Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It
I loved this film. It is quirky, light and a lot of fun. Yes, you can predict what is going to happen as you watch but the cast really deliver and turn `Chalet Girl' into a movie for everyone. The backdrop and scenery in The Alps is stunning as Kim (Felicity Jones) leaves behind the drudgery of working in a burger bar in England to take up a job as a chalet girl in a top...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Steve Horsfall - Author / Writer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chick-lit but fun.
Light hearted story about a chalet girl who falls for a rich guy in Austria while working in his fathers chalet. Having left UK unable to snow board she somehow miraculously becomes a pro in four months and has plenty of fun. The acting is not particularly good apart from the excellent Bill Nighy but it's good fun and leaves you with a nice glow at the end - worth...
Published 22 months ago by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. It is quirky, light and a lot of fun. Yes, you can predict what is going to happen as you watch but the cast really deliver and turn `Chalet Girl' into a movie for everyone. The backdrop and scenery in The Alps is stunning as Kim (Felicity Jones) leaves behind the drudgery of working in a burger bar in England to take up a job as a chalet girl in a top ski resort, working for a rich family & in situ for whenever they decide to come and stay. Kim needs the money to help support her grieving father, who seems to be housebound and with no energy or drive following the tragic death of his wife (Kim's mother). Kim has to settle in amongst the posh set, but she is a girl with attitude who can easily fight her corner. Kim is a former skateboarding champion and takes to snowboarding as a natural, and is enticed by a competition with large cash prize for the winner. To triumph, Kim needs to somehow overcome the devastating impact of the death of her mother + a seemingly complicated relationship with the son(Ed Westwick) of the wealthy family who employ her. I really recommend this film; in particular Felicity Jones & Bill Nighy are excellent, but all the cast are good. Keep watching as the credits roll as the cast have a lot of fun lip synching along to Kim Wilde's `Chequered Love'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to hate this, I really did, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Nick Morgan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to hate this, I really did. I'm on the sharp end of a divorce so going into a romantic comedy for me, well it's like a vegan booking an abattoir weekend.

I was strong-armed into a preview show under the notion that it was Cinderella on a Snowboard and to a certain extent this is correct, Kim (Felicity Jones) is a downtrodden burger-queen-teen with zero prospects trapped in a co-dependent rut with her culinary incompetent dad (Bill Bailey) and nursing grief for her mother - who died in a car crash.

That's not a spoiler - BTW - as you get it as back-story with the opening credits.

In a series of unlikely twists Kim lands a job as a Chalet Girl with super-rich family in beautiful Austria, enter Prince Charming (lush Ed Westwick) who is - horror show - engaged to somebody he like - so completely - doesn't love.

While romance runs its rollercoaster course Kim learns to snowboard and finds she's gifted - well to a point - because the psychological scaring of her mum's death holds her back from winning the local boarding trophy - and a very useful cash prize.

While the set-up is pure Cinderella the execution is all Rocky.

As Kim was fighting the odds I found myself rooting for her: when she crashed in the snow I felt her pain and when she got up and faced her demons I felt her determination, god I even cried at one point - in a quiet manly way.

There are plenty of clichés: a Step Mother who turns out to be Evil (in a mild way) and a Tart who - guess what - grows a Heart, but despite all of that I just found myself going along with it. No, not just going along with it, but loving it.

The success is partly down to a script that punches well above its weight: the sharp banter runs like this:

Posh Richard (Bill Nighy): [pointing at a helicopter] You ever been in one of these things?
Kim: [impressed but ultra-cool] Yeah, we have one at home. This one's pretty small actually.
Posh Richard: Do we pay extra for irony?
Kim: No, the irony's free, it's the sarcasm you're paying for. Ironically...

But the success is mostly down to Felicity Jones - she's hardly off screen and start-to-finish she oozes a hypnotic charm that wraps itself around you from go. Then there's the scenery too. The snow and chalet scenes are shot in Austria, in particular St Anton where `The Museum' is used for exterior shots of the posh chalet - well, they are stunning.

Between the location, Felicity and even (strangely enough) Ed Westwick I left the cinema with my love for humanity and indeed the world in much better shape than when I went in. I'm still being divorced of course, but after the film I feel slightly better about the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burger Bar Girl in the Alps, 30 Oct 2011
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
"Chalet Girl" is a likeable, "feel good" film about a cheeky young teenage girl who takes on a chalet girl job in the Austrian Alps. Felicity Jones plays the girl,Kim, who after finding her feet in her new role ,forms a close relationship with a rich young man she caters for in her job She also discovers a talent for snowboarding and enters a pro-contest with a large first prize. Can she get the boy and win the contest ? There are great shots of action on the snow slopes ,most of the cast are likeable and good natured and there is no nastiness or sleaze in this film. Theres a nice musical soundtrack as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chalet Girl DVD, 22 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
A great English Film, light hearted and well made, ideal for light entertainment especially if you have been on Chalet holidays or worked in the Alpes! Recommended, sadly it is not getting the exposure it deserves and is a well kept secret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Winter Rom Com, 15 Oct 2011
By 
L. R. Curtis "Richard Curtis" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
What a fun film. Well acted some great winter sports scenes. Lots of gentle humour and the background music is fantastic, I wonder when the CD is comming out.
Yes the plot is rather predictacble but isn't that what a Rom Com is meant to do. A wonderful film for a winters afternoon. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Although entirely predictable, it is still a really good film. Funny and romantic

I first watched this when it was released at the cinema but whilst watching the Winter Olympics with my children and seeing the British girl win a medal and hearing she used to be a chalet girl, it reminded me of this film and after my teenage daughter asked what a chalet girl was, I explained and then told her about this film which she asked me to buy for her. She watched it and really enjoyed it.

All the cast are great. Bill Nighy is always a good watch but Felicity Jones is a stand out performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel good British film, 21 May 2011
This review is from: Chalet Girl [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent film! A new, slightly more grown-up version of Wild Child. Bill Nighy and Bill Bailey pop up and add a delightful sprinkle of British wit. Fans of Gossip Girl will notice 'Chuck Bass' appearing as the love interest, and I actually started to fall in love with him myself, despite not warming to his character in the American drama series.

A must for girls everywhere, and it's a similar style to the rom-coms men do actually like (About a Boy and Love Actually), although they'd never admit it.

I shall definitely be buying this, as I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it's even better than St Trinians and Wild Child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poor girl meets rich boy, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
only seen it once but really enjoyed it ok the story line is thin and a bit predictable but anything with bill nighy in it has to seen the younsters do their bit in an accomplished way and felicity jones ouses charm she has a great future well worth seeing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice one, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
one of my favourite german actors K (en Duken) in a british film - perfect for a riany sunday afternoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chalet Girl, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chalet Girl [DVD] (DVD)
If you like snow and winter sports you will enjoy this. Very funny in parts - I enjoyed it so much that I have rewatched it three times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chalet Girl [Blu-ray]
Chalet Girl [Blu-ray] by Phil Traill (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews