must see.....beautiful in every way.One of the best films I have seen in a long time. Authentic acting and a story we can all relate to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
A classic boy-girl high school romance but the way it is done is amazing; I relate to Freddie Highmore's character well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars art of getting by, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
i gave my first copy away to a friend of freddie highmore who really enjoyed AUGUST
RUSH but am very disappointed to find I am unuable to find a replacement copy that play on
region 2,please advise where i can get one seeing he is a english actor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG IT'S AWESOME!!!, 22 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
I LOVE THIS FILM it is really good, deffo suggest it. perfect for 12 to 20 year old's! BRILL! AMNAZING! MUCHOS FABO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE WATCH THIS MOVIE, 5 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie at the cinema yesterday and it almost had me in tears. Freddie and Emma are outstanding in this movie and prove they are both going to be around for a very long time. I must menttion that the supporting cast are all fantasic aswell. I think a lot of people will relate to these characters as they try and fit in and find their place in the world. This is a love story with intelligence and depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The other people's story, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Art of Getting by is the method George use's of coping with the world that he can't quite find his place in. George comes from a fairly wealthy family Manhattan family he is a smart loner, struggling with thoughts and images that he can't quite manage to coalesce into a meaningful reality in his mind. His biggest issue is fear; he says its of Dying but its of Living.

The Art of getting by is the story of George meeting the beautiful Sally at school. In the film they meet as George sacrifices himself to a teacher when she is about to get caught smoking; and Sal insinuates herself into his life. Getting by is the story over the remainder of the school year and its about George desperately trying to figure the world and Sally out.

I love this film for the same reasons I adore Iggy Goes Down; George, Igby and I struggle to relate to (beautiful) people we meet and with the thoughts in our minds and that makes us live partially outside of society; which in getting by is shown through Sal and her friends.

I think there is probably too much of Sal (as clearly talented as Emma Roberts is) and her story and that it dilutes what could have been more dramatic moments of the film and that makes it 4*s rather than 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, cute and loving, 20 May 2014
Its a nice movie with simple storyline. Teenage life some questions, some answers and bit more of something to sort out in life... A must watch movie if you like a simple love story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see....., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully acted, insightful and really lovely. Not a Disney 'easy movie' but a joy to watch. Very good movie indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 28 April 2014
I've been meaning to watch this since it came out and I kick myself for not watching sooner!
No matter how old you are, you will be able to relate to it. Absolutely brilliant, lovely wee film. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully acted film well worth seeing by any age group, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Getting By [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is a "rite of passage" film about teenagers growing up , and their complex emotions as they find first love, it is so well crafted it will appeal to all age groups who appreciate a good film. Nearly everyone can identify with the emotions from some period in their own lives. Freddy Highmore's acting is superb and totally convincing ; its a step further towards adulthood from his fine performance in "Toast", and one can look forward hopefully to more films from one of the most talented of young British actors (not that I would know from his film accent that he was not American!). Emma Roberts is equally as good, as might be expected , and Blair Underwood convincing.
What differentiates this film from other similarly themed films is I think the quality of the acting, casting and production. Interestingly, Johnnie Depp was an early protagonist of Highmore's acting ability, and I can see a parallel with "What's eating Gilbert Grape" - with Johnnie Depp - which was an early example of Di Caprio's acting talent.

A great film, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Getting By [DVD]
The Art of Getting By [DVD] by Gavin Wiesen (DVD - 2012)
£4.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews