Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book - not for the easily offended/faint hearted though.
There are many mixed reviews of this book here, it is certainly not for everyone, I for one really enjoyed it. I have to confess, Chuck Palahniuk is one of my favourite authors, so there was every chance I would like it.

The story is certainly an interesting one, with a popular adult film actress Cassie Wright wanting to end her career on a high by breaking a...
Published 13 months ago by Miss AL Holloway

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite Possibly The Biggest Literary Disappointment Of My Reading Life
I honestly find myself at a loss for words having just completed Snuff.

From someone so brilliant to have written the likes of Survivor and Fight Club, comes.. well, this.

This book reads like a Wikipedia article collection, written by thirteen year old boys still searching for the perfect way to describe someone who masturbates. The incessant...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by IDGS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book - not for the easily offended/faint hearted though., 21 Jun 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Paperback)
There are many mixed reviews of this book here, it is certainly not for everyone, I for one really enjoyed it. I have to confess, Chuck Palahniuk is one of my favourite authors, so there was every chance I would like it.

The story is certainly an interesting one, with a popular adult film actress Cassie Wright wanting to end her career on a high by breaking a very notorious world record. On hand to help her out are several volunteers, including the narrators of this book, numbers 72, 137 and 600, three guys from different backgrounds who all want to take part for different reasons, and Ms Wright's faithful assistant Sheila.

So, the subject matter is not going to suit everyone. Now that is out of the way, what we have here is a book full of dark humour, some childish laughs but done well, some more dark and twisted, and some very unique writing. If this story in any way mirrors the real adult entertainment industry well forget any thoughts that this world being glamourous. The picture Palahniuk paints is one that is grimy, sleazy and stinking. And yet, despite this bleak picture and most of the characters being pretty unlikeable, I found the whole story gripping and was sorry to reach the end.

The general consensus among reviewers seems to be that this is not one of Palahniuk's best books. I'm not sure I agree, but so far I have enjoyed each one that I have read and it is hard to pick a favourite. If you prefer long weighty novels then my only criticism would be that this book is pretty short, but I think the story was as long as it needed to be, any more would have been unneccesary bloating.

In closing, if you are not offended by the subject matter dealt with here, and you enjoy dark humour, I think Snuff is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite Possibly The Biggest Literary Disappointment Of My Reading Life, 20 Nov 2010
By 
IDGS (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snuff (Hardcover)
I honestly find myself at a loss for words having just completed Snuff.

From someone so brilliant to have written the likes of Survivor and Fight Club, comes.. well, this.

This book reads like a Wikipedia article collection, written by thirteen year old boys still searching for the perfect way to describe someone who masturbates. The incessant factoids about porn, Marilyn Monroe, condoms, the gay community, and cyanide could possibly the the most boring, ineffectual and downright idiotic thing I've read in my entire life.

The description is enticing, but this book downright fails to deliver. Chuck insists on creating as many stupid porn titles as he possibly can, sounding like a rehersal for a Saturday Night Live skit before airing, minus any of the humour. The first couple gain a small chuckle, the rest leave you shaking your head. If I had to read one more name for someone who masturbates, I would have thrown the book across the room - had the hardcover novella deceptively marketed as a full novel not cost an arm and a leg.

The plot is unremarkable in every way, the characters utterly unlikeable and unrelatable. Words are repeated, and I feel sorry for whoever edited this 'work' - they're likely out of a job, from all the akward sentences.

You could see the ending of this novel - minus a small 'twist' in the form of the reality in which the two characters will now have to live - coming from a mile away, though they drag it out through disjointed style that forces you to pick it all apart.

If I have anything positive at all to say about this work - the cover is intriguing. Brings back the Linda Lovelace train of thought.

Here's to hoping Palahniuk delivers something worth reading sooner than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the darker side of life, 22 Sep 2008
This review is from: Snuff (Hardcover)
One thing I will say about Palahniuk is that he manages to write in such a way that you can smell the unwashed bodies, the urine smell from the toilet, the buffet table laden with crisps and sweets and the body odour of the 600 assembled men. Basically, he manages to write in such a way that you feel slightly grimy by the time you finish one of his books.
Don't get me wrong, this is definitely a skill, but I felt that the voices of the 4 characters (72, 137, 600 and sheila) were all a little too similar.
In some ways I was dissapointed in this book - the characters just seemd to be lacking something, and it seemed that the author set out to try and shock more than to tell a story.
On the other hand, I did sit and read the whle thing in one go - although that was not too hard as this is quite a short novel.
I do not think this book will win Palahniuk too many new fans, although I could see teens who ahve not encountered this kind of book before enjoying it, and I think longterm fans will enjoy the book. It is definitely very inkeeping with Palahniuks "style" of writing, but it is not my favourite of his books.
It is trickey, as on the one hand it is a very evocative work, but on the other hand, it was not as good as some of his other things.
As one person pointed out, the cover does feature a pair of breasts, but as with the rest of this book, there is nothing erotic about the image, or in the story itself - in fact if anything, this book is a pretty good antidote to feeling frisky.
If you are a fan I would give this book a try, if you want to buy a young adult something "edgy" it may be worth a go, but if you are new to this author I think you would be better starting off with Fight Club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Three things to know before buying, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snuff (Hardcover)
1. This is a very short novella (the text is printed in big type to make for more pages), you'll read it in an hour or so.

2. Once the paper seal is removed the book cover is pornographic. You won't be able to read this on the train, in the office, or whilst your children are around.

3. The 'story' doesn't even start to measure up to the author's earlier stuff. In comparison to books like Invisible Monsters or Survivor this book is very, very weak. There are no skewed ideas to play with, or off the wall revelations to ponder. Even without comparison to earlier books the principles of this short story are 10 years too late to be edgy.

Very disappointing all-round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for Chuck fans, 21 Jun 2009
This review is from: Snuff (Hardcover)
I never normally review books but i read the previous reviews before i bought this book and i still bought it. Good thing too. I will say, like i have about several times about Chucks books, you have to really like Chuck palahniuk to like Snuff. It is not really a book on porn. I am thinking lots of people bought it thinking so, hence the mixed reviews. I admit the blurb also leads you to think this novel will be raunchy and an exciting portrail of the pornographic industry. However, true to his style, Chuck Palahniuk doesn't neccesarilly give us what it claims on the cover. I'd be disappointed if he did. If you read his books, as i do, expecting something interesting written with an unusual angle with a quirky and often highly amusing plot, you won't be disappionted.
The plot centres around three men in a waiting room (The porn acress is hardly in the book at all) and how their lives all came to meet at that point in time. There are surprises in store, which i won't reveal but needless to say, the pivital character in the story is not who you would expect. At all. I never guessed till the very end. The book is written very well with vivid comedic scenes which will make you smile, and i loved it.
With regard to other reviews i read, there are definately twists in the plot, the book took me about 5 hours to read (and i'm a quick reader) not 1 hour and the cover is only pornographic if your very narrow minded, and if so, then this book isn't for you anyway. All that is under the cover is a pair of boobies, and nothing my six year old even took a second glance at. You could always stick the dust cover down if your that bothered.
Plus i would recommend the hard cover edition as the paper quality is excellent and it has a rather attractive black edging to the pages on the outside which made the book even more pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Paperback)
The book came kinda slowly. It was exactly what I wanted, and was worth what it cost, and was extremely useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was ok., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Paperback)
Not that great a read, but short enough to press on through with.

Can't even remember the ending, enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For a passionate reader, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Paperback)
This was a gift for a passionate reader. He had supplied the book list and Amazon was the site with the best bargain and right price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Snuff Fiction II, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff (Paperback)
If you are looking for an easy read, you are in the wrong place picking up a Chuck Palahniuk novel. You are in such the wrong place, that you may as well be in a different country. This author is so hard hitting, you feel like being punched by Tyson may prove a rest bite. `Snuff' is another strong novel by Palahniuk, not only in terms of quality, but content and adult naughtiness. It revolves around an adult entertainer trying to beat the world record for sleeping with the most men in one sitting. The story is told from the point of view of three of the men in the queue, plus a female assistant whose job is to keep them in order.

In many ways `Snuff' is more of a series of short stories than a novella; you learn about each of the characters individually and how they came to be at the shoot. Their backgrounds are very telling and classic Palahniuk. Some of the stories are extremely brutal and hark back to the author's excellent `Haunted'. The story of the movie itself is an excuse for Palahniuk to voice his opinions on the seedier side of modern life. He combines his usual pop culture references with the types of observations that only he and Douglas Coupland seem to possess.

`Snuff' should not be the first Palahniuk novel that you pick up; it his most extreme to date, even more so than `Choke' or `Survivor'. There is so much bad language in the book that you could paint the whole town blue, and still have enough to give the local villages a coat. It makes for uncomfortable reading; not only in terms of imagery, but also the fact that people will see you reading it. The book may also have benefitted slightly from a more traditional narrative in places; it remains an excellent read, but more short stories than novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In your face (irony intended!) and hilarous, 29 Mar 2013
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snuff (Paperback)
What can I say? A book that almost defies comment..... Funny definitely. Graphic, in some ways. Honest, brutal at times, shocking. Can I say I really enjoyed it without sounding perverted?! I did. Though this is NOT for everyone.
Had to read the ending a couple of times to make sure I read it correctly. Very dark, and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snuff
Snuff by Chuck Palahniuk
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews