Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute masterpiece!
This album is a classic, a set of songs of amazing variety and great melodic depth. I love the sitars and tabla on Questions and the raucous rock of Heaven Sent. Communication is a catchy slice of pop-rock with a driving beat, Taste It sounds like one the Stones’ funky ballads with its jerky rollicking rhythm, whilst Not Enough Time is a soulful love song with...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by Pieter Uys

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars michael and co roll with the punches
yes as the nineties progessed with the grunge invasion the bands of the 80's were in a bit of a flap how to mantain there audience with there classic sound and yet still sound fresh..
well that's a tough question because in the end you're gonna go over common ground and disappoint people this album sort of half fills the cup and will leave a taste you will...
Published on 5 Aug 2005 by .Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute masterpiece!, 18 Jan 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This album is a classic, a set of songs of amazing variety and great melodic depth. I love the sitars and tabla on Questions and the raucous rock of Heaven Sent. Communication is a catchy slice of pop-rock with a driving beat, Taste It sounds like one the Stones’ funky ballads with its jerky rollicking rhythm, whilst Not Enough Time is a soulful love song with beautiful vocals and gripping chorus.
All Around is a powerful up-tempo rock gem and the tuneful Baby Don’t Cry with its sixties flavour and uplifting harmonies is irresistible. One of the highlights of this great album is the poignant Beautiful Girl, where great lyrics, vocals and playing gel into a pop masterpiece. Back On Line, Strange Desire and Men and Women are great too.
There are no duds on Welcome To Wherever You Are. It is one of those rare albums where every track offers something special. Inxs’ s mastery of such a variety of styles is impressive. This is probably one of the very best, and most underappreciated, rock albums of the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their most complete album, 22 Feb 2000
By A Customer
INXS head off into a wise change of direction following the sucess of Kick and X. The album begins soaked in Indian influences and ends with dark shards of guitars and orchestra. In between there's the snarling vocals of Heaven Sent, the chattering Communication, the beautiful Not Enough Time and Beautiful Girl and the Stonesy swagger of All Around. Add to that Taste It's rolling drums, moments of pschydelia and the album's best moment, the life-affirming Baby Don't Cry (with INXS's best ever chorus) and you get a fantastic mix of great pop moments, rock and roll, dance and songs that other bands should give their back teeth for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to their finest album.., 6 May 2009
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The follow up to `X' had to be different, and the band delivered wholesale with Welcome to wherever you are. In retrospect in a similar way to U2's Rattle and Hum the Live baby live album was the end of a chapter for the band, and again similar to U2's Achtung Baby on this album INXS rediscover themselves, and as a result produce one their most original works.

Unfortunately at the time of release (1994) under the shadow of a changed music scene in the UK (that already seen Grunge come and go) where Oasis's debut Definitely Maybe and Blur's `Parklife' were released and Britpop was gathering momentum, the public had by now turned its eyes elsewhere from a band that were now considered deeply un-cool and an 80's relic, and their best album was largely ignored. It was also this point that saw the beginning of the bands eventual decline and to the unfortunate episode that saw their lead singers untimely passing.

The energy that goes into the recording is relentless, and instead of glossy tight production being at the fore, guitars, loops, samples and drums are all given space to make themselves heard, Heaven Sent, Taste it, Not enough time, Beautiful girl and Baby don't cry were all strong singles. This really the sound of a band going for it musically, and for me the band never equalled this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant..., 9 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. Naveed H. Siddiqui (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
sublime lyrics, and rhythms that you certainly `feel'. This is an album which all fans of pop/rock and even the remotest fans of INXS fans will enjoy. The songs are very rich and you really do want to listen to them repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first ever CD, 2 May 2014
By 
Junaid Rashid (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To Wherever You Are (MP3 Download)
I was only 14 years old and owned many cassettes of mainly mid to late 80s albums that I used to listen to in my personal stereo during paper rounds before school, until I saved enough money to buy my first CD player.
With the little money left over from my big purchase I went shopping with it and bought this album, my brother already owned the album on cassette so I had heard it a few times already but he was always listening to it and taking it with him for his walk to school.

This was in my CD player for the rest of the year I think, spent so much time in my bedroom just lying on the bed listening to this or whilst doing my homework. Brings back memories and I havent even begun to talk about the bloody good songs from start to finish on this album!

I think most reviews have already stated that theres not a single dud track on this album, in my opinion its one of the greatest albums every made. I remember it got to number 1 in the UK charts, and was critically accliamed in all the big music magazines but somehow it still feels very underrated.

I could go on talking about each individual track for a very long time but I dont think i'd be adding too much more to what has already been said in earlier reviews.

Just wanted to come here and say to those people thinking about getting this album, stop thinking and get it already - you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic album from a fantastic band, 22 April 2014
always loved this album, some fans dont listen to inxs after the x album but i disagree, this is inxs at their best, rock songs that entertain with the late great michael, cant help but thinking that they would have went back to the top if he was still around and they produced more albums like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange cover - better album., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just bought this album in 2014 after reading the INXS biography, Story to Story. Both highly recommended! This album is a great work from INXS - radically different from the following year's Full Moon Dirty Hearts and in my view massively better than the latter. It has all the INXS rhythm and swing which were their hallmark. Pick up a copy for a penny and you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inxs..ellent, 21 July 2013
love it....fantastic music from a fantastic band. michael is the best singer of all time. Recc to all inxs fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time top 100 albums to own, 20 Feb 2011
This 1992 album is quite simply a classic from start to finish and every bit the equal to the other 90's groundbreaking high points of Nevermind, OK Computer and What's The Story.

How this outstanding CD, released to universal critical acclaim across Europe, was missed by both radio and the public still to this day is dumbfounding. The band's decision not to tour the album at the time (as they wanted a break from years of being on the road) probably had a lot to do with it.

If you only know INXS for their more showy and poppy Kick and X era singles, this will come as both a surprise and a revelation - its sophisticated and deep, with beautifully textured soundscapes and sublime melodies. The production is outstanding and despite the incredible variations of style, the tracks glide together seamlessly, with a coherence which eluded all their other albums.

From the opening track, the quirky Persian influenced "Questions" to the last, the haunting, desperate classic, "Men and Women," virtually every song on this disc could have and should have been a hit.

"Baby Don't Cry" and the ballad "Beautiful Girl" are the best-known tunes on this masterpiece, but it's full of clever instrumentation (including the Australian Concert Orchestra)tremendous percussion and incredible background vocals.

Without any hesitation one of the all time top 100 albums to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The re-mastered version is so much better than the original cd, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The re-mastered version is so much better than the original cd , the sound is bigger and clearer to the ears . LOVE THIS CD .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews