Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enjoyable
Having read several reviews that said the film wasn't up too much, my wife and I weren't expecting it to be very good, but thought we'd give it a try because of the high quality cast, and we were both very pleasantly surprised! I tend to think that comedies are the hardest films to produce - it isn't easy to have a story, script or acting that produces laughs, but this...
Published 4 months ago by Andy P

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange film
One of those films you watch uncomfortably for most of the time.
Has some funny moments, but not a laugh out loud film.
Published 19 months ago by Mr. James W. Nash


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enjoyable, 6 April 2014
Having read several reviews that said the film wasn't up too much, my wife and I weren't expecting it to be very good, but thought we'd give it a try because of the high quality cast, and we were both very pleasantly surprised! I tend to think that comedies are the hardest films to produce - it isn't easy to have a story, script or acting that produces laughs, but this film did it. It may not have succeeded in giving us belly laughs, but we would definitely recommend the film as one that is very amusing, extremely well acted and well scripted with a quirky story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange film, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James W. Nash (Black Notley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of those films you watch uncomfortably for most of the time.
Has some funny moments, but not a laugh out loud film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed The Spot, 22 Nov 2011
The premise of this movie was quite good, as most of us have had days at work when we have been taken to the "attitude clinic" or a run in with the manager and feel like murdering them! The movie had the potential to be a much darker version of "Office Space" but unfortunately failed to deliver.

Part of the problem is the characterisation. Of the bosses, only Kevin Spacey's "bullyboy" manager really hit true. Jennifer Aniston's cougar act as a female dentist preying on male staff and customers alike was just too OTT, as was Colin Farrell's Les Grossman alike. The most irritating part was however Charlie Day's hyper and chatty dental assistant, he just ruined the film for me. It became apparent fairly early on that the bulk of the movie was going to be all talk, with very little action or progression towards actually bumping off the antagonists.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the movie is quite crude in places. I'm no prude but it seemed to me whenever the plot was sagging a bit, they gave Jennifer Anniston a few dirty lines or F-bombs to titillate male viewers used to seeing her in more demure roles.

On reflection it was probably worth a rental but not a permanent place in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Any film with Kevin Spacey is set to be pretty amazing! He clearly was having the time of ..., 8 Aug 2014
Any film with Kevin Spacey is set to be pretty amazing! He clearly was having the time of his life filming this as he is able to be as outrageous as he wants! Jason Bateman was also great fun to watch with some fantastic line delivery! The film isn't all too clever but it doesn't need to be. It's extremely funny in places and has a self referencing vibe throughout. The ending raps things up nicely, removing the problems and small potential plot holes that may not have been addressed otherwise. If you want a funny film, with some great characters to sit back and not think about, this film does just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its not what they're raving about., 9 July 2013
This review is from: Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It's an okay film. Not the best I've seen and I certainly wouldn't give it 5 stars as a lot of people have but maybe that's just my preference. It had a few good laughs but mostly it wasn't very funny. All in all it's watchable. You see Jennifer Aniston in a different role normally she plays romcom type films and she has come away from that aspect of her career in this film. The casting is good but I wasn't fond of the story line. That's my opinion any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Wasted Opportunity, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I can't shake the feeling that this film could have been properly hilarious and am still slightly irritated that it was as mediocre as it turned out to be.

The story goes, three mates are suffering at work due to the horrendous bosses that they work under. Having had enough, they decide to take matters into their own hands and have them 'bumped off' with hilarious results...apparently.

As mentioned before, this film could have been great if only the writers had put a bit more thought into it. The story feels lazy and by the numbers. Whilst some characters are pretty entertaining (ie Spacey's psycho and Farrel's sleazebag), others felt like filler. Aniston was more cringe worthy than funny, relying on simple smut rather than actual humour. It's like the writer has spent his life fantasising about her and thought it was a great opportunity to vent his deviancy all in the name of comedy.

As for the three main characters played by Bateman, Sudeikis and Day, they have moments of brilliance but all too often lapse into the standard gross out/shock tactics that seem to be the American comedy standard at the moment. I mean as soon as one of them started wiping his a*se with his bosses toothbrush I thought the script was grasping at straws a bit.

Also, why have they cast an oscar winning actor like Foxx in a part where he not only isn't funny, but isn't even interesting?

I know the film isn't meant to be high brow or anything and I wasn't expecting it to be, but why can't comedy writers just think a bit more about what might get a belly laugh rather than a smirk? As I said, lazy and by the numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity!, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A great pity as this had potential but was ruined by bad ideas to grab attention . Really could have been cleverly funny instead of crude and filled with bad language to make up for lack of proper humorous dialogue. Truly dreadful! (Only cost 3 so won`t mind disposing of it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The basic premise of the film is good and the horrible bosses are amusing stereotypes. There's some good moments, and Jennifer Anniston plays a different role to normal. However, there's an odd moment near the end when the heroes are about to be arrested and could evade it by landing one of their three enemies in the sticky stuff, but inexplicably they don't. The excessive use of bad language is pretty boring after a while and suggests the scriptwriters' limited vocabulary. Buy a theasaurus, chaps! Not too many laughs for a comesy either. Overall a reasonable way to pass the time but not brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy's funniest, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely hilarious, smart quick and witty humour, also a must for Jennifer Aniston fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just as funny second time round, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I watched this in the cinema and almost wet myself laughing, so had to buy a copy. It is worth watching not least because Jennifer Aniston is stupendous as a nymphomaniac dentist. Her best role to date in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011]
Horrible Bosses [DVD] [2011] by Jason Bateman (DVD - 2011)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews