Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed returns to it's roots
After a long list of seemingly random adaptations to Need for Speed, it's come back to the origin of it's creation. The Run is a cross-country race from San Francisco to New York, there's some tenuous explanation of why this is going on (something about mob-debts) but effectively, you get to race the long stages that NFS used to be famed for. Gone are the infinite...
Published on 21 Nov 2011 by J. Morris

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage
looks fairly nice but the Pc version is just ported from the xbox which means it's horrible to use.
Worse than this though is the online play voice chat , which cannot be switched off or turned down , so you're forced to listen to people shouting in languages you don't speak , or playing loud music , etc etc.
shame on EA for turning their back on PC gaming.
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by br4nch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, 13 Jan 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
looks fairly nice but the Pc version is just ported from the xbox which means it's horrible to use.
Worse than this though is the online play voice chat , which cannot be switched off or turned down , so you're forced to listen to people shouting in languages you don't speak , or playing loud music , etc etc.
shame on EA for turning their back on PC gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed returns to it's roots, 21 Nov 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After a long list of seemingly random adaptations to Need for Speed, it's come back to the origin of it's creation. The Run is a cross-country race from San Francisco to New York, there's some tenuous explanation of why this is going on (something about mob-debts) but effectively, you get to race the long stages that NFS used to be famed for. Gone are the infinite customisations to every single detail & decal - spending more time in the menus than on the road - and the silly meters for getting your drift on etc. and in it's place a proper racing game with eye-meltingly sharply rendered models of modern cars. The scenery is incredible, from racing through the winding forest roads of Yosemite National Park, to the long deserts & canyons of Utah to the gritty city of Chicago there is something for everyone.

Stages come in various types: "Gain X Positions" where you have to move up the ranking by a specific amount in a set distance. "Make Up Time" where you effectively time-trial the course and then "Battle" stages where you race more skilled drivers over an indefinite distance head-to-head and have to be ahead of them when the bell rings. You win cars and minor adaptations to your car (e.g. the size of your NO2 bottle) with each race and there are unlockable challenges for each stage that increase the replayability of the game. The scenery alone in Death Valley, NV will keep me coming back again and again. The soundtrack is incredible to boot; a track from the Black Keys' new album is also present, and that hasn't even been released yet!!

Where this game falls down are the annoyingly stupid cut scenes where if you don't bash space, return or left arrow within a split-second placement you die instantly and have to watch the cut scene over. It's a noble effort to wrap some story around the game, but I have to say, I want to race, not tap space repeatedly during a cut scene. If I wanted to play an adventure game, I'd buy one, but I bought NFS to race, so let's get on with it already!!

A word to the wise; NFS the run is extremely resource-heavy. I could run most new games on my set-up but NFS has put pay to that, the level of detail on the cars and scenery causes slow-down aplenty at higher resolutions - especially during the inane cut scenes. I have had to scale back the graphics massively to maintain the speed of the game, but this isn't the fault of the game, just something I thought worth mentioning. Aside from this, recommended for all NFS fans or anyone out there looking for a great racing game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy control setup, 13 Oct 2012
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've always enjoyed the Need for Speed series of games but this is a real let down, purely because of the appalling controls. The game is a blatant conversion of an X-box game and all controls in cut scenes refer to X-box buttons making it almost impossible. To add insult, when you finally set up the controls as you want them, the game will occasionally decide to reset them next time you load up the game. Real shame because with a little bit of work this could have been a decent game.
Also have an issue with McAfee letting me access the origin servers so frequently have to disable it to upload save games. Very frustrating game all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now is the time..., 29 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Having experienced the highs of NFS Most Wanted and the lows of NFS Shift I was reluctant to sign up early to this game which, as it turns out, was a wise decision. Having completed the game I found a number of potential issues which are as follows...
1) The game requires the installation of Origin - the EA version of Steam. This means, in theory, that the game has no resale value, so if that is a concern there's no need to read further.
2) I was unable to install the game from the disks, of which there are two. This isn't an isolated incident, as you can see from at least one other review here. There are two solutions that I found. First, download the game from Origin. Second, take a trip to Gamer's Corner at gizmonext.com where the method involving copying files to your hard drive and unzipping them using Winzip, the free trial of which lasts 30 days, worked for me.
If you are unwilling to download 15Gb and unable to fathom the workaround, again there's no need to read further.
3) The game seems to be optimised for the XBox controller, so if you don't have one... well you know the score.
4) On a few occasions you have push buttons/press triggers when prompted to complete cutscenes, some on foot and some behind the wheel. While this doesn't ruin the game, it does mean that if you are unfamiliar with the controller you have to repeat a section until you get it right. This can get a little tedious but the sequences aren't that long that you need to overly tax your memory, although it does detract from the racing.
5) The game suffered some random crashes, no pun intended. Although I could count them on the fingers of one hand, and I have the normal compliment of digits, the fact that the game has been out for some time and it hasn't been resolved does add it to a growing list of examples of software companies treating customers with less respect than they should.
6) The game utilises a "rewind" facility which means that in the event of a crash, or if you take a wrong turn, that you don't have to repeat a whole race as the action jumps back to before where you went wrong. Unfortunately it isn't perfect. On more than one occasion it was triggered by nothing more than a brief trip on the grass verge.
7) A few of the races had sections that were little more than obstacle courses. At race speed I found it impossible to react fast enough and that meant multiple "rewinds" until I had memorised the route to take - it's not what I want from a race game.
8) It does require a willing suspension of disbelief, more than you might expect with a PC game, to accelerate in your top-of-the-range sports car, with the added benefit of nitrous oxide, and watch the police cars overtake you with ease. OK, I accept that it does make the game more challenging with the boys in blue playing a part rather than staring at my tail lights, but it did seem to bring out the bad language in me.
9) Lastly, and probably the worst thing, is that when you are hand-braking around a 90 degree corner with your car dancing across the tarmac, like Fred Astaire at his peak, it is really, really fun. It feels like Most Wanted all over again, but with better graphics, and it's a shame about all that i've written above.

I've just finished the game on the Easy level in three nights of less that committed gaming, which isn't as long as i'd like, but i'm headed back for the next level and probably the one after that and then i'll explore the Challenge Series. I wouldn't have been happy to have paid full price but with the cost falling I can heartily recommend this... as long as you can deal with the negatives, of which there are admittedly plenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Console port incomplete - not playable for many, 17 Dec 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I don't mind console ports too much provided they actually WORK, and I'm a total Need For Speed fan (I've had them all). However, buyers beware! This console port was never properly completed and as a result will not work with the majority of PC game controllers (go check EA's NFS: The Run forums). The worst failing is that the vehicles brake and accelerate at the same time (these controls cannot be reassigned), and there are some console-only buttons that are still hard-coded in the game to console gamepad buttons that don't exist on the majority of PC controllers (again, unassignable).

We have been assured that the developers are aware of the problem and are trying to fix it, but that was over a month ago now and a subsequent patch has not addressed joystick/wheel issues. Meanwhile, posts in the forums of people not being able to use their controllers, not being able to accelerate or who can only play by keyboard are racking up. I'm sure ONE DAY this will be patched, but until that time comes, obtain a demo to try it out first or ensure that the vendor you use will give you a refund as I was given, just in case you're not one of the lucky ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Racing from Blackbox, 20 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is pretty good with streamlining the fast cars element, racing and environmental escapes (and cops).

The graphics are top notch, though the cars are possibly modelled better in NFS Hot Pursuit 2010?

Brilliant use of track terrain/generation and environments as obstacles, on the PC physx (and high end graphics card) is put too excellent use. The races feel frenetic and fast with danger at every turning and mastering of the drifts/corners and nitrous boost are essential in order to keep ahead of the pack.

The game's story is nicely integrated within the race context, but probably slows down the overall feel of getting on with what NFS is known for, but a different take and not a bad one to boot!

For those looking for an integrated idea of the old NFS games, customisation and kitting this streamlines that process while providing the arcade feel of NFS Hot Pursuit.

Watch those corners!!!

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars internet required, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I did not know one would need to use internet with game also use orgin,it forgot my password , I did not think I would need one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, But got a free upgrade, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had ordered this game, received it but got the limited edition, not what I wanted but its a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nfs the run, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
seen quite a few negative comments, on pc you drive with a on the keyboard and z to brake and shift to use nitrous takes a while to get used to ive also played it online and i have to say i love this game, the game runs smoothly and no problems at all so 5 stars from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Derek (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am puzzled by so many negative reviews. I find this game to be tremendous fun and often quite exhilarating to play, as well as challenging. Apart from the wheel controls occasionally reverting to the default setting, I've never had any problems. I use a Thrustmaster Ferrari F458 Italia Racing Wheel on a Win 7 64 bit system (Intel 9600 CPU and Sapphire 1Gb HD6850 graphics). You need a decent system to handle the action. I recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD)
Need for Speed: The Run (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 7 / Vista)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews