Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever, engrossing book. A great read.
Herbert is on top form with this novel. I love this book. It is very well written and has a clever, engrossing plot which makes the book hard to put down. From the first chapter (a bizarre funeral sequence) the pace never slackens. James Herbert is not afraid to take new directions in his writing and this is very evident with 'Creed'. What seperates this from many of his...
Published on 7 Sep 2001

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demons today are a shoddy lot...
Soon after beginning this book, I decided I needed to stop reading it. Not because it was a bad story, nor because I was scared, but because I couldn't put up with UK bestseller James Herbert's style of writing. The way he fills up the pages with brackets and odd personal comments really put me off, but thankfully the main character and the storyline managed...
Published on 12 Jan 2006 by M. Somers


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever, engrossing book. A great read., 7 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
Herbert is on top form with this novel. I love this book. It is very well written and has a clever, engrossing plot which makes the book hard to put down. From the first chapter (a bizarre funeral sequence) the pace never slackens. James Herbert is not afraid to take new directions in his writing and this is very evident with 'Creed'. What seperates this from many of his earlier novels is the emphasis on dark humour (in one instance Herbert sends up the 'rats' books). Alongside this however are some very scary and unnerving moments. Poor Joe Creed experiences some terrorfiying encounters. I would consider 'Creed' to be the best of Herbert's more recent books. This is an unusual novel and is a great deal of fun to read. I would wholly recommend this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghoulish fun, 11 Dec 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
James Herbert's 15th novel continues the high standard of Haunted, albeit in a completely different style. The cover copy probably overstates the case - "You'll Be Afraid to Laugh" runs the tagline - as Creed is by no means an outright comedy, but it does have it's rotting tongue in cheek on more than one occasion. This isn't quite the knowing post-modernism of Wes Craven's Scream, but it certainly comes close on occasion. What makes the book a success is that these flashes of blackest humour derive from the voice of the main character - Joe Creed - a cynical member of the despised tabloid paparazzi, a slob whose only real interest is himself, and with no belief in anything supernatural. Just watching Creed struggle through his career is entertaining enough, and the fact that he isn't some flawless hero makes his reactions to the supernatural more believable. Add in an unwanted child dumped on him by his estranged wife and his delicate balancing of doing the right thing and earning money makes for some great drama. While there are moments of black comedy however, Creed for the most part works as a successful horror novel, in fact this novel contains some of Herbert's most chilling material, with Creed being harassed by a bizarre nocturnal visitor and doubting his own sanity. If there is a criticism here then the ending feels a little rushed, but with it's winning combination of chills, black humour, and an intriguing lead character Creed is never less than entertaining reading, and one of Herbert's best books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Herbert Greatness, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
I thought that this was a thrilling read. The main character is your classic anti-hero. Most of the characters aren't cyphers and are complex, adding to the story. Also most of the characters aren't good or bad like in other Herbert novels making you want to find out what happens in the end. The ending is original and I didn't see it coming! Herbert has excelled again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book full of twists it'll leave your mind boggled, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Creed (Hardcover)
Creed is a book that you can't put down, it's amazingly well written and its very hard to second guess the plot. In fact it keeps twisting and turning so much that you really feel as lost and overwhelmed as the central character. Drawing heavily of pagan myth, demon lore and with leanings towards both Lovecraft and Barker, it's no mere horror/monster story. Well worth adding to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked from start to finish, 24 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
This is an excellent book that keeps you intrigued from the very start. There was action and surprises throughout the book and the final scenes were very good. Overall I feel this is one of his best books but then all of them are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demons today are a shoddy lot..., 12 Jan 2006
By 
M. Somers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
Soon after beginning this book, I decided I needed to stop reading it. Not because it was a bad story, nor because I was scared, but because I couldn't put up with UK bestseller James Herbert's style of writing. The way he fills up the pages with brackets and odd personal comments really put me off, but thankfully the main character and the storyline managed to hold onto me.
The titular character Joe Creed is a London-based paparazzi photographer about to make the worst mistake of his life, in photographing a strange man who appears in the aftermath of a funeral. Creed soon finds himself trying to unravel a string of occurrences that become more twisted and more unfathomable each step of the way.
Creed isn't a unique character, but he is a well-developed one. He is very believable as a brash paparazzo, and is generally very likeable. Herbert definitely knew exactly who he was dealing with here.
The story aswell, while expectedly trashy horror affair, is a lot of fun, genuinely chilling, and the emphasis on the media and Creed's occupation give it a certain edge.
Herbert's writing does seem to settle down after a few chapters, but my major qualms lie in the feeling that this novel, despite it's maturity, still feels like a Point Horror book at times. The chapters ending on 'cliffhangers' are the worst offenders.
You know, where the shadowy figure enters through the doorway, but it turns out to be a cat? I caught onto those when R.L Stine used them at the end of every single chapter in every single Goosebumps book.
But you know, I can still see the humour in this, and I have a really hard time saying that this sort of thing actually detracted from my enjoyment of the book.
A decent read, sure to entertain, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
Just re-discovered James Herbert. I read loads in the 70's and then grew up and had kids. Finally have time back and I found some James Herbert I'd not read. Creed is excellent. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy mystery horror thriller, 31 Mar 2009
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
Herbert tackles a lot of genre's with Creed. He combines his usualy horror and thrillers styles with some black comedy (which is really funny) and overall I thought that it worked well.

Joe Creed, our anti-hero, is a paparazzo. We are told right from the start that he is selfish and basically not a good person, but he is our protagonist nonetheless.

When in a graveyard, spying on the grave of a recently burried actress, hoping to catch a crazed greiving relative or similar, Creed takes a picture of a creepy man performing sinister acts on the grave. This simple act leads him into spiriling horror as the man is one of a group of demons who have a joke to play on him...and it's not funny...it's deadly...

Lots of suspenceful, with both comical scenes and frightening scenes throw in for good measure. I gave this a 4 star rating because there were a few parts I thought dragged a bit (3 stars) but also parts of sheer brilliant that had me unable to put the book down (5 stars). Deffinatly worth a read if you are a James Herbert fan. Nobody has given this a negative review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some times the bad guy wins?, 13 Mar 2003
By 
MR M MCQUEEN (Sunderland, Co Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creed (Paperback)
Very entertaining all the way through! The story basically is about a quite nasty paparazzo who would kill his own granny for the perfect photo! Anyway he gets tangled in a human vs demon match when he acctidentally photographs a demonic soul messing around over a grave. The story unfolds from there with hillarious laughs until a shocking climax. i would reccomend this book to any reader who likes horror crossed with comedy (any reader).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creed, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creed (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant read. Just could not put it down. I've got ms and normally go to bed early as I need my sleep but this amazing book kept me wide awake for hours. Can't wait for my next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creed
Creed by James Herbert
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews