Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
110
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.60
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2003
Very good - sad, moving but had me engrossed. The author created a wonderful atomosphere of the time it was set in and I was lost in the book with the children and the sweetshop. I found it very hard when Sylvia was shuffled around from one home to another, but it was written very well so it didn't feel hard going at all. In fact I read it so fast I was surprised. An excellent book - shame the author hasn't wrote anything else.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
WOW what an excellent book, I haven't read such a good book in years. It gripped my attention from beginning to end. A really fast paced novel. The main character Sylvia was my heroine. I laughed and cried alternately. I didn't want to finish it. I just couldn't put it down. I urge everyone to purchase a copy of this book. I recommended this book to my friend and she could not buy it from Amazon at the time as there were none in stock. I have since found out that the only copies available are from the author's website. It is particularly nice to buy it from there as all the proceeds go to help augment child abuse charities. Well done Janice Cooke and thank you for sharing your story with us. xxx
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
ANYONE who has ever suffered childhood abuse should read this book. It is a poignant and powerful story of one young woman's eventual triumph over adversity in a post World War II England. Most important of all, Peckham Cry serves as a reminder to those of us who are victims of abuse that we're not alone. However, it doesn't end there, because I'm confident this story will also speak to those who have never been subjected to abuse. Beautifully and simply crafted through the eyes and experiences of a little girl growing into womanhood in an age of true austerity, Peckham Cry should be an inspiration to us all.

Peckham Cry
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 1998
The book was well written and very hard to put down. It was such a sad book and really touched my heart. I am so sorry that people have to go through stuff like what Janice had to go through. These stories need to be told and I am glad that Janice had the courage to share her story with us.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with this book. It contains all the elements of a Jessie Keane novel or Martina Cole but was a little more subtle. I read in a short space of time and feel a part two might be an interesting read as this character has much more to tell us. On the whole, real value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
I don't know if this story is based on true events or not but it's still quite a shocking read. I expect that thousands of young girls and boys for that matter have gone through much the same abuse if not more over the years.

I could empathize with the thought processes of the time as I myself grew up in the late fifties early sixties and girls were often seen as looking for trouble and it was thought best not to interfere in domestic situations. What a very sad indictment of the times much of which are still the norm today. A neighbour will quite happily sit back and watch or hear abuse and do nothing because it's not their business or they simply don't want to get involved!

Social Services as it is known today often put young people in mental intuitions or homes which were cold and lacking in warmth and compassion. The people running these places were often cruel and harsh not really giving the victim a chance to move out of their situations and so degenerated to an even worse state than before.

Having said that I do feel that many of the situations Sylvia went through were of her own making and her past home life and nativity were often used as an excuse for the things she did and indeed I am not discounting the horrific abuse but also feel that if one does want a better life you have to make the decision and seek help. Sylvia had many opportunities to do this but the story played on her ignorance even when she made the same mistakes over and over and never seemed to learn anything from them despite being older and would have thought wiser.

The ending was not satisfying as one might expect due to the subject matter but Sylvia's situation was worse than before and there was no sign of anything changing so how she could be looking to a brighter future is really beyond me. Perhaps Ms Cooke has a sequel in mind?

I have to thank Janice for this very sad read, although not pleasant it certainly was thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
I just finished reading this novel. I was hooked from the start. I now consider myself lucky to have had such a good time in the so-called swinging sixties. Unlike poor Sylvia, the MC of Janice's story. All the time you hope for a little bit of happiness to come Sylvia's way, and when it does it's snatched away yet again. I'm not going to write a big spoiler here, this is a book that you should buy and read for yourselves. It's heart-breakingly sad in places, but you will find yourself rooting for Sylvia and just hoping something good will happen. It's a story that will stay with me for a long time. Well done, Janice for having the courage to write this. I really wish you well with it. Pam. xx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
Thought this was a really good read. Loved the era it's set in. You get a real good feel for how life was for poor Sylvie. There were a few parts I bit confused with. I kept wanting to rescue Sylvie, just when you thought it couldn't get no worse it does. You really do realise how hard life was back then. I felt like I was reading a diary of this poor girl. Could have been a happier ending but then I wonder whether there will be a sequel?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
This is a book that you wont be able to put down. It makes you want to cry for "Sylvia" one minute and then laugh with her the next. Set in London covering the forties, fifties and sixties it brings back so many memories of those times. I have met this lovely lady and she has really turned her life around. Well done Janice and keep up the good work you do for abused children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
Thoughley enjoyed this book. Was sad when it ended I wanted to find out what happened to the baby and how she coped.
I was bought up in Peckham and Camberwell in the 1950s and it was like a trip down memory lane with the way she described what songs they wanted to play and different places she went to. Luckily I had a happy upbringing. An excellent read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99
£1.99
£1.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.