Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rats � Part 3
The Rats was a fearsomely successful debut, so much so that even after several other novels Herbert felt compelled to go back and write a sequel, but Lair suffered from a 'seen it all before' law of diminishing returns - in true Hollywood sequel fashion the action may have been bigger but it certainly wasn't better.
Thankfully with Domain, Herbert's 3rd Rats novel,...
Published on 25 July 2005 by Jane Aland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticlimax
Having read Domain several times and still rating it as one of the best books I have ever read,I could'nt wait to try the audiobook. Unfortunately most of the written novel content is missing from this version. It solely tells the story from a limited spectrum of charectors and totally fails in building suspense and lets face it gore - which is why I loved the book so...
Published on 18 Oct 2005 by mr s sexton


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rats � Part 3, 25 July 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Domain (Paperback)
The Rats was a fearsomely successful debut, so much so that even after several other novels Herbert felt compelled to go back and write a sequel, but Lair suffered from a 'seen it all before' law of diminishing returns - in true Hollywood sequel fashion the action may have been bigger but it certainly wasn't better.
Thankfully with Domain, Herbert's 3rd Rats novel, the author has come up with a new angle to work with - nuclear holocaust. The novel starts at a breathtaking pace and barely lets up - 5 nuclear bombs fall on London, and its an immediate battle for survival as the population struggles to get underground and away from the fallout. Totally unprepared, most of the inhabitants are killed, with London almost completely destroyed. The novel follows the fate of typical Herbert loner hero Culver, and government employee Dealey, who knows the location of a secret underground survival shelter but having been blinded in the nuclear blast needs Culver's help to get there. Meanwhile, the long dormant mutant rats seize their chance to emerge from hiding and start feeding on human flesh again...
The addition of the nuclear holocaust material massively expands the scope of this novel, as even without the rats the cast face diverse threats from disease, floods, fire, rabid dogs and lawless gangs who roam the wasteland of a devastated London. The destroyed capitol makes for some startling imagery, with Domain containing the best descriptive writing Herbert has yet produced. Herbert gradually brings together a varied cast, with the novel peaking in an extended mid-book action sequence when their temporary bolthole is flooded, then attacked by rats. Aside from the books obvious hero it's difficult to tell who will survive, as the band is slowly whittled down by adversity, with death at every turn. Non-stop tension and action coupled with some startling imagery makes Domain not only the best of the Rats trilogy (though Herbert would later revisit the setting of Domain for his graphic novel The City), but Herbert's best book up to that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The black rats return, 28 Mar 2009
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Domain (Paperback)
This is the third book in Herberts Rats trilogy (The Rats being first and Lair second) and this time a new twist is added to the story: a nuclear holocaust.

The first few chapters are very gripping and brilliant as the book starts out with London being hit and destroyed by 5 nuclear bombs. Few lucky survivors manage to stay alive by getting to the shelter of the London Underground before they are destroyed the the bombs and their devestating aftermath.

Once the bombs are over and all has settled, some people return to the streets or come out of hiding, only to succumb to the horrific effects of radiation poisoning as after the bombs highly radioactive nuclear ashes fall and the streets wont be safe for at least four weeks.

Culver is protected by a pratically falling building from the damage by the bombs and manages to get into a governemnt shelter - along with a blind government agent who he happened to be with at the time - in the little time they have before they radioactive ashes fall to earth.

However, our survivours are not as lucky as they think as they find themselves being brutally attacked and killed by killer black rats, who have lived underground since the events of Lair, but now that their home has bee invaded they are back with a vengeance. Now nowhere is safe Culver and the other survivours as they cannot go above ground for the radiation and are trapped with the Rats underground.

I really loved this book and didnt want it to end. Even though it's almost 500 pages it is a quick read as it's so addictive you find it very difficult to put down.

Reccomended to fans of the rats books, James Herbert, or horror in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - pre '48 book meets the Rats in a nuclear war, 9 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Domain (Paperback)
The best Herbert book I have read, only '48 comes near. If you have ever wondered what it would REALLY be like to be in London through a nuclear war this book describes it brilliantly. If your a Herbert fan (especially if you liked '48 & the Rats books), you MUST read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars domain, 17 April 2009
By 
I. Barnes (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Domain (Audio CD)
excelent 3rd book first rats then lair then domain read them years ago audio book captures heart of story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final installment of the Rats trilogy, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domain (Kindle Edition)
An excellent end to the trilogy.. not only do we have to cope with the man eating rats, but also the terrifying idea of nuclear war. this is well written as usual and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best book to date!, 31 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Domain (Hardcover)
From the very beginning, the book chilled me and carried on doing so throughout. This rounded off the Rats Trilogy very nicely and was definitely the most terrifying. What makes this book so brilliant is that it could really happen. Perhaps not the killer rats, but the nuclear war. I especially liked what date he gave it: The not too distant future...
I recommend that all readers enjoy the talents of James Herbert by reading The Rats and Lair before this book so that they can be properly hooked by his unique writing skills. I was especially disturbed to discover the first two books were set so close to where I live. He is by far the best writer in the horror genre. Stephen King is not a patch on James Herbert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticlimax, 18 Oct 2005
By 
mr s sexton (haslemere, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Domain (Audio Cassette)
Having read Domain several times and still rating it as one of the best books I have ever read,I could'nt wait to try the audiobook. Unfortunately most of the written novel content is missing from this version. It solely tells the story from a limited spectrum of charectors and totally fails in building suspense and lets face it gore - which is why I loved the book so much. A real let down and anticlimax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gory and bloody. It's one of James' best books yet!, 20 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Domain (Hardcover)
I thought that Domain was the ultimate climax of the RATS trilogy. Domain was filled with blood and gore and i thought this was the best Herbert book i have read yet. I have yet to find a book with soo much bloodshed and gore that it keeps you turning the pages. The story-line kept you turning the pages and reading on after each chapter. Well done Herbert. It's one of your best books yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book but vey scary!, 24 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Domain (Audio Cassette)
This was the second James Herbert book I read, The Magic Cottage was the first but Domain was the one that got me hooked. I have 16 of his books and I still think this one was the best. It involves man made destruction in which entire populations are wiped out and a mutant rat supposedly destroyed years before take on the human survivors. A brilliant book but very scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Domain (Paperback)
This book was great, and when i started reading it i couldnt put it down!! the scariest thing about this story is that it could actually happen. Herbert has a brilliant imagination and has taken one of lifes most hated and feared animals (through fault of our history) and made it a worthy opponent. When it comes down to it, its rats versus humans, and the rast have hit the humans when they are at their weakest. Survival of the fittest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Domain
Domain by James Herbert
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews