Customer Reviews
LP1


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form
Joss is boss on this album and she pulls it out of he bag and ends her streak of banal albums with this perfect lp which i can listen to every song without skipping! She's back and i like it
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by O. Nightingale

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Joss Stone nose what she wants.
On this, Stone's 5th first album, she proves to all the unbelievers just what vinyl is all about. Reproduced on a minuscule CD cover Miss Stone's nose appears to be sporting a rather unpleasant ball of something nasty of the kind that nice people people wipe off, whereas the giant conk reproduced on the 12" sleeve quite clearly sports a finger trap of the kind worn by...
Published on 22 Dec 2011 by JJMMWGDuPree


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 4 Sep 2011
By 
O. Nightingale "O.No" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LP1 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Joss is boss on this album and she pulls it out of he bag and ends her streak of banal albums with this perfect lp which i can listen to every song without skipping! She's back and i like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just an artist doing her thing., 26 April 2012
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
When she came out, Joss was about 15 years old and that made her be seen as another teen pop singer even if she had that extraordinary and soulful voice and covered White Stripes and Aretha Franklin. To this day a lot of people still think she's a product of the music business but they couldn't be more wrong. In every record post-Mind Body and Soul, she tries to tell us she wants to be free and LP1 may be the one she really meant to make since the beginning. It sounds unpolished and it's obvious that it was made very quickly but that is exactly what Joss wanted. No record label would let her be this free. She oversings, she is corny at times but most of all, through every single second of this album, she does what she wants and she likes it. I wish every album was this heartfelt. I still prefer Colour Me Free (her 2009 release) though but this one is a summer record that may not be massive or a chart-topper but it's definetely worth listening to. Best tracks for me: Drive All Night, Somehow, Karma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise! Surprise!, 1 Aug 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
To be honest I approached 'LP1' with extreme caution. Her last
album 2009's 'Colour Me Free' left me cold and I was not terribly
complimentary about it within the context of these virtual pages.

Time to think again Mr Wolf.

This is the album which I think I've been waiting for since her 2003
debut 'The Soul Sessions' gave me good reason to sit up and listen.
Very suddenly the voice (and it always held the potential to be one of
the very finest) seems to have taken a great leap forward stylistically,
technically and emotionally. This is incredibly good singing. Vibrant,
raw and wholly alive. There is a spontaneity running through these ten
songs (captured vividly by producer David A. Stewart) which pulls you
in and shakes you around; demanding to be heard and deserving respect.

Listen to Ms Stone's performance on 'Drive All Night' (a marvelous
number co-written with Eg White). Laid-back but totally committed.
Slick and soulful; every word intuitively weighed and delivered with
perfect timing and consummate expressive skill. The real deal!

The vibrant energy thrown out in 'Don't Start Lying To Me Now' is
wild and raw enough to strip the paint off ceilings. Suddenly
comparisons with the late, great Janis Joplin seem not so unthinkable.
No-less-so opening track 'Newborn' which Ms Stone delivers with
true grit and her larynx and lungs on fire. Truly rip-roaring stuff!

There is nowhere to hide in the stripped-down acoustic guitar arrangement
of 'Landlord'. The voice is fully exposed in this thrilling blues masterclass.
Arguably the finest recorded performance of Ms Stone's career so-far!
(For sheer upbeat exuberance, however, single 'Somehow' takes a bit of beating).

It's good to be made to think again. I'd come very close to believing that
this young woman no-longer had a GREAT album in her. WRONG! This is it!!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars won back a fan, 1 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
I had no idea joss had made another album, and after the last 2 she did I wasnt excited until i youtubed karma and then bought the album. this cd has won me back as a fan. it is really good, combining the feel from soul sessions and the deeper tracks from mind body and soul. even though this is supposed to be what joss stone wants to be musically; the last 2 abortions she released (i think she refers to them as albums)were also what she wanted to be musically; this is her first success at being the true joss. definitely worth a listen for fans of the first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joss Stone, 3 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
I first saw her on TV at the Glastonbury Festival several years ago and was 'wow'd' by her singing style. Now I am never disappointed with any of her albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Joss Stone nose what she wants., 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LP1 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
On this, Stone's 5th first album, she proves to all the unbelievers just what vinyl is all about. Reproduced on a minuscule CD cover Miss Stone's nose appears to be sporting a rather unpleasant ball of something nasty of the kind that nice people people wipe off, whereas the giant conk reproduced on the 12" sleeve quite clearly sports a finger trap of the kind worn by people trying the hard way to give up picking their noses.

That nose seems to dominate everything, it sneezy thing to do to just obsess about it, and Heaven nose it snot easy writing this in my little home orifice with that thing looking at me, but anasalingly enough, I'll run with it.

Regulars will know that Joss' first album was actually just a collection of old soul tracks that she rattled off on behalf of the backing band who couldn't get over how old someone so young could actually be, this meant that her second album, which was actually her first, was a bit of an anti climax, consisting as it did, of songs that mostly couldn't stand up alongside the classics on the not-really-the-first album. So when she released her third album, finally doing the material that she wanted to do, it was sort of her real first album, albeit is seemed odd that what she wanted to do seemed to be exactly what Charles Ray Wiggins, sorry Raphael Saadiq, wanted her to do. Or maybe not, because for her fourth album our heroine went off to a little cottage somewhere and wrote all new material nothing like the previous album, and, having escape the captivity of her old record label, released her real real first album.

So here she finally is, her own record label, her proper first record, and to prove it she says naughty words on it. I'm sure there are occasions that bad language is necessary, but to me it's like she's trying too hard. Who does she think she is? Charlotte Church? Oh look, whilst I've been writing this, side one has finished and I didn't notice. Yup, it's that riveting.

The truth is, this isn't a bad album, it's a different album, just like the last four were different. Frank Zappa used to get praised for that, but times have changed, the people who liked the first album were unsettled by the second, and those that did like it were a little unsure of the third, and so on. What Joss Stone needs is for people to listen to each album on its own merits, irrespective of whether the listener liked her last album or not, because for the most part she's not just good, she's very good, she's just unfortunate that in today's culture anyone who's declared that "I don't like Joss Stone" will never, ever, give her a second try.

Listen to this album, even if you're not sure you really like the girl, this may be the one that you find you do like. Really no one can tell you if you'll like it because there is no reference to compare it with (Although for reasons best known to my psychiatrist the one about driving all night makes me think of Roy Orbison...). Meanwhile Joss will go on her own sweet way, releasing new first albums, and always knowing that if all else fails she can fall back on supporting roles on TV, adverts, and guest shots with Tower of Power.

And she could always record a 2nd album of soul classics. She's good at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great New Album from tis soul diva, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
great New Album from tis soul diva, powerful vocals with a rock influence at times, I prefer it when she does push it though as she does on a few tracks, sounds more liek a scream than a clear note, but a good 1st Album from her own label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Returning,(kind of) to her roots, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
She gets a very unfair press does Joss! Plus,here in Britain,her task is that much harder because people constantly harp on about her Brits appearance and fake yankee accent(you tube it-It isn't that noticeable really! She was probably just larking about and it was years ago! Lighten up people!)

Joss's voice has never been better:(now stronger,more unbridled) and,rather than being the faker people say she is,if you witness any live performance,she would blow almost any other female singer out of the water without really trying!

V.good album,but could be even better! Stand-out tracks,'Landlord','Karma','Newborn'. I think that if more time were devoted to the song-writing(this was recorded very quickly),she could produce all-time great tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BIT OF SOUL, BLUES AND ROCK, 16 Sep 2011
By 
FastHand (Harefield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LP1 (Audio CD)
Great album. I purchased this mainly because Dave Stewart produced this album and I wasn't disappointed. She's white sings soul like Aretha Franklin chucks in a bit of blues and rock. It's worth listening to as there's something on it for everyone and doesn't become boring. Above all Joss is a wonderful talent get it and I think you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LP1
LP1 by Joss Stone (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews