Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars15
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2006
Funny merciless send up book of some of the worse gimmicks ever and some terrible Hogan movies, (embarrassingly we actually own No Holds Barred but have yet to have done something bad enough to be punished by watching it), but if you own Wrestlecrap: The Worlds Maddest Wrestlers then you already have this book, just a different cover and black and white photos.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2004
This book is definitely written from a fan's perspective and as such is a very easy read. I finished it within 2 days (but I was familiar with many of the entries). If you've read Hogan's or Foley's books then some of this stuff will be familiar, and a lot of the Monday Night War stuff is better presented in Sex, Lies & Headlocks, but on the whole this is a well researched and entertaining read. More on the older gimmicks (pre-1980) would have been nice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
While a decent enough read and a good starting point for anyone wanting to look into the often ridiculous history of pro wrestling, this was written with such an obvious wwf bias that it hurts.
Every chapter concerning wcw is written in a disgusted, 'how-dare-they' attitude, whilst every bad wwf booking decision is laughed at as if to say 'oh you guys, at least you won in the end'.
I honestly lost count of how many wwf-centric sections were justified by using 'but they signed Steve Austin, Mick Foley and hhh from wcw', like wwf knew what they were doing. Austin became a star in spite of the wwf system, not because of it, and the others got over on their own merits as well.
Not a great book, written by an obvious wwf fanboy in the style of most wrestling journalism at the time of wcw' s demise.
Hard to recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
This is my favourite bathroom book. I never tire of reading about the strangest, lamest and most downright demented 'angles' to be dreamed up by the minds behind american professional wrestling. The style of the authors has made their website a must-visit for many years and it translates well to a paperback. It's a shame the colourful layouts and stories that characterise the website aren't present but they have adopted a conversational style that works well, although the final product is a little lightweight when compared to the sheer volume of their prior output. Still, if you're a fan of the weird and wacky world of wrestling, or just want to read something light and entertaining while dropping the kids off at the pool, this should be right up your alley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2004
After slowly becoming a weekly ready of the website i was glad to hear the book was coming out, after much waiting i became very much into the book, it's well written and went well above expectations.
This book is great for any wrestling fan it not only highlights the gimmick side of wrestling but also backstage interaction that manipulated what we see each week, Wrestlecrap is a great insight and is well worth a look in.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Having been a regular site visitor and read the Death of WCW, I finally got around to reading this one. If you've a basic knowledge of wrestling in 80s/90s and know the Wrestlecrap site, theres nothing new here, but its a good overview of the stupidity that occurred. If you want a more in depth read, get Death of WCW, and please do check out the hilarious Wrestlecrap website, but this is a funny, interesting introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
having purchased The Wrestlecrap book of lists a few years ago I decided on try the original. well written and witty all the way through. if you're not familiar with the subjects being wrote about prepare to laugh, if like me you were there for them at the time be prepared to have memories come back and smile from cover to cover. can only hope a wrestlecrap follow up can be done as this goes up to 2003
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
I really enjoyed reading about some of the terrible gimmicks and decisions that WWE/WCW have made, I pretty much laughed out loud in some parts. I wish the book was a little longer but i was impressed as it was well written and fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Reminded me of old angles and wrestlers I remember and enlightened me to stuff I had no idea about. Some of the stuff described in the book is so ludicrous I was laughing out loud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
it's difficult to believe that people come up with the ideas that they do and put them on tv. this makes for an entertaining read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)