Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2007
Black, White and Gold : My Autobiography by Kelly Holmes is a delighful read. The autobiography features one of the greatest British female athletic to emerge and establish history in the field of athletics. The glorious achievement of claiming two well deserved gold medals during 2004 Athens Olympics gained her widespread recognition. She joins the elite list of the greatest British Olympicans. This include the line up of Coe, Orvett, Cramp,Thompson, Sanderson, Christie and Gunnell. This is a prestigious list to represent.

The autobiography is a reflection on a remarkable career which details all the major setbacks including injuries, family problems and uphill struggles during her scholling and army days, major championships triumps and dissapointments,(Commonwealth, Olympics, World Championship, European, Grand prixs)) and her impending retirement. Majority of Kelly Holme's life is beautifully covered, which is interesting and fascinating to read. A special section is included to feature figures in relation to qualifying times, medals wons and championship entered.

The autobiography is well written by Kelly Holmes. This is an opportunity to reveal her story of achieving Olympic success and what it feels like. It is a real treat anyone who expressed an interest in athletics. One must appreciate that Kelly Holmes route to success was by no means an easy rollocaster as she worked effortlessy hard and taken sacrifices in life to achieve her dreams. She deservely secures a position of Olympic greats. The autobiography is a delightful read of a truly remarkable and genuine nice natured person.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
An excellent book! One that i couldn't put down. It gives a great insight into not only athletics but army life too which was interesting. Its a book thats easy to read and full of interesting information. She also writes about training in africa and there were some funny parts when she wrote about her room mate. All round this is an excellent book and the last sentence leaves you with a lasting message.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
From life as a kid up to winning her two Olympic golds, Kelly's story of struggle and success will grip you all the way. Growing up as a mixed-raised kid, see how Kelly makes her way to the top of her sport and become an Olympic hero.

This is a personally written autobiography by Kelly, in which she expresses her feelings throughout the book.

As her dreams go through the ups and downs of athletics, eventually Kelly achieved her goals in Athens. Moving along at a fast pace, sportsmen and women can relate and learn from Kelly, seeing how she works her way up. As she fights her injuries over her career, she shows others that constant determination and perseverance will pay off.

I would recommend this book to any keen sports person or someone who needs inspiring to reach their goal in life. Kelly in this book acts as a perfect role model.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2005
I'd been a fan of Kelly for about ten years and was so pleased to see her win double gold in Athens. However I really didn't know a lot about her life off the track, this book is very candid and revealing, (although some areas she keeps private, and as those areas are not relevant to her story they are not missed.)
Kelly talks about her life growing up, as a mixed race child in Kent and her family life, highs and lows; the how, where and why of her joining the army and the drive and passion that finally brought her into serious championship track athletics.
The information on her training regimes over the years and her need for total focus and how she approached her races, including Athens provides fascinating information. Her list of injuries and how these were overcome or just lived with just makes a fan like me have even more admiration for her and I'm sure will endear her to all the readers of this book.
The book is written in a very easy style, and you can hear Kelly saying all of it. With some nice photos and a down to earth approach it's a really refreshing read. All sports fans and definitely Kelly fans will enjoy this book!
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
This is an excellent biography about someone who carried on striving to achieve her goals despite major setbacks and disappointments. It also makes you realise just what top athletes put themselves through.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2006
This book is a fab read, i couldnt put it down.

It certainly motivates and ispires. Excellent read, makes you aware of what athletes go through.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
It was an interesting read. I've always liked Kelly Holmes and it was a great insight into her growing up, the army and the start of her athletics career. She comes across likeable and honest with a clear drive to succeed. Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Wonderful account in Kelly's own words. I used to do a lot of sports but not as devoted to people like her who do their utmost to achieve what they deserve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
How to succeed against trials and injuries to say nothing of medical problems how did she do it what determination what an athlete what a woman
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
I gave this book the maximum of 5 stars as I enjoyed every word of it from start to finish. It took me 4 days to finish it. This book is definitely worth the £6.40 I spent on Kindle.

My favourite part of the autobiography is where Kelly writes about her passing out parade for the British Army and what her step-dad does. Very funny indeed from someone who has been in the Forces myself.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)