Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOREVER NEW CHALLENGES + MUCH SEX AND GORE
Enter the witches! Their aim is to rid Earth of all its vampires, starting with those at Louisiana's Bon Temps. Other obstacles to a quiet life include shapeshifters, werewolves, werepanthers, fairies, zombies, a ghost or two, and a sheriff on drugs. As ever, Sookie Stackhouse has her plate full, even when not serving at Sam's bar....

Dripping in atmosphere,...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Too expensive
Published 6 months ago by D.Dimmick


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOREVER NEW CHALLENGES + MUCH SEX AND GORE, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Enter the witches! Their aim is to rid Earth of all its vampires, starting with those at Louisiana's Bon Temps. Other obstacles to a quiet life include shapeshifters, werewolves, werepanthers, fairies, zombies, a ghost or two, and a sheriff on drugs. As ever, Sookie Stackhouse has her plate full, even when not serving at Sam's bar....

Dripping in atmosphere, full of sex and gore, with special effects in abundance, this season turns up the pressure, forever wrongfooting viewers and straining at the limits of acceptability.

Fans would not have it otherwise. They need not worry either if they find much so amusing - this no indication of a seriously warped mind. Far from it. A bonus reveals that those responsible for the show are out to have fun: no matter how great the horror, humour is not far away. (Examples? "You just killed my fairy godmother!" "Sorry." Then there is Jason's "I'm never going to forgive myself if I bite your head off.")

The usual strong cast is joined by Fiona Shaw thoroughly enjoying herself as the head witch, she initially so meek but soon very scary. Sookie herself remains a major reason to watch - she remarkably serene, considering. Bill is now King. Eric is to become as never before - bewitched, bothered and bewildered. Theirs is a love triangle that evolves most sizzlingly, especially in a scene hailed as the one viewers have most eagerly awaited. Again there is good cause for delight that Lafayette is still around. (He was killed off very early in the books.) Here he has challenging storylines.

All is set for a blood-gushing climax, followed by cliff hangers to ensure an instant rush for next season's box set. Box sets are certainly the best way to enjoy the series. Bonuses include six commentaries, 12 "Inside Episode" features (helpful for those confused, which I often was), an interesting feature about post-production - how everything is made so impressive on the screen.

"Guilty Pleasure" has become such a cliche, but for so many "True Blood" is exactly that. Long may those fangs click in and out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good, but not a patch on Season 3, 21 May 2012
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I ummed and erred about whether to give this 3 or 4 stars, and plumped for 4 given how much I enjoyed the finale.

This season definitely has its ups and downs. As previous reviewers noted, the fairy / faerie / whatever stuff is pretty cringeworthy, although luckily there's not that much of it. More off-putting for me was the whole werepanther bit. Seriously over Hotshot, but at least that doesn't last all season either. Since the second season (and especially in the third season) True Blood has struggled to find compelling storylines for all its many characters simultaneously, and this becomes most apparent in S4. Much as I liked Arlene and Terry, and their demon baby story is kinda fun in a campy sort of way, there's a bit too much of them by the end, and the amount of time dedicated to less interesting characters (Andy Bellfleur, anyone?) just serves to detract from the overall pace of the show. And once again Tara spends the second half of the season aimlessly wandering about in other people's plotlines, which is a damn shame.

ANYWAY, on to the positives. There are some good storylines this year, principally Eric's amnesia and relationship with Sookie. Plus Bill has a new position of authority, and an accompanying personality change and businessman-like hairdo. Jess and Hoyt's relationship also gets plenty of screentime, and Pam gets some fabulous lines. Jesus and Lafayette also feature heavily, which is always a good thing. Fiona Shaw is a delight, although her Marnie isn't half the baddie Russell Edgington was, and I will admit I was hoping he might make an appearance this season (though sadly not).

The first half of the season is a bit hit and miss, and I'd probably only give it 3 stars. I actually stopped watching about half-way through and only resumed several months later. The last half of the season, however, is 4 approaching 5 stars, with the finale in particular setting up a LOT of exciting potential plot threads for the next season. Plus Christopher Meloni is set to star next season, which can only be a good thing. Bring on S5!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the first 10 minutes ....., 1 May 2012
By 
E. Godden (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The first 10 minutes are beyond bad... So awful. I feared the worst when I watched it. Season 3 ended badly IMO so I was thinking season 4 was going the same way. Oh how wrong I was. Season 4 is amazing. Lafayette and Jesus are the best by far. Amnesiac Eric is positively dreamy. The season finale left me a state of shock... I was virtually catatonic for the whole day!! So much happened, so many things to look forward too. Cant wait for season 5.... Waiting SUCKS.....V''''V
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler alert. Roll on next year.., 28 May 2012
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A weak start to Season 4 did make my heart sink a bit and to begin with it seemed that the stories didn't join up with the end of Season 3. However, give it a chance, by the end of episode 3 things have really kicked off and all the major characters have reassembled - this time to fight a coven of witches led by Marnie (Fiona Shaw) who has the power to destroy all the vampires.

At times, I must admit, I had some sympathy for the witches. Bill, for 2/3 of this series, appears to be totally amoral and have taken over from Eric the role of ruthless b****d. You can ascribe his motives according to whichever side of the Bill/Eric debate you belong. The delightful Eric (Alexander Skarsgaard) gets a lot more screen time this season together with his sidekick Pam, which is always a good thing, but as he is under a spell which makes him "nice", I missed his sardonic commentary. And the gorgeous Alcide reappears as a third (fourth if you include Sam) suitor for Sookie, a nice werewolf with whom she can have a family appears normal compared to Bill and Eric!

I thought that the plots were generally more interesting this season, although I'd like to see one involving Tara that isn't mainly angst and wandering about. The TV series seems to have totally diverged from the books now, especially with the Hotshot story line, but that's not necessarily a bad thing as werepanthers do tend to raise a disbelieving smile - excellently exploited in Sookie's reaction to Jason's concern that he might be turning into one. As with the fairies in the last series, her disbelieving dismissal is refreshing and gets us over the awkward moment where the viewer is also going "that's a bit daft".

Sam's character is somewhat rehabilitated this season, which is a relief as the story needs at least one sympathetic character to act as a moral compass. Hoyt doesn't have a central enough role to do so, but I love his character and the development of his and Jessica's relationship was beautifully acted and as believable as it can get when one of the couple is a vampire. This year's stand out performance was Jessica, who shines.

I think now that we tend to take the superb acting for granted, but the entire cast coped gamely with what was thrown at them this season. Any deficiencies (and I'm thinking of the scene where the vampires are trying to avoid the protective forcefield round the Wiccan shop here) were due to lack of CGI budget rather than acting ability.

Alan Ball seems to be going for the Russell T Davies method of cramming so much into a series that your head spins trying to keep track of it all. "Was that a kitchen sink I saw in the background"? but it works better in this season than it did in the last. The conclusion was mostly satisfying this time, but had enough intriguing possibilities to keep me impatient for the next Season.

Overall, I think this was the best season since the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Too expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Great series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Funny, fast paced and sexy!! What more could you want with a glass of wine and some chocolate?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun. 2014
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
brilliant series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what i was looking for, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't say I felt drained after watching :) If you've gone through 1 2 & 3 keep on going. And I always recommend blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fangtastic, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
By far my favourite season out of the whole series, glad it matched the main story line in the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012]
True Blood - Season 4 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] by Anna Paquin (DVD - 2012)
£15.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews