Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value!
Sebastian's work is great and this mp3 version is amazing value for money. You would only need to like a handful of songs for this to be a good deal.
Published 2 months ago by The Moccasin

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2007?
I'll keep this simple, since most of the people who'll agree with me will probably understand what I'm saying:

This album seems to have been released around 4 years too late.
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by Phil C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total (MP3 Download)
Sebastian's work is great and this mp3 version is amazing value for money. You would only need to like a handful of songs for this to be a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you want it to be..., 31 May 2011
This review is from: Total (MP3 Download)
I've anticipated this album since I first heard 'Dolami', and discovered various Sebastian tracks off the back of a new-found penchant for the Ed Banger label's particular flavour of electro-filth. I was hoping for an album of cut-up, heavily synthesized electro-house, featuring Sebastian's trademark splicing of samples and beats to create pounding tracks of the funkiest electro since Justice's 'Genesis', and I haven't been disappointed. Particular highlights are 'Kindercut', which most closely resembles Sebastian's 'Walkman' - in all the right ways. The synth-harpsichord delight of 'Tetra' wouldn't sound out of place on Justice's 'Planisphere' of a few years ago and testaments the two artist's shared Ed Banger heritage. 'Yes' introduces some welcome emotion into the mixture of off beats and slapped baselines and provides a closing highlight which warrants frequent use of the 'repeat' button. Tracks 'Ross Ross Ross', 'Motor' and 'Doggg' are subtly remixed versions of previous Sebastian tracks and serve as reminders of his earlier work and contrast nicely to the funkier, more light-hearted efforts of 'Embody' and 'Arabest'.

I fail to see how any existing fan could be disappointed with this first full-length offering from Sebastian; he hasn't tempered his uniquely funky and gritty tone remotely and he's added a breadth of styles, sounds a moods to his music which creates a rounded album which should attract a raft of new listeners whilst satisfying his existing admirers. It's everything I'd hoped for.

Advice: play it in your car and crank it up as loud as you possibly can. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SebastiAn You've done it again!, 29 Nov 2011
By 
C. Hamer "chrisahamer" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for this album for a very very long time.
Since buying SebastiAn Remixes Remixes: Mixed By Sebastian I have loved his imo unique style.
This was all exacerbated in November last year when I went to see a live set at KoKo.
Then he played some of his new tracks and it became clear we were onto a winner.
Now although very different to his remix album, this still keeps his original style and adds some even more original content.
The main track - embody is just lovely to chill out to.
Every track on this album is worth it, even if some have been previously released.
On the whole it is well worth a listen and a i truly recommend it if you would like to listen to some great electronic music!
Best album of the year, hands down.

EDIT: The one things this is missing, is Threnody. Why it was not included I will never understand. As a hidden track or a great intro I am not sure. But it should have been on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total (Audio CD)
This is a great CD from start to finish (check out the track arabest!). Total gets a two thumbs up from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ed banger's prodigal son!, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Total (MP3 Download)
I've gotta say this album is epic, theres little space for fault on the whole 22 tracks (although maybe M.I.A's weak lyrics should of been given a miss) Obviously the whole listeners issue with the wait is quite valid, because if tracks like 'embody' and 'total' had been released before justice's 'cross' album the 'stars' of Ed Banger and dance music could of been a lot different right now.

Having said that it's quite obviously a build up of sebastian's work over the last few years and i'm more than happy to get it late than never. With Justice releasing a quite average follow-up to their first album it's excellent to then go back to the stereo and put this on! Aside from the sheer joy of the tracks also your getting 22 for your cash and not many artists can claim that in the last few years and trust me even the intro/interlude/outro's are worth listening to.

So dont worry about the remarks about it being 'too late' this album shows Sebastian bore the style and it still has many more roads to explore in my view, no wonder he decided to kiss himself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2007?, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Total (Audio CD)
I'll keep this simple, since most of the people who'll agree with me will probably understand what I'm saying:

This album seems to have been released around 4 years too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Dj Ballinger "the danny" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total (Audio CD)
I agree with Philip C, this is 4 years too late. This is what the new "JUSTICE"Audio, Video, Disco. should've sounded like, its his own sound and I dont think he has sold himself out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total
Total by Sebastian
Buy MP3 Album4.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews