Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shock to the system and a stimulant for the mind.
A pandemic of unexpected and grotesque deaths sweep through Japan. They appear to have been suicides, but is there more to the phenomenon than meets the eye..?

This incendiary cult classic from Japan became infamous for the opening scene in which a group of schoolgirls throw themselves in front of a moving train. Quite why that particular scene has been...
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by Simon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea spoilt with the ending
The actual idea of this film is excellent, which centres on a spate of unexplained suicides. The film itself in parts has a 70s feel particularly the outside shots at the train station, and certainly has some memorable scenes. However the last 3rd of this film spoils the remainder by turning into some sort of over indulgent art film. This is a terrible shame as this...
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by Aj Sutton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shock to the system and a stimulant for the mind., 5 Mar 2011
A pandemic of unexpected and grotesque deaths sweep through Japan. They appear to have been suicides, but is there more to the phenomenon than meets the eye..?

This incendiary cult classic from Japan became infamous for the opening scene in which a group of schoolgirls throw themselves in front of a moving train. Quite why that particular scene has been consistently singled out, considering the multitude of other disturbing moments in the movie, is something of a mystery. I suspect that some of the people who have drawn attention to this scene probably didn't make it any further into the movie. It was probably for the best.

In truth though, the film is more about atmosphere and suspense than shocks. It's not an exaggeration to say that the film is one of the most thought-provoking pieces of horror cinema to be made in the last decade, and deserves a reputation for more than just provocation. If you are feeling adventurous and want something that stimulates the mind and shocks the senses then this film should be at the top of your "to watch" list.

Don't expect the film to hand out any easy answers though. The next film in the series (Noriko's Dinner Table) simply adds to the confusion by raising even further questions. This seems to be the issue, more than any other, which drives a wedge between viewers; some people are infuriated by the film's obstinate refusal to explain anything, whilst others are able to love the movie, mysteries and all. Regardless of which side the viewer falls into though, I think it can be agreed that the film is a singularly disturbing, important and iconoclastic piece of cinema which deserves to be seen and talked about by as many people as possible.

Essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anomie, 17 Jun 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Suicide Club [DVD] (DVD)
Anomie, ennui, alienation feelings a lack of connection. Families that no longer talk engendering a deep sense of meaningless creating a vacuum from which the young people escape en masse into a cult.

Could be even more graphic, if it really depicted the home life these people were escaping from, however the sterility is depicted in an even more psychologically disturbing film "Noriko's Dinner table" but you have to have some connection to get it. The same with this film, it takes a savage scalpel and wields it against Japanese society. The blood splashes over the screen and cascades into the drains.

Not an easy film as it got me thinking about all the people I know over the years who killed themselves and asking the questions why?

Yes it is that type of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Graphic, Brutal & Disturbing Movie Ever Made?, 28 Feb 2010
In the end, I was terrified to see this film because in my heart, I knew I had to watch it. And just as I had feared (or possibly even 'Hoped,') the plot and the story of this savage movie were both perfectly described in the title.

The sight of 54 schoolgirls holding hands together and smiling, standing side by side on a subway platform before jumping onto the tracks will haunt me until the day that I die! However, the brutally realistic blood and gore was utterly irrelevant. Because as always, the horrific tragedy was the fact that they had eagerly relinquished their own lives.

Throughout the movie, the scenes of people smiling happily as they hanged themselves or stabbed themselves in the throat almost made me feel as if I was being stabbed myself. The grotesquely over-the-top spoof of "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" was (in my personal opinion,) deliberately aimed at the people who think that it's okay to laugh at scenes or torture, death and pain; insisting that we `Shouldn't Take It So Seriously' and that it is 'Only A Movie.' Because if you can laugh at a man's camp performance while a woman is being raped and stabbed to death, then I personally feel that you should take a long, hard look in the mirror.

As usual of course, the biggest 'Problem' with this film as far as many Western people are concerned is that there is no logical 'Ending' or 'Solution.' There are no explanations for how and why these tragedies occurred, allowing us to all sleep soundly in our beds because in the end, the problems have been solved. But then again, the whole point of this movie is that there is no tangible 'Cause.' There is no one to blame, and there are certainly no 'Ghosts,' 'Demons' or other 'Creatures From Beyond The Grave' to slay.

There are no answers. There is no reason, no purpose, no conspiracy or criminal manipulation...

Across the whole world, tens of thousands of people kill themselves every day for almost exactly the same reasons; because they want to, because they can, and because it seems like a good idea at the time. So watch the other commuters stand by and do nothing while 54 schoolgirls throw themselves under a train, and only then will you understand the definition of "TRUE" Horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars starts well ends bad, 3 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Club [DVD] (DVD)
The movie starts well, intriguing and gory. Then with half hour more to go, it has a complete personality split and goes in a weird and lame way. I give it a C minus at best. Such a wasted effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J-Gore fest., 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Club [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a cult classic. If you haven't heard of Suicide club before then you cannot call yourself a horror fan. The movie is really gory and has tidal waves of blood splashing all over the place (at least at one point). However unlike some gore films Suicide Clubs gore feels realistic. Not only that but the film isn't simply showing gore for gores sake. The horror in the film feels very real too.

All of the characters are easy to relate too and make you feel upset, unlike in a lot of modern horrors where you don't care about the characters.

The film also has an air of mystery behind it which makes you constantly be questioning who is behind the deaths.

The film also has good replay values. I've watched it 3 times now.

Overall if you like gory horrors then why haven't you watched this yet? Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "..JAPANESE SHOCKER..", 30 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very deep and disturbing film that probes on todays youth and influences that they have from the media such as the internet and pop culture, probably more so in Japan than here but still. The movie starts off with its biggest shocking scene with a group of girls throwing themselves in front of a train then the story continues with the police investigating into if it was suicide or infact murder, the plot is very complicated and twisted and takes many turns to throw you off, by the end your kind of left to piece it together yourself, the movie is very dark and has some gruesome gore, but is very well acted and it does do a good job of sucking you in, if your into strange Japanese movies with shocks and violence you should like it anyway even if it feels by the end the director couldnt think of a better way to bring the message across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly dark and disturbing, cutting-edge horror, 21 Dec 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With an opening scene so shocking and disturbing as to be deemed infamous by many, 2002's Jisatsu saakuru (aka Suicide Club) grabs you by the throat, thrashes you around for an hour or so, temporarily morphs into some kind of weird rock and roll opera, gives you another kick in the solar plexus, and then bids you on your way - a little confused about what the heck you just witnessed. The film will probably be just a little bit too open to interpretation for Western audiences, but by gum I freaking loved this movie. While American horror directors seem to base all of their films on a shared database of five scripts, the Japanese are continuing to revolutionize the horror film day in and day out.

If you've ever heard of this film from director Sion Sono, you probably already know how the movie opens. You've got a group of Japanese school girls (fifty-four in all) talking and giggling one minute, and then joining hands and jumping in front of an oncoming train the next. I wanted to stand up and applaud right here in my room because it's so shocking and so well done. Yes, we gorehounds can critique the manner in which the blood first appears, but no one can question the effectiveness of so much blood literally going everywhere. Shinjuku Station almost instantaneously turns into Splatter City, baby. The cops, led by Detective Kuroda (Ryo Ishibashi) investigate, but there's not much they can do about a mass suicide - not until the pattern of suicides continues to the point that they have to consider the possibility that someone is murdering these kids in some kind of incomprehensible way. The second scene of multiple suicides is almost as unnerving as the first, and as time goes on individuals - including adults - begin taking their own lives, as well, a fact which sort of undermines any cult group theories. A couple of mysterious informers - one calling herself The Bat and the other a child who continually clears his throat after every sentence - as well as a distinctly weird web site provide some insight into the subject, but the clues they provide are pretty cryptic. Believe it or not, events actually take an even darker turn later in the film.

As is so often the case with Japanese horror, some of the deeper aspects of this film may not make perfect sense to those unfamiliar with Japanese culture, but I daresay any horror fan cannot help but be impressed by what goes on here (those who can't stomach a little blood and gore, though, probably won't last very long). It's a really dark story, and some of its central images are of the type that you won't be forgetting any time soon. I'll admit that the story didn't answer all of my questions, especially at the end, but this is horror on the cutting-edge and I loved every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good idea spoilt with the ending, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Aj Sutton (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Club [DVD] (DVD)
The actual idea of this film is excellent, which centres on a spate of unexplained suicides. The film itself in parts has a 70s feel particularly the outside shots at the train station, and certainly has some memorable scenes. However the last 3rd of this film spoils the remainder by turning into some sort of over indulgent art film. This is a terrible shame as this really had the potential to be a classic. Disappointing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Censored?, 19 July 2011
By 
S. Denyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Club [DVD] (DVD)
This region 2 UK release from Cornerstone Media is currently listed by Amazon as running for 90 minutes. The unrated "red stripe" region 1 release listed as being from Tla is 99 minutes. That suggests there's going to be quite a lot missing when the Cornerstone release arrives in autumn 2011, and if it bothers you then make sure you check before ordering. Interesting film with some surprisingly fun music, by the way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Suicide drub, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Suicide Club [DVD] (DVD)
There are some well-executed (no pun intended) scenes in this film, such as the haunting image of dozens of smiling schoolgirls linking hands on a station platform before throwing themselves in front of a train. However, the plot doesn't tie together and the lack of any resolution or real explanation at the finale seems like a cop-out. There are also some occasional disturbing scenes of a sexual nature which make it quite an unpleasant watch at times. Acting ranges from the police chief and deputy who are brilliant to the absurd boy-band-esque pseudo-perpetrators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suicide Club [DVD]
Suicide Club [DVD] by Shion Sono (DVD - 2011)
12.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews