Customer Reviews


703 Reviews
5 star:
 (340)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (64)
1 star:
 (94)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Multi-player Awesome... rest kind of irrelevant.
I'm hearing a lot of buzz both unnecessarily negative and unnecessarily positive. With absolutely no agenda or brand loyalty I thought I'd throw my hat into the ring.

Firstly, loved MW1 and MW2 - really, really wanted to love Black Ops - bought and played the hell out of it, multi-player was good at times, but the graphical downgrade from MW2 (I know they're...
Published on 18 Nov. 2011 by R. Keech

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An utterly sick joke
First of all, I would like to discourage anyone from buying this game. This is the worst Call of Duty game of them all. Stick with Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2.

The spawns are a joke. When you get killed, you respawn nearly always ten metres from an enemy, meaning that you pretty much get killed multiple times before actually getting any shots in. The maps...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Littler


‹ Previous | 1 2 371 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Still play MW2/WAW - Sold MW3 after just 1 week., 2 Oct. 2012
By 
N. Lizardos (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
The Call of Duty series deserves critical acclaim. They have done great things. Modern Warfare 3 though is a rehash of Modern Warfare 2. It uses the same games engine and from what I have played it is awfully similar to MW2..

The campaign i found to be a lot of fun, sure its similar to previous COD Campaigns but it was enjoyable,

Special Ops i also enjoy (More so than Zombies) and the ops in this COD are good (not as many available as in MW2 but still lots of fun to do SOLO/2Player nevertheless.

The Multilayer is the reason i only owned this title for 1 week...the maps are just lame most of them basically just circles, Maybe it's because players keep asking for faster paced action than the last title - this is what happens or maybe the developers were lazy who knows.

Modern Warfare 2 has been out 3 years & i still have the urge to play it a couple times a week because the online just works so well, in the playlists right now there are almost 35000 players online which in my opinion is a lot of people for a COD game of 2009.

Why? The online is balanced very well, a tonne of weapons/perks and equipment at your hands and in my opinion the best maps of all the COD games (Estate,Quarry.Wasteland & Afghan the best IMO) Also the ever so present battle between campers and rushers, this game gives rushers a fighting chance against those who wish to sit in a corner hoping for some unsuspecting foe to wonder past, (by using marathon/lightweight you can normally avoid those annoying claymores or perhaps throw a few stun grenades where you suspect a camper is hiding and you'll be able to take them out without them knowing what hit them!)
The guns all have their own strengths and weaknesses and all sound unique which is also great. Anyway Modern Warfare 3 just doesn't work for me, the multiplayer bored me very quickly and its basically MW2 with terribly designed maps and the same games engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't broke..., 25 Sept. 2012
By 
A. Hinsley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'll start with an abstract opinion. Modern Warfare 3 is a better game than its predecessors - but that is only if you take it at face value.

This game is essentially an expansion pack to an expansion pack. Virtually very little has changed from the original Modern Warfare title - and that is why this game is so brilliant. If it ain't broke, why fix it?

Firstly, the game is visually stunning. In terms of crispness of graphics, the second instalment in the series, Modern Warfare 2, has slightly cleaner graphics. This is particularly true of the multiplayer, where certain environments in MW3 look a little lacklustre and under-rendered. Nevertheless, the campaign still has the same visual "wow-factor" of the previous instalments - great set-pieces (including collapsing buildings, helicopter crashes and exploding underground mines all come as standard) and a brilliant voice cast and backing soundtrack make for a very special experience in what is a fitting conclusion to the World War 3 story arc.

Some reviews of this game have labelled the story as being hollow and insignificant, but the development of an intelligent, fast-paced plot that would befit a Robert Ludlum novel, mixed in with characters as memorable as some of George R.R. Martin's favourites ensures the player will not only enjoy the campaign mode, but also feel a sense of accomplishment come the close. This is an epic series and the scope and magnitude of this game actually dwarfs both Modern Warfare and its follow-up with some stunning environments and unexpected plot twists.

The multiplayer is very much a case of "more of the same", yet there is nothing wrong with this. Subtle developments have made online play all the more enjoyable - innovative new perks, weapon proficiencies and a whole host of cool new killstreak rewards (the best of all being advanced Juggernaut armour and a strafing run of five - yes, five - attack helicopters) make for a somewhat limited step forward in the game's online development. However, MW2 had online play that was so close to perfect that only slight tweaks were required. The developers have got certain aspects spot on, but then again there are (of course) some things they have neglected.

Spawn points on the online play are poor and predictable, meaning on some game modes you can be shot dead an instant after respawning. Camping is also encouraged by a number of maps that have far too many corners, but in comparison to the sniper - or rather, quick-scoping - paradise that was Modern Warfare 2, arguably the most effective remedy is to "run and gun", at the same time as employing strategy. Because you have expect some camper to be hiding around the corner with a suppressed UMP45, your outfitting is utilised to the maximum - UAVs, portable radar scramblers, EMPs, heart-beat sensors et al. must all be used to navigate some encounters - and you have to apply an amount of brain to accompany the brawn of your load-out.

Ultimately, this is a game where very little has changed, and the changes made are only minor. But this why the game is so good. It takes the best bits from the first two titles in the series, mixes it with the (very few) good bits of Black Ops (which, in my opinion, is a game that only serves to show how superior the Modern Warfare series is in almost every aspect), and then adds its own layer of glass. It is a synthesis effort which means the game will probably not lose its spark until Modern Warfare 4 is undoubtedly and inevitably released some time in the future. This series has become something of a cash cow, but like with MW2, games will come back to this title when they are soon fed up of Black Ops 2 - which, for the record, looks like a b-movie remake of a Modern Warfare game!

Modern Warfare 3 is a great game. The people that were initially opposed to it only "hated" on it because it was so different, at the same time as being so familiar. People were disappointed by the lack of change while others complained that the engine had totally changed. The fact is, the changes were well-founded - MW3 still feels fresh and with the advent of new game modes, maps and challenges, MW3 has all the gameplay that MW2 had, but to the 'nth' degree.

5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Warfare 3 - great game!, 11 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
The reviews of MW3 are extremely mixed! Some say it's amazing and the best thing ever, and others say it's a complete failure; with many references to online maps being poor. I've played it for a few weeks now, and it is indeed very similar to MW2 but with an extended version of spec-ops (included survival modes, which I think are awesome!) and a few new game modes on the multiplayer such as Kill Confirmed. Some people here say this is awful, but if you liked MW2 or the original Modern Warfare then you'll you'll probably really like this, and if you want something different then try Black Ops or Battlefield 3. I disagree with some of the other reviews regarding online maps being poor, I think they are pretty well varied and definitely allow sniping, tactical play, run-and-shoot style and also camping if you really aren't that good at it. There is a vast selection of weapons and perks and new strike packages which are cool, and the challenges are pretty similar to MW2. The campaign is a carry-on from the previous game, which is as action-packed and fast-paced as you'd want with some cool story lines as well! The spec-ops is great and the new survival mode is awesome, I've played this with mates for ages and its really really addictive!

In short, it depends on what you want. If you've played MW2 and liked it - buy this game! If you haven't played any of the previous ones or similar - buy this game! If you want something different to MW2 then buy something else because it is similar in many respects, but is made better wit the various changes I've mentioned. Don't buy it expecting a huge change from the last, after all it is called Modern Warfare 3...

An awesome game in my opinion though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stale Warfare, 25 April 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Another year, yet another entry in the Call of Duty franchise! Almost as regular as clockwork every November we are treated to the latest and supposedly greatest update, sorry I meant addition to the CoD saga.
We all know what Modern Warfare brings to the table by now and it seems that the developers have turned into the Michael Bay of games. This is simply because it is gaming by numbers and there is nothing new or original about these games anymore.
What do you get if you buy MW3 if you are after an engaging single player FPS experience, well the answer is not a lot. You run or dawdle (the choice is yours) from set piece to set piece which involves a lot of shooting and explosions, is this done to show the anarchy of war or just to keep the player interested for long enough to complete the game? I suggest the latter! When you are not running around or blowing stuff up seemingly just for the heck of it then you encounter some of possibly, no definitely the worse stealth sequences seen on a game ever! These involve following your AI partner through various scenarios with what can only be considered as the most unobservant enemy AI ever! I'm sure a marching band complete with cheerleaders could have strolled through some of these sections without getting spotted!
Now it wouldn't be a CoD game without something controversial taking place in the game just to drum up free publicity or is that just the cynic in me? But that is also checked off in the infamous London scene.
The only thing missing from this title to make it a full blown Michael Bay production is a talentless pretty actress draped across a tank or something.
All of that aside, fans will say you play MW3 for the online multiplayer because it's amazing! I guess it is amazing if it's the only game you ever play. I can honestly say there is nothing special about the multiplayer apart from the fact that a lot of people are on there and that the servers are very reliable as I haven't experienced any downtime or dropouts as yet. I guess this best multiplayer rumour is down to firstly history as the first CoDs definitely had the better multiplayers simply because their servers were more reliable than say on Resistance or any of the other earlier PS3 titles and secondly the fact that are a large number of CoD players so you are almost guaranteed not to be left waiting in a lobby for ages while you wait for more than 3 people to be online.

Yet again buy this game for the multiplayer if you will as its good but not amazing experience despite the hype. If however you are looking for a single player experience then this is the gaming equivalent of fast food - you will play it, regret it and instantly forget about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars People were expecting too much, 17 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Look, this game was branded as a direct sequel to Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 - Platinum (PS3)|MW2, and yes, that's what we got. From reading other reviews, it seems that some idiots were expecting a completely new storyline and characters!

As a STANDALONE game, MW3 outclasses MW2. As a SEQUEL, it doesn't fare too well. The trouble is, that the hardcore gamers pre-ordered the game and got the very first bare-copy, which was packed with bugs. Then they go saying "MW2 doesn't have any bugs!"; yes, it DOES not have any bugs, but 4 years ago when it was first released it DID have bugs. People have come on here raving about the bugs and the hackers and the glitches, however what does that actually have to do with how it compares to MW2?!

The campaign is short, which is a shame, however it provides fun and a huge range of experiences. The multiplayer, I think, beats MW2 in every way possible. I MW2 we got the same sort of map every time - an apocalyptic city or a scrapyard. In MW3 we're given stations, PARIS (!), cities, African camps, Roman ruins, a derelict farm, an oil refinery and a shipyard! We get a range, maps that differentiate each time.

When buying this, don't expect something like your patched-up copy of MW2 that's almost 5 years old, expect a fairly new game, with the occasional bug, and the occasional hacker. Expect a game that was aiming for something new, and boy did Infinity Ward manage that! Don't expect perfection, expect MW3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fading Away, 9 Dec. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
The campaign in this game is ok.but its only ok,when you start playing you feel like you've been here and done that before.Nothing seems to excite anymore.Infact all I cared about was getting as quickly as possible to the end and seeing how old captain price went on.I would of been happy with the last ten minutes of the campaign and the mutiplayer!!.

The multiplayer is also very familiar.Its pretty good actualy,with loads of new maps and customisation.There's also some balance returned to Killstreaks and some perks.But once again it feels like a well travelled road.

The mutiplayer is almost insanely fast.Everything has been speeded up,running,grenade throwing,aiming down sites,and melee.You also have to have the reaction times of superman when aiming and shooting.I went back to Mw2 and felt like I was running through treacle!!.The maps are good fun,except Hardhat which I think is garbage.

I'll be honest here and say that after 3 weeks of play,I'm beginig to get a little bored.I put in Mw2 yesterday and it felt like the better game.Yes Mw2 has some stupid perks,but it's just more interesting.Mw3 does feel like an exspensive exspansion pack.If the next Infinity Ward installment doesnt make major changes,then I'll not be buying it.For all those BBC2 lovers out there who take snipes at the mw games,I have BBC2 and MW3,and comparing them is like comparing night to day.A comaparison cannot and must not be made.

This game is just about worth spending the money on it.But the charm is rapidly wearing thin.It runs perfectly smooth,and its very slick,but weve been here before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Uber fun. But there are downsides., 24 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
What I love about this game it that it's actually improved from the previous, Modern Warfare 2.

First off, the locations. I really love the fact that they've introduced well-known locations into the game, such as London and Arkaden, which makes the game seem even more of a fun experience. When I was in the London Underground map, I noticed that the realism wasn't what I expected, but considering that it's a war game, and the place is supposed to be trashed, I loved it in a way.

Secondly, the graphics. Yeah, Modern Warfare's graphics was great, but Modern Warfare 3 brings even better graphics to the TV screen. At first, the graphics seem unnoticeable, but when you compare the two games, the difference becomes clear.

Putting those aside, the overall experience is pretty much the same. But I guess you would expect that, considering that they are both in the Modern Warfare category. It does seem awfully similar to Modern Warfare 2, which is what I like and what I hate. I like it because there are no immensely new things to learn about the game, the experience is relatively the same, but at the same time, I want new things, which is what bugs me about the game.

Also, when you play the game for a long time (about 2-3 hours straight), you start to get headaches, which isn't anything new, but just a heads-up for an immense gamer.

Overall: Same experience, New locations, Higher graphics, Recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HAS THE CASH COW FINALLY BEEN MILKED DRY?, 5 Jan. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Just to echo what many others have said already. Maps feel very claustrophobic, maze like too small, compact and not enough time for strategy, flanking etc. Kill 1, get killed, kill 1, get killed and repeat....very lazy game design, like using the same emblems, banners from mw2....sound is pathetic, tinny pop pop noises - BF3 really shows it up in comparision...

Seems like its been watered down, made less raw no edge solely to cater for the run and gun kids...

Shame, as COD4 was one of my favs....

Last one I'll be buying - back to BF3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight Shooter, 21 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this 'game' as a belated birthday gift (I was receiving treatment) for my step son Lesley (after ...Grantham, 'East Enders'' 'Dirty Den' Watts, his mother was a big fan. It wouldn't have happened had I been on the scene then, Mr Grantham is a murderer, after all, and something of a sexual deviant if I remember rightly).
It's very violent but I'm hoping it will encourage him to be less effeminate, to 'man up' as they say these days, 'grow a pair' and join the army or something before he ends up becoming a you know what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the Campaign, Graphics & Story. Online was like kindergarten wars., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) (Video Game)
Well, what to say.

I'm neither a MW or Battlefield Fanboy. I generally just enjoy a good shooter. The things I love about MW are the production values - few video games really get a properly cinematic treatment, sometimes it feels like you are a passenger on rails but when you get those moments that you really have a good firefight then it is epic gameplay. My only criticism is that they always enforce gun choice on you in the campaign mode. I would prefer if we had the online freedom element to rock out with a MP5 or M4 or whatever we choose.

Online? Claustrophobic, lag spikes, campers, deranged toddlers yelling into their mic's, seemingly perms-death match. I can't think of any online experience that is more far removed from warfare than modern warfare. It has all the mechanics to be great, the maps are clearly deliberately small to keep the kill count high so it's impossible to play it with any sort of strategy, the best thing you can do is get wired on caffeine and have the reflexes of a jedi mosquito - it is deeply unsatisfying - remember those great original MW battles? lots of teamwork, firefights that lasted for ages with strategy? all a long distant memory.

I give it 4 stars because the campaign was still good - star docked off the online which would have been good if it wasn't for the players that manage to ruin every session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 371 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3)
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 (PS3) by Activision (PlayStation 3)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews