Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish....but NOT a Classic !
Sylvia Kristel smoulders in this adaptation of the classic D.H.Lawrence novel, and as with the "Emmanuelle" films, she brings a sophisticated class, and sensual intensity to the sexual core of the storyline. Beautiful countryside, a strong cast, rich and lush settings, and burning passion !! The stunning Sylvia Kristel was an unusual, but mostly successful, choice for...
Published on 7 Feb 2008 by Slow-foxy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
I have to say this has to be one of the worst films I have ever seen, the acting was extremely wooden and stilted and about as raunchy as a slug. Don't bother wasting your hard earned cash on this version of Lady Chatterly's Lover.
Published on 18 Aug 2012 by JennyWilson83


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish....but NOT a Classic !, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sylvia Kristel smoulders in this adaptation of the classic D.H.Lawrence novel, and as with the "Emmanuelle" films, she brings a sophisticated class, and sensual intensity to the sexual core of the storyline. Beautiful countryside, a strong cast, rich and lush settings, and burning passion !! The stunning Sylvia Kristel was an unusual, but mostly successful, choice for the role in this film, (which can be enjoyed on many levels).
If you take the film for what it is....well played "adult" entertainment, and do not look for anything too serious, the movie is there to be enjoyed ! There have been many other more "worthy" TV/Film versions of this great novel, if that is what you are looking for !
The film settings do have an authentic feel to them, and the whole tone of the movie is quite "dark", and fairly respectful to this outstanding English author. In my opinion it does not appear overly "sensational", and the strong sexual nature of this classic is handled quite tastefully and with the necessary care. It is a fairly traditional telling of the story, but look elsewhere if you are searching for a version that really does justice to D.H.Lawrence`s great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful rendition of the D.H. Lawrence classic, 5 Jan 2001
By 
Chester Beeput "cjbeeps" (Trinidad & Tobago) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sylvia Kristel is excellent as Constance Chatterley, the frustrated wife of a battle-scarred aristocrat. Her sensual nature and physical beauty are utilised more fully than in her Emmanuelle role. The love scenes with Nicholas Clay are very erotic yet tasteful. The English countryside setting lends a subtle enchantment to the story and indelibly etches certain images. The characters of Clifford Chatterley and Oliver Mellors are well cast. I am surprised that this movie is almost non-existent in the United States of America. A good representation of D.H. Lawrence's masterpiece. I did not award 5 stars because it is my opinion that novels by authors like David Herbert Lawrence are never fully captured in movies owing to the frequent soliloquy of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasured adult movie, 4 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. Wt Makhathini "thandam" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was only 16 when I first saw this movie & my parents were asleep to know what I saw.Since then I have always been captured with the story line that is told & acted so good. D.H. Lawrence left a legacy that is timeless.For me the picture & sound is perfect.The assembled cast is the best there is & Kristel is still beautiful as ever as in Emmanualla I dont understand some reveiwers refering to that other movie when we are talking about the Lady Chatterly's Lover.There is a lot a nakedness & tyst in the movie but its all exposed in a very cinematic manner & its not crude porn.I personally would not condone adultry between spouses just because the husband is no longer able to do "it" but this is a very old tale & Iam sure some people have gone through similar experience though may be a very few.Its one of those movies that might apply to a real life situation.The old English country side is well portrayed & yes the attire & garments fit well with the times very excellently chosen & crafted.There is also a lesson behind the story "never give up too easily on your love ones who are injured" if u want the reason for this then u have to buy the DVD & see for yourself & see the maid closing the windows shutting herself inside presumable permanently? See the movie.NB This movie is not for children It consist of language & theme of an adult nature 18 Age Restriction is a good call.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 18 Aug 2012
I have to say this has to be one of the worst films I have ever seen, the acting was extremely wooden and stilted and about as raunchy as a slug. Don't bother wasting your hard earned cash on this version of Lady Chatterly's Lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sylvia Kristel is beautiful, but something is missing, 13 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This is not a great movie, even though some of the elements are no doubt in place. However, if you are a fan of Sylvia Kristel, you may want to see this one: she is probably even more beautiful here than in Emmanuelle, which was filmed seven years earlier. The film could have been better, but something is missing. As someone has said, it is beautifully staged, but banal. Picture and sound quality is below average. Anyway, not bad for an erotic film. If you have not seen Emmanuelle, get that one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Refined Sensual Delight!, 5 April 2014
I have watched all of the 'Lady Chatterly's' and I am just going by how I felt watching this version... one report said that the acting was 'wooden', but this briefer version than the others, made me feel enchanted as I viewed it! I loved it! Sylvia Kristel is soo exquisitely beautiful and the guy opposite her (lover i.e not hubby) was hunky and sexy and sensitive - more than in the other versions - I felt he really loved her! What a lovely tale .. it is a kind of fairy tale where true love does have a happy ending. I always thought this book was raunchy and rude, but this film depicts the very opposite!
I want to watch it again and think I'll buy it so I have it to watch for the future! :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really not very good at all, 4 Dec 2008
By 
Really dated, lazily written, doesn't really share any of the ideas of the novel, it's just based on the same scenario.

However, if you are a 13 year old boy it will probably seem like all your Christmases have come at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous, 31 Jan 2011
By 
J. Smith "contente" (contente) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film will leave you unable to consider things rationally, questioning the purpose of life and paralyzed from the waist down, just like Clifford the slippery wheelchair-bound cretin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS VISION IS NOT AS GOOD, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is not as good as I thought. It's ok I suppose. Not as good as the British version. I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Chatterleys Liebhaber
Lady Chatterleys Liebhaber by Just Jaeckin (Blu-ray)
12.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews