Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Pure Adrenaline my friend
What can I say this has to be one of the best films of the 90's it brought together two of the era's biggest box office draws and slammed them into a cracking movie.
Although adrenline junkies will disagree this movie was the best mainstream effort to bring extreme sports to the cinema screen.
Add to the surfing and sky-diving, bank robbery, car chases, love...
Published on 9 April 2003 by A. D. Bowyer

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Blu ray is a disgrace
I'm not going to review the film as i'm sure it's well known by anyone reading this and if not there are plenty of reviews of the film on here so this is strictly about the bluray quality to a film i have loved since it came out in 1991.

This is a very poor blu ray indeed, the grain levels vary wildy throughout the film and go from acceptable to extreme, on...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Pure Adrenaline my friend, 9 April 2003
By 
A. D. Bowyer "davidb2972" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say this has to be one of the best films of the 90's it brought together two of the era's biggest box office draws and slammed them into a cracking movie.
Although adrenline junkies will disagree this movie was the best mainstream effort to bring extreme sports to the cinema screen.
Add to the surfing and sky-diving, bank robbery, car chases, love interest, parties, shoot outs and a cool soundtrack and you have a movie which few can match.
Ironically casting Gary busey from the ultimate surfing movie (Big Wednesday) as the overweight cop who cannot surf was genious.
No matter how many times I watch this movie it's as good as the last.
100% Utah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Blu ray is a disgrace, 22 Feb 2012
I'm not going to review the film as i'm sure it's well known by anyone reading this and if not there are plenty of reviews of the film on here so this is strictly about the bluray quality to a film i have loved since it came out in 1991.

This is a very poor blu ray indeed, the grain levels vary wildy throughout the film and go from acceptable to extreme, on many occasions when you are watching a scene and the camera goes from one angle to another, one angle will be fine and the other just full of extreme grain and noise.

During the party at the beach house when they are around the fire there is some of the worst picture quality i have ever come across on blu ray, on the left hand side of the screen it goes a horrible shade of white when the scene is at night! It then graduates across the screen from left to right until you get the black back, i suppose it's about 5cms wide in total and when you throw in the extreme grain it's simply rubbish and an example of how not to produce a bluray.

There were far too many times when i was watching this bluray that i thought to myself what a complete waste of money it was, even when i paid just a fiver for it. The picture overall is extremely soft in nature and not once throughout the whole film do you think you are watching a hi def disc there are no scenes of HD 'pop' atall , it feels more like a slightly upscaled dvd picture if anything. The colours are ok but black levels vary wildly and alot of noise is present on this disc along with some truly extreme grain, i should add that i don't mind grain on bluray as it can be a good tool and add to a film (think Saving Private Ryan) but there is no consistancy here and it just goes to show how little time and money was spent on this release.

For a film i like so much i expected far better but sadly this bluray is a bit of a stinker. After watching it i played the dvd for a comparison and the dvd is very close to this bluray for picture quality and it's the sound which is the only real positive for this disc, it has a crisp and excellent soundtrack in DTS HD Master Audio. It's the only saving grace in all honesty as it's a clear step up from the dvd with lovely depth and bass detail and much more envolving.

I wouldn't recommend this disc to anyone who already owns the dvd but if you don't own the film already it may be worth getting for the soundtrack but it's a marginal call between this and the dvd and in this day and age that shouldn't be the case, so many good examples of films from the 90's on blu ray are out there already that this sticks out like a sore thumb i'm afraid. Very disappointing overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'AN EXCITING 90'S OFFERING', 31 Oct 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Rookie Federal Agent 'Johnny Utah' (Keanu Reeves) gets hooked up with experienced Agent 'Ben Harper'
(John C McGinley) who has been in the field for 25 years.
In recent years there have been a spate of bank robberies by four men wearing ex-president masks, the
agency has failed to get close to solving the crime.
The Rookie wants to make this his first case to solve, his partner 'Ben' has a theory that the agency hasn't
listened too, 'Johnny' will.
'Ben' believes there to be a link between the robbers and a group of surfers known as 'The Presidents' who
follow the best surfing conditions around, the robberies can be tied into the L.A surfing seasons down the
applicable years.
'Johnny' decides in his own time to try and infiltrate the surfing fraternity, though as yet he can't surf, however
by chance he begins a dialogue with free-spirit 'Tyler' (Lori Petty) who not knowing 'Johnny' is a 'Fed' agrees
to help him learn to surf, a romance surely on the horizon that could well cloud his judgement later.
Eventually he is accepted by the fraternity led by 'Bodhi' (Patrick Swayze) a great surfer and a guy that is well
respected and listened too by other surfers.
'Johnny's' first instinct leads them to raid a group he and 'Ben' believed to be the bank robbers, however, though
they were a criminal element, it was drugs, not money they dealt in, the operation destroyed years of investigation
by another branch of the agency.
The investigation into the robberies continues, a stakeout at a bank leads to an exciting chase sequence...........
however the incident has blown 'Johnny's' undercover status, the robbers will certainly know who he is which
could both put him in danger and compromise the inquiry.
This is an enjoyable and often exciting movie, with 'Sun' 'Sea' and plenty of good action..........this 1991 role was
certainly a good one for the late 'Patrick Swayze' it was a style that he often excelled in, this was also an excellent
role for 'Keanu Reeves'
Great HD upgrade, good picture and sound quality throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Everything moves in cycles, so twice a century the ocean let's us know just how small we really are', 16 Aug 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
Point break is a film that started the extreme sports movie in a way,but seldom has a film so effortlessy blended action and sport so well.The films plot isnt mindblowing in that a gang of surfers dress up as the ex presidents rob banks to fund skydiving and their surfing trips and keanu reeves is an undercover fbi agent sent in to infiltrate the gang led by the brilliant patrick swayze who is at his coolest here as the gang member who is good at explaining how we should stand up against the system we live in as it kills the human spirit.This is one film where the bad guys are certainly cooler than the good guys.

The film contains some great stunts and action scenes that just ooze class,granted keanu reeves acting ability is tested here and for the most part he looks lost,but the films thrives on its ability to look good,visually it is superior to most movies so all in all this is a movie that wont cause you to blush if your friends look through your dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 3 Dec 2004
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, what a film! The first film i bought on dvd, unfortunately not through Amazon. It has breath taking scenes, from surfing action to sky diving. ( a bit far fetched scene!)What a combination of actors, Keanu and Patrick. I highly recommend this film to even those who dont surf like myself. I enjoyed every minute of it and you do actualy get that andrenaline rush half way through the film. Typical American movie but worth buying or watching. Ive seen it in 3 different languages, Spanish, French and ofcourse English.
Its my all time favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 18 Mar 2003
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
This film is amazing, right from the very start when you the opening title music you know its going to be something special. I have watched this film more times than I care to remember, it truely is superb. It may have some 'well-used' plots but all of this is woven into a masterpeice of a film thats worth going in anyones collection, especially if your under 25, and into an alternative life style, you know who you are you adrenalin junkies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic, 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
If you didn't seen this film when it came out it you must now. It is certainly not dated. The components of the movie are raw bringing a great sense of authenticity. The storyline is great and due to it's nature, capturing. A unique situation arises between the characters of Patrick Swayze and Keanu Reeves that keeps you firmly rooted to waiting for the outcome. As for the ending, it is well resolved not leaving an unsatisfied felling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, edge of seat thrills from beginning to end!, 15 Jun 2005
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
This really is one of the best films out there, with no exaggeration!
Not just aimed at Surfy Dudes(!) the film manages to keep the excitement set at a maximum pace without compromising the level of characterisation. Too often adrenaline filled movies offer a lazily written plotline, are full of cliches and two dimensional characters which tends to make a lot of viewers feel that the film is somehow incomplete. Point Break stands out from many others as it manages to successfully combine thrilling action sequences which are balanced out with in-depth thought and feeling behind the drama. Both Keanu Reeves and Patrick Swayze are well chosen for their roles and their characters are portrayed with passion and conviction.
The atmosphere is electric, particularly throughout the Sky Diving, Bank Robbery and Surfing scenes. Point Break is a film which would appeal to women as much as men particlularly as it includes an intelligently portrayed love interest storyline, which the viewer can see has not just been thrown in to appeal to the masses, because it makes an important contribution to the main plot.
Point Break is neither excessively violent nor does it limit its appeal to one group of viewers. Sharp direction from Bigelow ensures that the flowing narrative consistantly maintains the breathless pace without any lapses in quality. This really is one film that all movie enthusiasts must have in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Point Break Blu-Ray, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the Blu-Ray release of the film, not the film itsself:

The transfer is 'ok'. There is quite a bit of grain and fuzzyness on the picture, but it's a marginal step up from the DVD print.

The extras, albeit minimal, do include some recent (2006) documentaries which feature Patrick Swayze commenting on how much fun he had making the movie. New interviews with a small handful of cast including Gary Busey and John C. McGinley, as well as an older interview with Keanu Reeves provide some insight into the making of the film. A handful of deleted scenes make up the extra running time, though they are poorly presented and bearly watchable.

The film was originally rated 18, but has been downgraded here for this release to 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ello Ello Ello We are the Ex-Presidents, 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: Point Break [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so Keanu Reeves is not the best actor in the world, but you can't deny his share of successful films. Post Bill & Ted this was the first movie you believed that he had perhaps found his niche as an action movie star to take over from the obvious Stallone/Schwartzenegger/Willis action guys, which in turn probably led to his subsequent role in Speed. Although he is now best known for his role as Neo in The Matrix Triliogy, for me this is still my favourite keanu film.
Keanu is ex american football star turned FBI Special Agent Jonny Utah who starts his first job by being partnered with near-retirement and cynical Angelo Pappas (Gary Busey) in the tired format of mismatched cops having to work together.(I guess the in-joke was to have Bussey star of the best surf film ever - Big Wednesday in this film!) The pair are on the trail of bank robbers who dress as the ex-presidents of the USA which lends itself to probably one of the best bank heists gone wrong in movie history, with 'president Nixon' declaring "I am not a crook" The crux of the film is that the ex-presidents are surfers which means that Jonny Utah has to take up surfing in order to track down the criminals and try and infiltrate their group. For an identical storyline watch The Fast and The Furious which owes a lot to this storyline. It's here we meet leader of the gang Bohdi (Patrick Swayze) in a role he seems to be enjoying playing. The film contains some very exciting action sequences involving not only surfing but also sky diving and for me one of the best foot chases ever seen in film. Director katheryn Bigalow gets the mixture of action and pace just right, ok the storyline is a bit flaky but it's a totally absorbing film if you like action and extreme sports.
(Also if you ever play the game GTA Vice City, when you are being pursued by the FBI, I'm sure the FBI voice has been based on Keanu Reeves from this film!)
The DVD totally enhances this film and replaces my worn VHS copy, it's a shame they did'nt use the opportunity to include some extras. Hence only four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Point Break [DVD] [1991]
Point Break [DVD] [1991] by Kathryn Bigelow (DVD - 2011)
£4.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews