Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Classic Comedy To Rival The Funniest Films Of Our Time'
The reason I have given this film the full 5 stars here is simply because it is so awesomely ridiculous that far from being a horror it actually becomes a laugh out loud comedy! All of the old horror movie teen- slasher cliche's are here and whats so great about this film is that the characters actually spend time talking about 'old horror movie cliches' themselves as...
Published 8 months ago by Antony May

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEST SEQUEL SO F4R - BUT STILL F4R FROM BEING GRE4T!
REVIEWED VERSION: 2011 EiV UK DVD

Director: Wes Craven

Cast: Neve Campbell, David Arquette, Courteney Cox, Marley Shelton, Anthony Anderson, Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere, Aimee Teegarden, Anna Paquin

SYNOPSIS

In the wake of the 15th Anniversary of the notorious original Woodsboro murders (never mind the higher bodycount in...
Published 1 month ago by Caligula II.


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Classic Comedy To Rival The Funniest Films Of Our Time', 27 Mar 2014
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The reason I have given this film the full 5 stars here is simply because it is so awesomely ridiculous that far from being a horror it actually becomes a laugh out loud comedy! All of the old horror movie teen- slasher cliche's are here and whats so great about this film is that the characters actually spend time talking about 'old horror movie cliches' themselves as part of the plot!

With more murders, blood, gore and predictability than the holiday season in Midsomer, Scream 4 is perhaps the ultimate piss take of the horror movie genre and as such is essential viewing. In fact, I would go as far as to say that if you really tried to make a movie as bad as this on purpose you would be hard pushed. This is right up there with the classic 'Wacko' where the father is perpetually 'mowing the lawn' while spying on his teen daughter getting dressed (half way up a ladder!) and you will rejoice each slashing as the characters in the film are SOOO stupid ( the scene where Sydney goes out onto the patio in pitch darkness to untwist a wind chime that has become tangled when most of her friends have been butchered is a classic!) that they deserve what they get 100%.

Yes folks, Scream4 is so excrutiatingly awful that it is genius! So as long as you don't want to genuinely watch a horror/scarey film you should buy it and enjoy the butchery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a hoot!, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Structured in a similar fashion to the first 3 Scream films, but much smarter, and makes full use of the "new world" we live in - of smart phones; social networks; and teens who are blasé about risks and danger as they have become inured to the real horror that exists around them. Lots of in-jokes about horror films; the Scream films themselves; various horror directors (notice the flash Robert rodriguez??) and a delight to watch as the veterans of the first 3 films are put through their paces once more. Arquette hasn't become any smarter and is now the sherriff; a "monica from friends" Courtney Cox " whose features may have been adjusted or bo-toxed? and the great Neve Campbell who is clearly a natural successor to "Ripley" of the "Alien" movies (talking of which why not cast her as such??)
But some cameos do not come off well, largely because the actors involved are so far beyond high school teens- unless this is done purposely as part of the joke???I wonder.... Anyway Kirsten Bell can't pass anymore and Hayden Panettiere, while vertically challenged is possibly twice the age being portrayed; Heather Graham looks as innocent as ever. But the film is quick moving, and Wes Craven still understands how to make a "scary movie" (another in joke).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprisingly Good Slasher, 22 Nov 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Scream 4 (DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Region: 2
Aspect Ratio: 2.35 : 1
Audio: 5.1 Dolby Digital
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Eiv
Running Time: 111 minutes

Special Features.
None

Cast.
Neve Campbell as Sidney Prescott
David Arquette as Dewey Riley
Courteney Cox as Gale Weathers
Emma Roberts as Jill Roberts
Hayden Panettiere as Kirby Reed
Brittany Robertson as Marnie Cooper
Rory Culkin as Charlie Walker
Marley Shelton as Judy Hicks
Lucy Hale as Sherrie
Erik Knudsen as Robbie Mercer
Alison Brie as Rebecca Walters
Aimee Teegarden as Jenny Randall
Marielle Jaffe as Olivia Morris
Nico Tortorella as Trevor Sheldon
Anna Paquin as Rachel
Kristen Bell as Chloe
Anthony Anderson as Perkins
Adam Brody as Hoss
Mary McDonnell as Kate Roberts
Roger L. Jackson as Ghostface (voice)
Nancy O'Dell as Reporter
Shenae Grimes as Trudie

Trivia.
1)With four installments, this landmarks the Scream franchise as being one of the only horror franchises to have its main characters return for all its sequels.
2)Wes Craven stated he was not going to return as director unless the script was as good as the first Scream (1996).
3)For the first time in the series, a CGI-added knife was used because Wes Craven wanted to avoid using prop knives that are rubber, cardboard or collapsible.
4)The first Scream movie not to include Jamie Kennedy (as Randy Meeks), not feature or even mention Cotton Weary, & not include a main love interest for Sidney.
5)The only horror movie franchise with an (R) rating to not feature any nudity.
6)Jenna Coleman auditioned for the role of Olivia Morris.
7)Body Count: 15.
8)The fourth installment brings the total number of killers throughout the series up to seven.

What's The Story.
Sidney Prescott, now the author of a self-help book, returns home to Woodsboro on the last stop of her book tour, there she reconnects with Sheriff Dewey & Gale Weathers, who are now married, as well as her cousin Jill & her Aunt Kate.

Unfortunately Sidney’s appearance also brings about the return of Ghost Face, putting Sidney, Gale, & Dewey, along with Jill, her friends, & the whole town of Woodsboro in danger of another bloody killing spree.

Timelord Thoughts.
Scream 4 is a surprisingly entertaining movie that is closer in tone to the original movie that has some great jump scare moments & keeps the continuity of the original cast while introducing some fresher new faces into the mix & most importantly the kills have become gorier & a little more bloodier despite the films 15 rating & I would say this is the most brutal of the franchise.

Director Wes Craven seems to have his mojo back & has breathed new blood into this movie that feels sharper & moves at a better pace than Scream 2 & 3 plus it restores the tense atmosphere of the original & builds up the mystery & intrigue throughout the entire movie leading to a very good conclusion.

Kevin Williamson is back of scriptwriting duties & the movie is all the better for it & despite a few additional rewrites by Ethan Krueger, theres a freshness to this movie & after the disappointing Scream 3 this is a huge return to form.

Neve Campbell returns as Sidney Prescott & gives a solid believable performance who is trying to protect her cousin Jill Roberts from having to endure the vicious murders of the Ghost Face killer who has stalked her in various incarnations throughout this saga & Campbell is the best she's been in the role since the original.

David Arquette returns as Dewey Riley as does Courtney Cox as Gale Weathers who has since married Dewey & both give good performances here if a little underwritten, while newcomers Emma Roberts gives a truly stand out understated performance as Sidneys cousin Jill Roberts while (Heroes) actress Hayden Panettiere & Rory Culkin both give solid performances as man eater Kirby Reed & film geek student Charlie Walker.

The only quibble I had with Scream 4 was the movies opening sequence that went on far to long with to many fake openings & has a feel of "I wonder how many cameos can we get in this opening sequence" instead of getting down to the main focus of the action.

The DVD is sadly a bare bones release while the Blu-ray edition bags all the extra bonus material which feels like Eiv are treating DVD buyers as second rate purchasers.

This is a entertaining horror movie that keeps in tone with the franchises traditional elements but moves the continuing story arc of the Scream saga forward & adds a whole load of new twists & turns with the final reveal of the killer being a good one & is probably the best film to now end this horror franchise on.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEST SEQUEL SO F4R - BUT STILL F4R FROM BEING GRE4T!, 16 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
REVIEWED VERSION: 2011 EiV UK DVD

Director: Wes Craven

Cast: Neve Campbell, David Arquette, Courteney Cox, Marley Shelton, Anthony Anderson, Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere, Aimee Teegarden, Anna Paquin

SYNOPSIS

In the wake of the 15th Anniversary of the notorious original Woodsboro murders (never mind the higher bodycount in SCREAM 2 or what happened in SCREAM 3...) Sidney Prescott (Neve Campbell) returns to promote her book (everybody's an author now?). Unfortunately for her Ghostface returns.

THE PROS & CONS

The original SCREAM still remains the best part of the franchise, SCREAM 4 is not going to change that, but part 4 is definitely an improvement over SCREAM 2 and a huge improvement over the abysmal part 3.
Kevin Williamson is back, too, as the script writer. It still is a weak script, as it is only an unoriginal rehash of the previous movies. There clearly was much more potential here, after so many years I was expecting something more original like SCREAM 1. He's made good on one issue of the previous sequels, though: the characters are better. Mostly gone are the forgettable, expendable canon fodder characters of SCREAM 2 & 3, the new characters Jill Roberts (Emma Roberts) and Kirby Reed (Hayden Panettiere) are just well-written and do their acting parts surprisingly well, even managing to sometimes steal the show. Campbell's performance is on top as usual and her character has gotten tougher - I liked that. I also liked the addition of Marley Shelton as Deputy Judy Hicks and Anthony Anderson as Deputy Perkins, David Arquette is back as Sheriff Dewey Riley and so is Courteney Cox good performances here.
SCREAM 4 has more blood and gore than the previous entries, I felt (the whole franchise isn't overly violent), some nice and bloody stabbings, but not too bloody or brutal (the 15 Certificate is appropriate).
All in all SCREAM 4 is the best sequel, but still not a great movie. It lacks originality - this could have been avoided with a great script like Williamson penned down for SCREAM 1. The franchise should end here, though.

DVD DETAILS

Feature running time: 106:14 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 / Non-Anamorphic
Audio: English 5.1
Subtitles: English HoH
Extras: Theatrical Trailer (2:19) Gee, thanks EiV! Wouldn't know what I would have done without that!
Region: 2 / PAL (locked)

Picture quality: 4/5
Audio quality: 4/5
Extras: 1/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Y'know Rebecca it doesn't sound like you're in a hospital... (I didn't purchase Scream 4 from amazon), 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: SCRE4M [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After the genuinely epic third film I didn't think that they could top that one for sheer awesomeness. Boy was I wrong. From the amazing trick opener(s) right though to the fantastic closing battle this film improves on what went before it. Neve Campbell is as lovely and kick ass as ever. The action set pieces are genuinely dazzling. I was robbed of the surprise re the killers identity reveal due to imdb users but that didn't seem to make the darnedest bit of difference to my enjoyment at all. To top it all off you've got the gorgeous and handsome Adam Brody and he's so fine. One particular scene is exceptionally brutal and savage but that's what the film is meant to be about. If you needed any further incentive to experience one of the finest horror comedy slasher movies of all time? Heather Graham reprises her role from Scream 2. A supremely special sequel. Recommended for anyone who enjoys a good romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EAT MY LEMON CAKES, 18 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The movie starts out cleverly as a movie within a movie, one that pokes fun at slasher movies. They ask, "What is your favorite Scary Movie?" I couldn't help but think about "Scary Movie" which admittedly I enjoy more than these Scream movies. After a decade has gone by we are reunited with the surviving cast to give us another slasher film, one where Courtney Cox is the only woman alive who can fight off a man in a mask with a knife. The whodunit element appears weak as the film only gives us two real suspects. But as it turns out, it is not the obvious. Instead we get an ending with a somewhat unexpected twist. Bravo on the script and to the actors. Solid 4 stars.

No sex. No nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valley of the Painted Stepford Teens., 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The latest victims of this instalment are looking more and more like mannequin clones.What is Hollywoods obsession with ageless actresses that have more layers of makeup than layers of acting abilities?Even Courtney Cox was looking like an anorexic drag queen.
However this film still delivers what I enjoy from this series-humour,twists,good kills and great set ups!Just a shame that the rest of this proposed trilogy never happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to Woodsboro! New Decade. New Rules., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I must say that I was not holding out much hope for this chapter in the series after the rather Luke warm Scream 3. It's more of the same but with a different slant on the formula which works well with a good steady dose of tension and black comedy. I would probably say this is my second favourite of the franchise after Scream 2. Well worth a look. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's your favourite scary movie?, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scream 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Mine's not Scream 4, sadly.

As a horror movie fan, I enjoyed the Scream Trilogy a lot, particularly enjoying the self aware, self referencing dialogue which made them stand out from other films in the teen slasher genre.

My opinion is that they should have left it as a trilogy. There is nothing really bad about Scream 4, it is quite an enjoyable film for one watch, but despite the boast of new rules, I did not feel that it offered anything new to the series. It was to me, just not different enough and all the new rules are, is a load of references to the internet, social networks and more up to date horror movies.

That said, it was quite a fun watch, the acting was decent and the story was not too bad, having watched all the others it was perhaps a bit predictable. I still prefer the original trilogy, maybe it's just my age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 24 Sep 2013
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SCRE4M [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love scream, so was excited when I saw this had come out. However I was sceptical about it, thinking it would be a cheap cash in, Sydney is now in her early thirties so there is a new set of Woodsboro teenagers, including Sydney's cousin Jill.
Gail weathers and Dewey are also back as Ghost face once again terrorises the peaceful town of Woodsboro. This time there is an online- element and heavy use of cell phones as scream truly enters the digital age. I was left guessing right until the end who the killers were and I was not disappointed with the plot and pacing. I now hope there will be a scream 5 if it can be made to the same quality standards as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SCRE4M [Blu-ray]
SCRE4M [Blu-ray] by Wes Craven (Blu-ray - 2011)
£2.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews