Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bourne Estate.
I'd heard about this film and thought it would be right up my street, but poor reviews and a luke warm reception on release put me off it. I should have know better.

Tobby Kebbel is or of the most underrated actors around. He has been incredible in every role I've seen him in and stolen the show in virtually every film he's been in; as The Veteran he does it...
Published on 3 April 2013 by The Truth

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just ok
I decided to watch this fim based on all the great reviews here but have to say I was left pretty disappointed.
It's been drawn into comparison with Harry Brown which in my opinion is only similar by the council estate. The yobs and their culture are hardly a feature in this film.
There is a good atmosphere and soundtrack but the whole film is mostly uneventful...
Published on 17 Sept. 2011 by Jay79


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bourne Estate., 3 April 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Veteran [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'd heard about this film and thought it would be right up my street, but poor reviews and a luke warm reception on release put me off it. I should have know better.

Tobby Kebbel is or of the most underrated actors around. He has been incredible in every role I've seen him in and stolen the show in virtually every film he's been in; as The Veteran he does it again.

For the first 5 minutes of the film he doesn't utter a word but, perhaps, never so much has been said. The film will draw obvious comparisons with Harry Brown, and in some ways, rightly so - but not in others.

What we have here is more of an espionage flick as opposed to a film based on revenge, and the shadowy world of the spook is blended with life on London's streets quite nicely.

It's a nice idea (although perhaps a little simplistic and clichéd with its talk of conspiracy theories and CIA drug runners) but it's different and does a good job of setting up a tense and interesting film.

It is a little rough around the edges, you will have to work hard to fill it he gaps - but personally, I think that's not bad thing. As one of Hollywood's greatest screenwriters once said, when writing for the screen, come in late and leave early - basically don't spell everything out.

The films a slow burner and tense throughout and the ending won't be to everyone's liking but overall I thought this was a good British film, that for once, didn't have that terrible British Made feel to it which so many of our flicks do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mean streets of London, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
Cole R. Patterson (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, I live in Australia,I have never been to the United Kingdom, but seriously......is London that bloody depressing, run down and dangerous?
I know we all take it for granted that there are the mean streets of New York, we grew up watching it nightly on TV cop shows.
But in the last 10 years films like Shank The Block and Kidulthood along with the spinoffs have painted such a bleak picture of a near post apocalyptic London run by gangs of coffee coloured kids who all say "innit and Blood" to everything.
This movie is more than a gang story but that is always simmering in the background.
A burntout "Parra" comes back from Afghanistan to a desolate present and a depressed economy meaning no jobs.
As usual old pals engage our hero in para military activities within the UK and soon he is tracking a terror cell.
The action is convincing and storyline maintains a fairly even pace, and despite a few negative comments here, I found it all resolved,.. if a little tritely.
But it is not a movie to watch for a fun night, you come away feeling very depressed for the future of London and its inhabitants if this is even partially accurate.
Maybe that is the real terror they were alluding to in the film ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just ok, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
I decided to watch this fim based on all the great reviews here but have to say I was left pretty disappointed.
It's been drawn into comparison with Harry Brown which in my opinion is only similar by the council estate. The yobs and their culture are hardly a feature in this film.
There is a good atmosphere and soundtrack but the whole film is mostly uneventful. There is 2 fights both over in under a minute and the only action sequence though shot well and actually very realistic is over in about 5 and right at the end.
The acting is good throughout but the storyline is confusing and it seems to jump from one an the start to another pretty soon, maybe it just wasn't engaging enough.
I love gritty brit thrillers and I'm afraid this was neither thrilling or terryfing as the cover claims.
Ok if you catch it on tv and nothing else is on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but ultimately unsatisfying, 15 April 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
There are touches of stylistic triumph in here, the locations are excellent and the score is a real treat. Toby Kebbell puts in a fine performance as the tortured veteran of the tale in what is little more than a grim rehash of The Fixer - Series 1 [DVD]and For Queen and Country [DVD]. The surveillance sequences are slick and you really get a sense of Miller and his partner working as a team as they make their way around the streets of London. The action scenes are short lived but they work well alongside a screenplay which starts so well but unravels in the final reel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Ending, 5 May 2013
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
Good acting by Toby Kebbell,but the storyline was weak and confusing,it did not flow and i was left not knowing what was going on.The main action is at the end and the ending ruined the whole film,so overall not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Veteran (Reality Looms), 13 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. D. WALTERS (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
Overall this film covers the reality of what is happening out on our streets today,its not all fiction in this film, reality loooms.
Guns have always been about and now they seem to be a Status Symbol.
A film i think i've seen before aswell,this re-make is a little bit better with the added modern day twists that keep you interested until the End.
Brutal until the end, well made indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taxi driver, updated & remade in London, 23 Jan. 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
Robert Miller (Toby Kebell - Rocknrolla) returns home from the army and Afghanistan to his rundown estate flat. Feral youths roam the stairs armed with tools & attitudes that far surpass their years. Unable to find honest work, he turns to an ex-squad mate for undercover surveillance work, involving him in the world of domestic counter-terrorism. Meanwhile his long-time friend & neighbour Fahad struggles to keep his brother away from the estate gang and is getting himself into deeper & deeper trouble with them. Miller becomes disillusioned with the anti-terrorism work as the lines-blur and troubles at home threaten to spill over, one thing is clear, he's not willing to stand it any longer, something has to give.

The Veteran is a well-filmed affair, credit to Matthew Hope, despite the uninspiring surrounds of Miller's down-in-the-mouth-estate and surrounding streets. Kebell performance is stoic yet driven and the gunplay is so convincing that the police actually turned up to investigate the movie set, despite having given written-permission beforehand!!

Having praised the acting of the main characters, where The Veteran loses a star from me is that the plot is just a bit confused, it tries to have this overall swooping conspiracy arc but doesn't come to a satisfactory end and has no moral. Not that every film needs a moral, it's just this was 98 minutes of hardman firearm pornography that tries to capture an ex-soldiers difficulty of reintegrating into society but just portrays him as psychopathic in the long-run.

Recommended for a quality British action movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment, 28 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
Plot synopsis was intriguing and it starts well with a bleak picture of a soldier returning from the army to a run down estate ruled by a vicious gang. After that plot follows a ridiculous and needlessly complex plot that leaves more unexplained than it reveals. Film seems grittily and violently realistic in the action until it culminates in a totally implausable shootout and a surprise ending that did not answer any of the outstanding issues, did not have any message that I could see, and left me thinking what a waste of an evenings viewing. Really cannot see the point of this film, how ever well acted the main character was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guns, Drugs, Chechnyan Gangsters and the Home Office!, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that has a bit of a split, and I sort of agree with most commentators. It is nearly a very good film, but an overly contrived plot takes away from what could have been a real gem. Its premise is that Bobby (Toby Kebbell of `Rock n' Rolla' fame) has returned from a tour of Afghanistan. He has had enough and opts out of being a soldier; he returns to his South London Estate to discover it is now the playground of gun toting drug gangs.

He is looking for work and one of his ex comrades gets him to meet his brother. This guy is working for Counter Terrorism and thinks he has a good job for Bobby. He has to follow a pair who are terrorists but one is a British Agent Alaya (Adi Bieshi). Bobby is attracted to her and has to make contact after Home Office employee Brian Cox, decides he is good for business. The plot then takes a bit of a nose dive in terms of double plots and twists, that are both unbelievable and probably unnecessary. However, the pace does pick up and we get some very realistic and gritty violence. There is also palpable tension for most of the film; this is one of Director, Mathew Hopes' strengths. It is actually almost uncomfortable at times, and that has to be down to the excellent acting we have from nigh on the entire cast. Toby Kebbell is particularly good and even pulls off the shoe horned love story bit with more than a modicum of realism.

The final part of the story is what most people will want, and that is a good shoot out, but it has been said by some that you will be left a little unsatisfied, I think this was entirely intentional and was not let down. This is a powerful, gritty and well made Brit flick, the plot has issues but overall it deserves a thumbs up, just not brilliant and not quite worth four stars, but I still quite enjoyed it. It runs to 98 Minutes so will not out stay its' welcome. If you like Brit gangsta type films this should be on your to see list, but it is not a reprise of `Rock n' Rolla, so if that is your bag probably best to miss this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brits get the Afghanistan film right, 4 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Veteran [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Afghanistan/Middle Eastern thrillers and dramas. There have been some superb takes on the topic (In the Valley of Elah/Syriana) and some stinkers too (The Lucky Ones/Stop-Loss). The Veteran seems to do what all the better films do, which is mix the topic of Afghanistan with another distinct issue; here, it's street crime, another sub-genre the Brits do well. It's fast, frightening and features a few stand out performances, especially Toby Kebbell as the ex-soldier. Defo one to see if you enjoy crime thrillers with strong and engaging plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Veteran [DVD]
The Veteran [DVD] by Toby Kebbell (DVD - 2011)
£2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews