Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clarissa Dalloway of Our Time
Tamar Cohen: The Mistress's Revenge

Tamar Cohen's debut novel is written in the form of a diary, addressed by Sally Ipsis to her former lover Clive Gooding, a wealthy television journalist and compulsive womaniser. At the start of her memoir Sally's covert relationship has been going on for five years and this monologue is her attempt to come to terms with her...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Mr. D. James

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge? Really?
While reading this book, I always found myself enjoying it.

The prose is poignant, dark and actually very funny. I'm 19 years old but somehow I managed to step into the protagonist Sally's view and see the world through her eyes. She's s middle aged woman who has been having a 5 year affair with cool calm and collected married Clive. Clive declares his love and...
Published on 26 Jan 2012 by Ms. Cl College


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Clarissa Dalloway of Our Time, 14 July 2012
By 
Mr. D. James "nonsuch" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Tamar Cohen: The Mistress's Revenge

Tamar Cohen's debut novel is written in the form of a diary, addressed by Sally Ipsis to her former lover Clive Gooding, a wealthy television journalist and compulsive womaniser. At the start of her memoir Sally's covert relationship has been going on for five years and this monologue is her attempt to come to terms with her loss of the man who had promised her eternal love, marriage, an escape from her unexciting partner, Daniel, and a new start in life. But when Clive finds he cannot leave his wife Susan and his two children for Sally, she falls into severe depression, having resource to therapy and a variety of drugs.

So far, so trite, the reader may feel. Is this another `woman's novel', pure pulp fiction, as the narrator spills out her agonies like a soap opera? Not exactly, for this everyday story of punctured romance is told so compulsively that one becomes intrigued by Sally's rich array of coping strategies, as she visits first her young blonde GP who lends her a sympathetic ear, puts her head on one side and scrunches up her lips, repeating `Poor you' to the blubbering patient; then Helen Bunion her stern therapist who recommends deep breathing and various commonsense strategies such as knowing who you really are. Clive is an illness from which Sally must cure herself; but this she is unable to do, having constant recourse to imaginary (and ultimately face-to-face) confrontations with the ex-lover. Sally sinks into drug dependency and subterfuges such as email and Facebook snooping, but mostly a reliance on the friendship of Susan, Clive's unsuspecting wife whom she befriends in an attempt to spy on Clive and track down every detail of his life. As Sally becomes increasingly drug-dependent, she finds herself isolated from friends, husband and her two children, Tilly and Jamie.

Some Amazon reviewers have been put off by the feckless heroine with nothing else in her life but dreams of the past and hopes of reunion with the selfish and heartless Clive, who is also undergoing therapy, but via BUPA. These two empty characters `deserve each other' is one dismissal; they are equally selfish and despicable. This may be true, but they are each presented in such a lively and believable way that their fencing becomes a fascinating duel. What will they do next? Will Sally force her way back into Clive's life? How long will it be before partner Daniel confronts Sally, or wife Susan finally twigs what's been going on? Will therapist Helen Bunion's counsel prevail and Sally come to her senses? Above all, how will the affair affect the children of each party?

Sally Ipsis is the archetypal hopeless woman, one who can't look after her children, who loses her job, her husband and ultimately her family, one who neglects herself and takes refuge in sleeping pills and isolation in her bedroom. She is so obsessed with the notion of regaining Clive that she becomes a compulsive liar, forgets to pay bills, answer letters, to attend parents' meetings and even her son's birthday. She is `too busy' tracing what she imagines to be the day-to-day life of Clive. Yet as we get to know her, she becomes strangely likeable: intelligent, witty and in her own way incredibly resourceful. When her therapist finally loses patience, Sally deflects the threatened termination of treatment with typical mockery of professional jargon: `It's reached the point where I feel I must urge you strongly to seek further help,' she told me. `You are stretching the boundaries of my remit.' Isn't that classic? Stretching the boundaries of her remit. I even wrote it down, I liked it so much....You know, I rather think that's what you might have done, Clive - stretched the boundaries of my remit. Maybe all that stretching is what keeps hurting so much.'

Although the book is an easy read, it's far from being a lightweight Sex `n' Shopping novel and it's certainly a mile away from Chiclit or the typical Romantic Novel. In fact, with pardonable exaggeration, I see Sally Ipsis as the Clarissa Dalloway of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cant wait for the sequel.., 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down once Id started it, reading it way too late on a school night. Its a really well written account of a womans journey into self destruction, the madness of a woman scorned. Darkly humourous,disturbing with a fabulous twist at the end. This is a fantastic novel and I hope the book company will be publishing many more by this talented new writer, Tamar Cohen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and gripping, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Hardcover)
Once I got stuck into 'The Mistresses Revenge' I couldn't put it down. The storyline - a middle-aged woman's obsession with the married lover who has dumped her - is nothing new but the style of the book, written as the journal of the main character Sally Islip, is original and gripping. Watching Sally descend into madness and neglect her own family as she becomes increasingly fixated with that of her selfish ex-lover, Clive, is both frustrating and disturbingly believeable. If this debut novel is at times dark and distressing it's also funny and extremely well-observed - I almost recognised some of the characters! And the ending - both unexpected and satisfying - is a real cracker. Tamar Cohen is a talented and perceptive writer - I look forward to her next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge? Really?, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Ms. Cl College "c.c" (lincolnshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Hardcover)
While reading this book, I always found myself enjoying it.

The prose is poignant, dark and actually very funny. I'm 19 years old but somehow I managed to step into the protagonist Sally's view and see the world through her eyes. She's s middle aged woman who has been having a 5 year affair with cool calm and collected married Clive. Clive declares his love and true passion for Sally but suddenly decides on a fateful friday that thing's at home are worth working at.

He leaves Sally in free fall, in a job she can't be bothered with, a husband she no longer cares about and children who will never understand. She slowly declines into the darkest depths of depression. Eventually the only reason Sally even gets dressed in the morning's are to stalk Clive's house or meet his wife on tea and lunch dates.

Everyone around Sally is oblivious as to why she has suddenly lost it, but she takes comfort in any tiny bits of information she can get out of Clives family on his life. However he doesn't feel comfortable with her spending time with his wife and resorts to threatening her to stay away.

There's a lot of depressing stuff in this book because even as the reader, you just want Sally to... well help herself. Suddenly you're transported 18 months and Sally is over Clive and he's paying for soliciting gbh.

The ending was too quick after all the depressing stuff in the middle and I found myself thinking afterwards 'well what was the revenge exactly?'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising read, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Paperback)
Initially I thought this novel was going to be a tad "Mills & Boonish" - how wrong I was! I nearly drove my poor husband mad chuckling over the book whilst reading in bed. it is extremely well written with a clever balance between dark humour and sharp observation. An undercurrent of unease starts to build and you just know something horrid is going to happen but the ending was totally different to my wild imaginings. A real twist at the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldnt put it down, 30 July 2012
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Paperback)
I found this book totally engrossing and I couldnt put it down. Although the main character Sally was a selfish person I found myself rooting for her. It was really well written and got me hooked from the start and had a clever twist. This would make an excellent holiday beach read easy to pick up and get lost in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mistress's Revenge, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Kindle Edition)
I just could not put this book down. I was reading until 2 am. I could feel myself getting mad for the mistress, her children and her partner. To watch a family fall apart through love/lust was pitiful. Good ending, but no-one happy really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ABSORBING READ !, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Read this book in record time. A lesson to all men and women who think they can trust the illicit new lust of their lives,this is self distruct for all involved.I would quite happily castrate him !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Paperback)
Well worth a read. Had been looking for this book for a while and wasn't disappointed . Well structured and had me enthralled from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mistress's Revenge, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mistress's Revenge (Paperback)
I found this book gripping and couldn't put it down.Usually it takes me a while to read a book but when it is
so interesting with twists and turns, just have to finish it. I couldn't wait to get to the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mistress's Revenge
The Mistress's Revenge by Tamar Cohen
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews