Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories Sell
Having seen this recommended as "One of the top 10 business books" I decided to see what the fuss was about. What makes this book different is that Warrillow has cleverly crafted his vast experience into a very readable story. The underlying premise is that you need to lessen the reliance on your own presence in your business and make it self sustainable without...
Published 9 months ago by Big H

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Unrealistic $10,000 for a logo in the 21st Century!?
This book is very basic - the majority of it is a story about a guy who owns an advertising agency and how he is advised each week to change it from a service company to a product based company by specialising in one area of advertising ... specifically logo design. So the guys puts together a "proprietary" 5 step logo creation process ... which amounts to listing the 5...
Published 9 months ago by S Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 26 Oct 2011
By 
Steven C (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is interesting if you wanna build a business, it helps you setting the right mindset on what of business is easier to sell. This is not a textbook or classic business book. It's more a fictional story of a guy with an advertising company looking into pushing his business further.

Overall the story is well written, interesting and not too long. I only put 4 stars because it's quite centered around the service industry (Advertising agency etc...), and can sometimes miss some more details.

Overall I enjoyed reading it and thanks to the original form of the book I'll probably remember more some ideas than if I read a typical (did I say boring?) business book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for all software startups (and others), 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, must read for all startups and more established companies, very applicable to software companies. Teaches you to focus on what make you different and leave away all distractions that you wrongly think are essential to your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for aspiring entrepreneurs, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple and compelling. Brilliant in concept, told as a story. I read it through in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb - a must read for anyone thinking of selling their business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for helping productise a consulting offering, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A simple, clear and easy to read book which takes you through the journey of how to productise a consulting offering. Covers all the major points in a memorable fashion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite reads, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, this was one of those books I couldn't put down (turn off as is Kindle version) Just about everything in it resonated with me. I learned a lot from this book and am applying the principles on a daily basis to my business that had just too many distractions. Sound advice portrayed in a story format that makes it easy to read and digest the message. Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Unrealistic $10,000 for a logo in the 21st Century!?, 4 Dec 2013
By 
S Clark (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is very basic - the majority of it is a story about a guy who owns an advertising agency and how he is advised each week to change it from a service company to a product based company by specialising in one area of advertising ... specifically logo design. So the guys puts together a "proprietary" 5 step logo creation process ... which amounts to listing the 5 steps of creating a logo - draw it, show it, revise it, show it, colour it. The story goes on to tell the story of a sales team selling "logo design" to 1 company per week per sales person and charging $10,000 a logo. All the figures about the company are based on this - profit, turn over and ultimately how much he sells his fictitious company for.

Each piece of the authors "mentoring advice" unsurprisingly works amazingly well for the books hero! He has the worst staff to start with and by the end has the perfect team - which magically just happens after he fires the bad people. He literally has no sales people at the beginning but is turning over $1.4 million through his own sales - then gets the expert advice to hire some sales people?! Genius!

The $10,000 per logo is so out of touch with reality (try Elance for $100) it makes the entire book seem outdated and unbelievable and any potentially useful information treated with a large degree of skepticism. Specialising can be ok, sure - but the example of a logo creation company - that can more or less be replaced by a small bash script these days - no barriers to entry - every kid with a copy of Photoshop - bad, bad example (maybe time for a rewrite?).

I gave it 3 stars as there are a couple of useful bits - but you have to look really hard for them. This is the first book about selling a company I have read - maybe they are all like this. The writing style is easy enough to read - and the book isn't that long. Without the story, the book could be summed up by 7 or 8 one line tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews