Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling
'Lair' is the sequel to 'Rats' and a prequel to the last of the trilogy - 'Domain' and really should be read in order to get the full benefit of this outstanding trilogy. The first James Herbert novel I read was 'Creed' and I have been hooked ever since. He is a masterful writer and I have not read any of his novels that I have not enjoyed. Lair is a gripping, chilling...
Published on 17 Sep 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rats Part 2
Following some eclectic journeying through the realms of the supernatural (The Survivor), fantasy (Fluke) and pulp thriller (The Spear), James Herbert returns to the 'unnatural disaster' format of his first two novels with this direct sequel to The Rats.
The action shifts out of London, and focuses on a new lair of mutant rats situated in Epping Forest. In true...
Published on 19 Jun 2004 by Jane Aland


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lair (Paperback)
'Lair' is the sequel to 'Rats' and a prequel to the last of the trilogy - 'Domain' and really should be read in order to get the full benefit of this outstanding trilogy. The first James Herbert novel I read was 'Creed' and I have been hooked ever since. He is a masterful writer and I have not read any of his novels that I have not enjoyed. Lair is a gripping, chilling tale and I found that once I started it I just could not put it down until I had finished it. It certainly did give me a few nightmares but definitely well worth a read, the best out of the 'Rats' trilogy by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rats Part 2, 19 Jun 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lair (Paperback)
Following some eclectic journeying through the realms of the supernatural (The Survivor), fantasy (Fluke) and pulp thriller (The Spear), James Herbert returns to the 'unnatural disaster' format of his first two novels with this direct sequel to The Rats.
The action shifts out of London, and focuses on a new lair of mutant rats situated in Epping Forest. In true 'Jaws' fashion, the local authorities initially refuse to believe in any rat infestation until the spiralling number of deaths means they have no choice but to call in Ratkill and the army in an effort to kill off the rats for good.
While the events of the first novel are referred to, we get a new 'hero' this time - Ratkill employee Lucas Pender, though unimaginatively his back story is identical to the lead of Herbert's last novel The Spear (bereaved lead character who lost their loved one to the threat they now face, leading to an additional personal grudge whilest freeing them up for some love interest). In fact the characterisation here is the weakest I've yet seen in a Herbert novel, with most of the supporting cast existing as little more than names. The obligatory love interest is also very unconvincing.
Lair is reasonably enjoyable, with some gruesome deaths and frantic action scenes, but aside from a little development of the rats hierarchy there's nothing here that's better - or crucially, different - from anything in the first novel. The third time around Herbert's 'unnatural disaster' style is looking a little formulaic - lead characters gradual uncovering of events punctuated by episodes of violence perpetrated on characters created solely to die - and the open ending makes this novel seem like little more than a delaying tactic for the third novel in the trilogy.
Some exciting set-pieces make this worth reading for fans of The Rats, but ultimately Lair adds nothing new to the experience - just more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 17 Jun 2003
This review is from: Lair (Hardcover)
Lair is an outstanding follow up to The Rats. James Herbert has done it again, this book is a griping, easy to read classic that you will not be able to put down. Herbert's writing style is so discriptive that you will hate the sight of rats for ever more. This is a must read book that will make you a lifelong fan of the best horror writer in the world today, and will encourage you to get every one of his amazingly readable novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 Aug 2014
By 
SusanS "SusanS" (Wakefield, West Yorks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lair (Kindle Edition)
Am re-reading James Herbert, after first reading most of his books quite a few years ago as a teenager. This is my favourite of the Rats trilogy.

It is, basically, what it says on the tin: giant, mutant, killer rats running amok. A fair amount of gore and the obligatory James Herbert "love" scene.

I do like the little stories Herbert always put in his books, describing various people and their lives, tragedies etc. They generally meet a sticky end but it pulls you into the story more. I also grew quite fond of the rat with the peculiar white scar running down it's head- it seemed to have it's own little sub story going. I was routing for it by the end of book.

It is a bit dated at times, but classic Herbert and a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Herbert; but good, anyway., 16 Jan 2005
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lair (Paperback)
If you liked The Rats, then you will like this one, as it is more of the same, except this time the rats are on the rampage in a forest just outside London. (This is the second part of a trilogy, although the books can be read separately.) No-one does this quite like Herbert: The action is taut, the description is vivid, and the story is gripping. If the characterisation is a little one dimensional and the story a bit predictable, it doesn't ruin the enjoyment of the book. Come to it with average expectations and enjoy. Not his best but a good one nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rats Return...., 10 Feb 2004
This review is from: Lair (Audio CD)
As the second book in the Rats trilogy, this is perhaps the weakest of the series, although thats not to say it's without merit. Its still a scary and exciting read with a fair share of surprises and set pieces to slate Herbert fan's thirsts. The setting this time for the rat attack, rural england, is a less dynamic environment for the onslaught than the middle London of the first novel, or the post apocalyptic wasteland of the third, and best, novel. Though is does allow for some gruesome moments. I wont spoil your fun, but look out for the scene in which two happy campers find themselves setting up tent in a nightmare...its a topper!!!Anyone with a phobia of rats should,of course avoid the novel in any form, as it puts the verminous little buggers in an even worse light than their used to, and describes in great detail their nature and appearance. And obviously, their bloodlust!
For the rest of you..go scare yerself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better 2nd time around, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lair (Kindle Edition)
Wow read when a teenager,so much better this time gripping couldn't put it down, great for those that like blood and gore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from those rats, 24 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Lair (Paperback)
Second of the Rats trilogy, this takes place a few years after the first attacks in London. The survivors have made their way east to the green Epping Forest and having regained their strengh and numbers are ready to taste human flesh again.
A superb sequel, this carrys on in much the same vein, with some excellent rat attack scenes. An easy very absorbing read in the horror genre. Not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herbert's Rats Trilogy, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lair (Paperback)
Brilliant absurbing book. Herbert at his best. Best to read the trilogy one after the other and then it makes sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lair (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic sequal to the Rats.
As always, Herbert keeps you on the edge of your seat in anticipation of what is to happen next.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lair
Lair by James Herbert
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews