Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacked some key benefits of the novel it's based on
This is a review of the Blu-Ray version.

Mickey Haller, a creation of high-profile novelist Michael Connelly, is a Los Angeles defence attorney who instead of having an office works out of an '87 Lincoln Towncar. The plot central to this film is his defence of a wealthy Beverly Hills property developer accused of attempted rape and violent assault - and...
Published on 10 Nov 2011 by OEJ

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LA Law
Not being a big fan of Matthew McConaughey I wasn't sure whether this 'lawyer with a moral dilemma' tale would be for me. In fact it turned out pretty OK on the whole.

It's an interesting enough story with a few twists and turns and the cast do the dutiful even if they are all a bit stereotypical. The court room scenes were not as frequent or as detailed as I...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by Jones the Film


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacked some key benefits of the novel it's based on, 10 Nov 2011
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a review of the Blu-Ray version.

Mickey Haller, a creation of high-profile novelist Michael Connelly, is a Los Angeles defence attorney who instead of having an office works out of an '87 Lincoln Towncar. The plot central to this film is his defence of a wealthy Beverly Hills property developer accused of attempted rape and violent assault - and possibly even more serious crimes from the past. The film examines the increasingly acrimonious relationship between defence attorney and defendant, the problems created by attorney-client privilege, and quite simply the conscience of a lawyer defending a man who grows more dislikable as the trial progresses.

As a film, it's pretty good with few obvious flaws. The acting is of a high standard, the script is sharp and the story is interesting. I was far from sure that Matthew McConaughey was the right choice before seeing this film, but within five minutes I had changed my mind and now feel that he did an excellent job. For large sections of the film as a whole, however, it comes across as more of a pilot for a TV series rather than a cinematic treat, this I would put down to rather ordinary cinematography and in particular some weak editing. I couldn't call it a must-see classic by any stretch, because it's bordering on the forgettable and offers very little in terms of truly new and original courtroom drama. In a way, the overall style and substance looks as old as Haller's Lincoln.

And that's disappointing because I read the book on which it is (heavily) based and although that was several years ago, I clearly remember being far more impressed with that than I was with this film, and never feeling that it was out of date at all. In the book, the suspect was more difficult to pin down as to his guilt or innocence, whereas in the film there was rarely any doubt at all, which removed a key element of suspense. In the film the prosecuting attorney comes over as weak and a complete mismatch for Haller; in the book it was far more gladiatorial, Haller having to fight much harder and this made for some of the best entertainment in the written product. It's fair to mention this difference because a large number of people seeing this film will be familiar with the book, or at least the character of Mickey Haller as there have been four novels so far and more on the way. For those familiar with the original novel, then, the film will be regarded as 'satisfactory' but lacking some of the fireworks of Connelly's written creation, not least in terms of courtroom dynamics.

There are some useful and interesting extras on the BD, including some deleted scenes, interviews with all the main characters and producers, and perhaps best of all an extended piece by Michael Connelly himself. His frustrations with his only other conversion to the big-screen (Blood Work) have been well documented, and reading between the lines I get the impression that while he's much happier with The Lincoln Lawyer as a film, probably because he had a considerable amount of influence in the screenplay, he's still a hard man to please. Sub-titles English only. I could find few benefits in either visual or audio terms for the high-definition Blu-Ray, and with hindsight I would definitely choose the standard-def.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in its genre, 14 May 2013
Is this a deep, thought provoking, hard hitting court room drama? No, instead it is fun, thrilling, engaging, gripping, exciting and really cool movie. What that means is that the story has some plot holes, it is a little contrived and if it was real the ethics would be questionable. However, this film doesn't pretend to be these things as it knows where its strengths lie. McConaughey is brilliant and this is the start of his career renascence which he would later follow up with Killer Joe, Bernie and Mud. He is cool and fun and sexy making the sleaziness of a lawyer come across more as charming and his smile is infectious. When it comes time for the more dramatic moments when his character is put under pressure and becomes desperate he delivers there too. Rest of the cast also excellent with Willaim H Macy, Marisa Tomei and Ryan Phillipe all on top form. It is filmed in a style that reflects LA, making the scenes feel hot, chaotic and passionate. The soundtrack is excellent with some classic Soul tracks such as Marlena Shaws California Soul creating a very slick and cool vibe to the movie. It may not be deep and if you over-think it it's a bit silly but as you are watching it you are swept up in a very cool and entertaining movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What some lawyers get up to is plain criminal, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Aidan J. McQuade (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] (DVD)
Matthew McConnaghey plays a defense lawyer with an array of shady clients amongst the criminal fraternity of Los Angeles. However his life gets complicated when he is hired to defend a rich kid accused of rape.

McConnaghey I generally find an unappealing actor, someone who's career is predominantly marked by a series of forgettable films through which he sleep walks. However in this film he actually acts, and acts well, presenting a credible portrayal of a likeable man who maintains his decency, and many of his principles, in spite of making a career defending the guilty. His scenes with Marissa Tomei and William H Macy are beautifully played conveying the depth of feeling and history amongst the characters. Ryan Phillippe, a very underrated actor in my opinion, as the client, displays once more his range and talent as a man who may, or may not, be guilty.

The plot is satisfingly twisty while retaining its intelligiblity. Overall the movie is a professionally done, highly entertaining piece of work, composed of good writing, good acting and unfussy direction, the combination of which are disappointingly rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable thriller to watch, 19 July 2011
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] (DVD)
The Lincoln Lawyer is based on the best-selling novel by Michael Connelly. I am a huge fan of the author and glad one of his latest novels has made it to the big screen, since Bloodwork debuted in 2002. It is an enjoyable legal thriller to watch. Matthew McConaughey's big break finally lands, as he fits the role of the main character as defence attorney Mickey Haller to perfection. The movie come across as charming and stylist, but never at one point sacrifices substance. The role of attorney suited for the under-rated actor. Many would label the actor as an under-achiever in Hollywood. The supporting acting is credible.

The plot features a defence attorney Mickey Haller. He roams around LA in a car to search for clients and striking deals in a distinctive style. The shots in the car are professionally done. A new case finally lands, as a bitter and unlikeable rich boy is accused of brutally beating an escort. Can the straight talking Haller win the case? The lawyer thinks the lad is innocent, as there is lack of evidence and unreliability of witness accounts. However there is another twist linked with a previous case as evidence against the lad is overwhelming. The lawyer digs deeper in a previous case and realises something suspicious is happening. Due to confidential reasons, he cannot discuss the case. The rich boy reflects his true colours and the situation becomes tricky and difficult for the lawyer. Drama starts to build up at a pivotal point and we observe a change in client-attorney relationship. It is an excellent portrayal of a court-room scenario.

The plot is gripping and nail biting. The momentum gradually builds as the scenes in the atmopsheric courtroom reach a thrilling climax. Characterisation is well sketched, as we learn a great deal about each character. There are startling contrasts. Haller comes across a strong character and I found it really easy to connect to the character. I find his character likeable and always standing out for strong principles. There is a personal touch to the character, as we observe Mickey as a competent lawyer and as a family person. Rich boy reveals a dark and ugly side to his character, as unfolded in the film.

The Lincoln Lawyer is an enjoyable and very watchable thriller. The film sustained my interest for long periods, as it is filled with a few twist and turns touches. The element of surprise strongly marks it presence. It is a well-written screenplay, filled with strong characters and is directed well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LA Law, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] (DVD)
Not being a big fan of Matthew McConaughey I wasn't sure whether this 'lawyer with a moral dilemma' tale would be for me. In fact it turned out pretty OK on the whole.

It's an interesting enough story with a few twists and turns and the cast do the dutiful even if they are all a bit stereotypical. The court room scenes were not as frequent or as detailed as I would have liked, but as a legal thriller à la John Grisham it passes away an evening quite nicely.

Unfortunately there's not much more I can say about it, apart from detailing the plot and what would be the point of that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better call Matt!, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Blu-ray)
‘The Lincoln Lawyer’ seems to have slipped by a lot of people. Yes, Mathew McConaughey’s star may have waned a little in the last few years, leaving no real big names involved in the production (and, fans of Breaking Bad may be disappointed at how little Bryan Cranston contributes!), but don’t let lack of ‘star power’ put you off.

It’s quite a clever little piece. I’m tempted to call it a ‘thriller,’ yet there weren’t that many (what you might call) ‘thrills’ in the story. As the title hints, it’s about a lawyer, therefore expect much of the film to take place inside a courtroom. If courtroom dramas aren’t really your sort of thing then you’re probably best to avoid this all together.

Mathew McConaughey plays a slick lawyer who thinks he’s seen (and possibly represented) them all, until a wealthy client comes along with a ‘fool proof’ way of beating a pretty open and shut murder charge. If this didn’t invoke a crisis of faith in our titular lawyer then he soon finds himself a little more intertwined with the whole proceeding than he would like, leaving his family and freedom at stake.

Perhaps one option would have been to go on some sort of ‘Kill Bill-style’ murderous rampage of revenge and blast everyone who’s trying to do him wrong into next week. However, Matt decides the only way out of this is to outthink his opponents, therefore, as I mentioned, there’s little action and more plot twists and deceptions to follow.

Like I said, if you’re into clever courtroom dramas then you’ll like this. If you’re into high-octane thrill-rides then this isn’t for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'MAY WELL BE A 'CRIME' TO MISS THIS ONE', 28 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Mick Haller' (Mathew McConaughey) a 'L.A' lawyer is a man with a growing reputation in regards to criminal courtroom success.
He is approached by a wealthy family to defend their son who has been accused of beating up a prostitute.
Earlier 'Mick' had persuaded a client to pleed guilty to a murder charge to reduce the sentence handed out.
During his defence of the 'rich-kid' 'Mick' learns that his client had allmost certainly been resposible for the killing his earlier client had been jailed for.
A close friend and collegue is murdered during the current trial, 'M ick' suspects the rich-kid is also responsible for this, however 'the lawyer will remain professional in his defence of his client.
This is a good and solid movie in which 'Mattew McConaughey excells..........worth adding to your collection, or at least a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic and gripping lawyer film with some great performances by Matthew McConaughey and Ryan Phillipe. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dvd review, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed watching the dvd, however I felt it detracted slightly from the book, which I have to say I prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick, 21 Mar 2012
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] (DVD)
The Lincoln Lawyer is a fast paced well plotted and well acted legal thriller. It starts off following a lawyer who is the stereotypical flash harry who is too good at his job for his own good. He spends his time finding loop holes and getting the more colourful characters back on the streets. He claims he is just folowing the law, but his reputation amongst certain people would suggest otherwise.

Its not until a young wealthy man calls for his aid that the tables start to turn. He realises he has been pulled into a dangerous game and the stakes are high.

This is where the film really kicks up a gear. Suddenly things start to spiral out of control and parts of his clients story do not add up. His family life is under threat and he is losing control. The story is tight and all the actors play their parts well. Although if the story is fairly well worn it is handled with skill and the payoff at the end is satisfying enough for you to walk away with a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD]
The Lincoln Lawyer [DVD] by Brad Furman (DVD - 2011)
2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews