Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kubrick's wonderful early noir classic
During a span of 46 years, Stanley Kubrick made only 13 feature films, from "Fear and Desire (1953)" to "Eyes Wide Shut (1999)". Although each has its own charm and unique taste and style, none looks much like the other in terms of genre and theme. "The Killing" represents Kubrick's entrance into the dark shadowy world of film noir. He was the master of exploring the...
Published on 29 Oct. 2007 by Serkan Silahsor

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars textbook
Textbook "how to make a film" craft, exposes auteur cinema in retrospect. The scenes are so well crafted that the plot is disappointing. The choreography of the scenes presage 2001 etc where you are visually seduced by cleverness which almost over-eggs Kubrick's pudding. I say almost as here the plot is modest, so not too much is sacrificed on the creative fire. Fantastic...
Published on 23 April 2009 by Richard J. Jardine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kubrick's Unsung Masterpiece, 16 Sept. 2006
By 
Sam (Newcastle, Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
Reading the list of Stanley Kubrick's directorial efforts is more like reading "what's what" of movie masterpieces; however "The Killing" is one of his movies that is often overlooked. This doesn't mean this is a bad movie, with so many fantastic movies to his name it's inevitable that a couple would be overshadowed and forgotten about, this just happens to be one of them. It also happens to be one of Kubrick's first times in the directors chair.

The movie begins at a racetrack; our no-nonsense narrator begins describing the art of betting on horses, just before introducing his intentions to the audience; robbing the racetrack during the most important race of the year. One by one those involved are introduced, while running parallel with discovering exactly how the heist will be carried out. Then sticking with each character individually we witness each one carrying out their side of the heist, the scripts jumps between characters, and back in forth in time to show what happens to each of them during the preparations for the heist, before we witness the heist itself from all possible points of view. This being Kubrick we know he will do something different with this crime caper - The Killing marks the birth of possibly the first true non-linear storyline. It's this unique (at that time) storytelling style that makes this movie so memorable but just another movie on the list of Kubrick's classics.

Surprisingly the two dimensional characters do not let the script down in the way you'd think it would, in time two dimensional characters have become synonymous with the Noir tradition, keeping us distant from the dark, criminal characters. As previously said, Kubrick is possibly the most versatile director of all time, and almost certainly has had many more hits than misses; this movie certainly deserves to be up there with his greatest. Quentin Tarantino has cited this as one of his greatest influence to write his own masterpiece Reservoir Dogs, so this movie must have something going for it.

One negative point is the transfer, keeping the no-frills 4.3 ratio it was filmed in, while also just having the original mono soundtrack. I should also point out that this movie is black and white; but since when did that matter? The special features are also a let down; one measly trailer is all we get, but then again, as long as you get the movie that's all that matters!

All being said, this is still one the genres greatest examples with a blend of dark humour, dark characters and almost unbearable tension as we become totally immersed in the heist itself, wondering if they are going to succeed. Kubrick fans will love it, crime fans will love it, noir fans will love, fans of thrillers of love what; what's there not to like?

Sam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, had it already on VHS, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie, had it already on VHS. Delivered ahead of schedule. Much cheaper than the North American price. Note: this is a region 2 disc and I have a region-free DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Killing, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
I think this may have been Kubrick's first film and it's a cracker. I remember seeing it when I was much younger and being impressed then. Classic semi-documentary style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
Stanley Kubrick's first showstopper, and very beautiful film, and an insight into the style of filmaking that is to come in following years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars film noir, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
its kubrick its film noir whats not to love! although no were near as stylized as later kubrick films this is still a good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spoken languages, 25 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie ... by the way, Besides English, the DVD comes with German, French, Spanish and Italian Soundtrack ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast and new, 8 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
it arrived in 2 days and was perfectly new i couldnt espect any better thumbs up can not complain at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars textbook, 23 April 2009
By 
Richard J. Jardine "rjchardine" (the north) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
Textbook "how to make a film" craft, exposes auteur cinema in retrospect. The scenes are so well crafted that the plot is disappointing. The choreography of the scenes presage 2001 etc where you are visually seduced by cleverness which almost over-eggs Kubrick's pudding. I say almost as here the plot is modest, so not too much is sacrificed on the creative fire. Fantastic economy sees him accommodate simple props to maximum effect. Modest but beautifully formed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM A CLASSIC WORTH GETTING, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
GREAT FILM A CLASSIC WORTH GETTING,GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing [DVD] (DVD)
Sealed and excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews