Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Timed
Some albums come along and you know you will be hearing them for a while. This is one of those. Its perfect for the summer (should we get one this year). Its poppy, upbeat and harks back to a bygone era (Phil Spector has been mentioned too many times already in connection with this band) whilst sounding current.
It starts off with Abducted which breezes along with...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Syriat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first album
Picked this up based on the Pitchfork review, but on listening it left me slightly underwhelmed.

This is a good summer record, it's good up to date indie pop/rock, that wears it's influences for all to hear. Think pretty much anything Phil Spector was involved in. Unfortunatly the production standards are nowhere near! It's actually fortunate that the record is...
Published on 7 July 2011 by SJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Timed, 31 May 2011
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
Some albums come along and you know you will be hearing them for a while. This is one of those. Its perfect for the summer (should we get one this year). Its poppy, upbeat and harks back to a bygone era (Phil Spector has been mentioned too many times already in connection with this band) whilst sounding current.
It starts off with Abducted which breezes along with ease, guitars and percussion all combining here for a feel good effect. These two sure do make a lot of noise for a duo. Yes I am sure they are getting help but this is no White Stripes style duo with the bare essentials. More it is a band sound. You Know What I Mean could have been from the 60's - it really sounds like some of the better studio produced female vocalists of that time. Never Heal Myself is another track that grabs instantly with an opening of acoustic guitar and percussion. You get the feel that under the excellent songs there are some brooding lyrics about love lost and won. Sometimes the riff of electric guitar comes into give a brooding feel - as in Never Saw The Point. And at points on this album I am reminded of My Girls by The Animal Collective. Its almost there with its sound and approach. Especially on Bad Things. Or perhaps I am hearing things.

If this gets any airplay at all it will sell lots and have many indie kids this summer swooning. Its rather fantastic fun. And may well become a five star album for this reader with repeated plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cults got me under their spell., 7 July 2011
By 
Mr. R. Deoraj "JohnnyD" (England, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
I bought this on whim. No real reason. Saw a review which gave it 4 stars but then hey I read reviews every week giving albums 4 stars. But for some reason I listened to a snippet of Abducted on itunes and was hooked. I guess I could have stayed there but also decided to listen to the rest and ultimatley ended up with the album.

All I can say is I love it. 11 sparse, Phil Spector wall of sound style tunes that enter your brain and stay there. Dreamy vocals, hazy sounds, background synth bubbles, 60's guitar strummings, echoes of Motown flitting in and out. A truly beautiful thing.

My advice? Buy it. Sometimes you have to do things on a whim!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compromised Debut, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
The Cults' highly hyped debut album begs the question: is it worth the attention? Well, it's a yes & a no. It's an unqualified yes to the songs, the vocals & the arrangements. The compositions are not only good but in some cases quite exceptional & the echo-plastered vocals have an affecting oriental flavour which I find very pleasing indeed. So far so good, then. So why the no? Because all of this combo's obvious potential is severely compromised by one of the most kack-handed & woefully misguided productions that I've heard in my life. The production is, simply, awful. The master tracks have been subjected to a wholesale indiscriminate wall of reverb that succeeds only in making it all sound as if it was recorded in a tin can, which tries the patience after three or four tracks & is a decidedly unpleasant experience when listening to the album from start to finish. What is most alarming is that they evidently intended it to be this way, which smacks of a wilful indulgence that ends up disrespecting the qualities of their own music. There is no bottom-end thrust at all (needs a boost, I'm afraid) & practically all of the impressive detail in the treble registers is entirely lost in the reverb blur. If you have the software you can correct this yourself at home, of course, & the album will sound a whole lot better for it- so much better, in fact, that you will share my dismay that a major record company could release the record in this condition without exercising some quality control. But for all that, the songs & vocals performances are infectious enough to get under your skin & stay there- which is why it gets 4 instead of 3 stars. With a more sympathetic production, this could have been one of the most attractive offerings of the year to date. As it stands, however, it's the most frustrating by a long mile. It's a shame, because hidden inside this tin can fiasco is a damn fine record which deserves much much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Will To Please, 21 Oct 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
Cults are New York Duo Madeline Follin, who sings and Brian Oblivion (ahem)
who plays guitar and percussion and contributes additional vocals. In coming
to a view about whether or not they deserve our attention we are faced with a
small dilemma. There are quite a few double-acts out there in the listening
world right now who have made a mission of plundering the sixties in the hope
of finding new expression and relevance in that turbulent decade's cold ashes.
The Raveonettes and Cat's Eyes have already deported themselves well in similar
territory and both managed to deliver albums which deigned to capture, in dark
and foreboding sonic hues, the spirit of an age long-gone under the horizon.

Cults' contribution to this burgeoning genre, however, favours a lighter touch.
They write jolly good tunes. Ms Follin sings them well with a thin-and-crispy
voice which is high on cool but somewhat lacking in substance but this does
not really matter at all. Her approach is enthusiastic and this more than makes
up for her technical shortcomings. Take a song like 'Never Heal Myself' : the
strong melody, sparkling arrangement and sense of summery abandon is pretty
nigh irresistible. Single 'Go Outside', too, manages to keep the fires of the
summer of love burning in dense swathes of reverb and quasi-psychedelic bonhomie.
The lovely 'You Know What I Mean' would have gone down a storm at at a wedding
reception in Scarborough in 1963 and the spirit of Merseyside seems alive and
well in the delightfully jaunty 'Never Saw The Point' and 'Bumper'. It is to
'Walk At Night', however, which I would draw your attention for elucidation
of Ms Follin's and Mr Oblivion's not insignificant songwriting abilities.
It's a cracking composition and even though the vocals creak and rattle a tad
at the top of the stave it's hard not to be swept along by its guileless energy.

A perky debut from two talented young Americans with a will to please.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Band Is Amazing, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cults (MP3 Download)
Really enjoyed listening to this Album,
Highly recommend 'Go Outside' brilliant song and after watching the video all I can say...Wow !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 12 April 2013
By 
Mr. R. Preston (Hastings, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
The album's been on my MP3 player for a good while and now that I have rated each single the ones from the Cults are frequently heard. Im my opinion i think thier sound is quality. Looking forward to their 2nd, 3rd..... albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant tunes, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
First time I'd heard them properly after hearing them on spotify, really great band and all songs are really up beat which is difficult to find on an album these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning cd, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Cults (Audio CD)
i loved this cd on first listen and it keeps getting better and better.
the songs are all innovative and fresh very distinctive vocals make this a must listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cults, 29 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cults (MP3 Download)
I do love this album, and it really does get me in the festive mood (especially go outside), but my only negative is that the songs are quite samey with only 2 or 3 that stand out as memorable songs on their own. other than that, the music is lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars breath of fresh air, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: Cults (MP3 Download)
what an excellent 1st LP came across it by accident and blew me away. it is a real happy indie record of pure pleasure what a voice she has. seen them live. have no problem recommending this LP THEY WILL BE HUGE NEXT YEAR. there are plenty more tracks that did not make this record which are just as good. enjoy it turn it up loud and tell your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cults
Cults by Cults
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews