Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eggs are brilliant. I placed on window ledge in the conservatory ...
The eggs are brilliant. I placed on window ledge in the conservatory because the windows were subject to a great deal of condensation overnight in cold weather. Having read the reviews, my expectations were not high but ever the optimist I gave them a try. I was very happy when each morning during this very cold spell,the windows have remained condensation-free which is...
Published 5 months ago by Smilee

versus
96 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Product - Few Flaws
We've always had a problem of damp and mould building up around our windows in the winter time so this year I've purchased 12 of these eggs and have placed two on each window. They're very simple to work! When they arrive, you unpack the egg and place it in the holder; setup complete. Now simply place in an area where you want to stop mould / damp / damp smells. The egg...
Published on 27 Oct. 2012 by Mr. D. Conway


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Product - Few Flaws, 27 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. D. Conway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
We've always had a problem of damp and mould building up around our windows in the winter time so this year I've purchased 12 of these eggs and have placed two on each window. They're very simple to work! When they arrive, you unpack the egg and place it in the holder; setup complete. Now simply place in an area where you want to stop mould / damp / damp smells. The egg will get to work and start remove damp from the air and when it's full up the sides of the stand will turn from blue to a strong pink colour. You then remove the egg from the stand (do not microwave stand) place the egg upside down in a cup and then slowly remove the cap (i'll explain why slowly shortly). Pop the cup and egg into the microwave, making sure the turning plate is secure and flat and that the egg doesn't hit the top of the microwave. Put on 600 watts (if you have a more powerful microwave change the power setting otherwise the egg will start to burn in places) for about 5 to 10 minutes depending how full the egg is. Once done, leave to cool for about 20 minutes before putting the cap back in and returning to the stand and replacing at it's location.

Now the flaws! The stripes on the side of holders, which tell you if it's full or not, appear to work on heat or something similar. This can become a problem! For example, most people will place their eggs on a window because, like myself, want to reduce condensation and them annoying puddles of water that build up from it in the winter. Well the area around the window is likely to be very cold, which is why when the hot air hits it you get the water building up on it. The sides of the egg pick up this cold chill rather then reading the beads in the egg and turn pink so you don't know if it's full or empty. Same goes for having the window open, after a few minutes it turns pink.

The other major flaw is the cap in the bottom, after a few uses I found they become loose and the other day as I was removing the egg from the stand the 1000's of beads went everywhere! And they're not easy to find and pick up, plus if you have kids there's the danger there!

In summary, they're a good price and do the job half well but there's a few flaws and if you buy one for every window in your house, your find yourself spending an hour or so twice a week having to microwave them all! I would recommend investing in an electric dehumidifier if you can afford one or researching the similar products on the market but which can hold a lot more water before becoming full. A good brand is Pingi who do everything from a simple bag version to a larger unit for bigger rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eggs are brilliant. I placed on window ledge in the conservatory ..., 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
The eggs are brilliant. I placed on window ledge in the conservatory because the windows were subject to a great deal of condensation overnight in cold weather. Having read the reviews, my expectations were not high but ever the optimist I gave them a try. I was very happy when each morning during this very cold spell,the windows have remained condensation-free which is amazing. I am very pleased indeed and have ordered two more for the bedroom windows and hopeful that the eggs will perform as well there I did microwave them at the start just to be sure but do not know if this made any difference regarding their good performance or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dehumindifying eggs a great success, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
I have not wiped the window ledges since I received them and drying them out in the microwave was easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
I ordered these to replace a couple I had before but accidentally microwaved the plastic plugs.

Very happy with these and the value is good as you get two in the order. They work very well I have found although they do tend to need quite a bit of recharging, daily to start with but after a while it goes to weekly I have found
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but not worth it., 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
Not convinced these will work. Supposed to be blue on the sides before absorbing water, but they were already pink when they arrived and I cannot seem to get them to change colour. I tried drying out in microwave to see if this would help to change the colour - but the paper is still pink.
(NB.be very careful. Egg seems to over heat, even though I only put it in for half the required time. Took a long time before I could handle it to put back into holder. Go very careful)
I have bought these before from a different supplier. These are not as good. I guess you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does as it says, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
Brought these as i have a serious damp problem in my flat, but since having these it seems to have helped. Product would be better if they came with instructions, but is easy to sort by googling the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
Arrived in excellent condition and seemt o be working well. Our bedroom is quite large so we have both in the same room.Had them in place for 3 days and so far we have not had ay condensation where the windows would normally have been covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dehumidifier, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
This product is super. I am purchasing another two as it has cut down the drying time of my washing. The damp spot I bought it for has cleared up also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lack of instructions but do the job, 21 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
These eggs do seem to cut down the moisture in any given area. They are designed for smaller areas so for larger areas two or more may be required. Its hard to see how the paper which indicates when they are full works.
But it does.
I find the best way to recharge them once the paper turns pink is to empty the granules into a microwavable jug lined with kitchen roll then put into the microwave on full power for bursts of 2 to 3 minutes. Every 2 or 3 minutes take out the jug and for the first few times steam will be exiting the jug. shake it around a bit and more steam will escape. Do this for as many times needed till no more steam is forthcoming.
When I say microwavable I would use glass as the granules can reach very high temperatures whilst drying out.
All in all I think this is a good product and has certainly reduced the water in the air where I use them.

I will probably buy another pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars silica gel, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Great Ideas Pack of 2 Reusable Dehumidifiers - Dehumidifying Eggs - Absorbs Damp, Moisture, Condensation - Regenerate In Mocrowave - Colour Changing Humidity Indicators
Bought six of these on the strength of recommendations / reviews. Wasted my money. Bought them to get rid of condensation that collects on a bedroom window every morning, they made absolutely no difference. They come with no instructions which is useful- eerrr not!!! They are made of unglazed ceramic and filled with silica gel beads I think. There are strips of Cobalt chloride paper on the sides of the plastic egg holders which never really dry out and turn blue. When heated in the microwave, you never know how long to heat them since there are no instructions, the egg becomes very very hot and is a potential burning hazard when placed in the microwave. You really need to leave them for about 20-30 minutes to cool down. I am pretty sure they will crack one day in the microwave due to the high temperature reached by the ceramic egg. My advice...buy a dehumidifier and don't waste your money on this rubbish...they would probably be ok to remove moisture in a sock drawer or similar but other than that pretty useless really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews