Customer Reviews


733 Reviews
5 star:
 (411)
4 star:
 (189)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braun Series 3 340s-4 Rechargeable Wet & Dry Foil Electric Shaver
Robust, comfortable, easy to use electric shaver which I found extremely easy to use. The learning curve was comfortable and I was happy within the first few days of use with the quality and closeness of the shave. I got the same results whether used in/out of the shower and with/without shaving gel. As I work in an environment where a clean shaven face is expected...
Published on 2 Sep 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
172 of 194 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay but...
I am a recent convert to electric shaving again after years of wet shaving and reviewed a Philips shaver not long ago Philips PowerTouch PT720 Rechargeable Electric Shaver, that shaver I found to provide a really close shave once you got used to using an electric again and the only quibble I really had was the fact that the shaver didn't have a long hair trimmer for...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Nick C


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braun Series 3 340s-4 Rechargeable Wet & Dry Foil Electric Shaver, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Robust, comfortable, easy to use electric shaver which I found extremely easy to use. The learning curve was comfortable and I was happy within the first few days of use with the quality and closeness of the shave. I got the same results whether used in/out of the shower and with/without shaving gel. As I work in an environment where a clean shaven face is expected this is proving a real benefit and quicker than wet shaving.

The instructions state that for best result the complete shave head cassette should be replaced every 18 months and at the moment this is just over £20 on Amazon. As my yearly spend on wet shave products vastly exceeds this, then it is also a very cost effective bonus. Very happy to recommend.

NB: This review is from my husband but as I gave him the shaver he kindly let me type it up for him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
If you are between foil and rotary then try this product and you'll love foil. I used to think it's impossible to get a good shave with any electric shaver, I used to have an old one with a single foil. I have now changed my mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug 2011
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I use an electric shaver every day, and this is by far the best one I've had. It gives a remarkably close shave, leaving the skin feeling very smooth, and has caused no skin irritation whatsoever. It's comfortable to hold and it doesn't take long to do a really good job. It comes with a small holder for charging, or the cable can be plugged straight into the shaver itself. I'm very impressed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braun again!, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
OK - I admit it - I've been unfaithful. Some years ago I had a Braun shaver which I dearly loved. It was perfect - in fact everything a man could want in a shaver. But I was weak - I was tempted away from my wonderful Braun by a Philips rotary moisturising shaver that was all style and no substance. It led me astray but turned out to be a total disaster (see my review).

I was lost in the whiskery wilderness, I didn't know where to turn. I sought some sage, fatherly advice from my Dad - he seemed quite happy with his new Panasonic, so like a fool I bought one too. But I was never happy with it. It was simply okay - it did the job and nothing more. It was noisy and the battery turned out to be a little short on stamina. I knew it couldn't last.

So finally I faced up to facts - I needed to learn the lessons of my errant past - I needed to return to the quiet, comfortable, shaving performance I've only ever experienced from a Braun.

So... my other half bought me the Braun 340-s for Christmas and it's great - quiet, comfortable and a much closer shave than anything else I've tried. And it's handy to be able to run it under the tap to clean when done. I'll never stray again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relief, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
I've never written a review on Amazon before and usually aren't inclined to. I'm also usually quite sceptical about some of the opinions expressed because of a lack of understanding about a proudct. However, I felt compelled to comment on this.

I actually purchased mine from Asda for £49 rather than the £69 it's currently on Amazon for.

I have always had trouble with very, very sensitive skin and usually after shaving with new blades, let alone old, I resemble someone who has had a fight with a bear. Unfortunately, I also grow a coarse beard like there's no tomorrow. I had previously tried a phillips rotary shaver and it literally lacerated me in perfect circles so that didn't last long.

I was, as many people seem to be from the reviews on here, quite unsure about whether this would just have the same effect. I can honestly say I was very pleasantly surprised when I tried this for the first time. Not only does it indeed give a close shave (you need to follow the instructions, pull your skin around a bit and take your time, it genuinely does a good job) but it also didn't cut, scratch or in any way irritate me. For me personally, this is somewhat of a miracle.

Personally, I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good shaver from Braun, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
Very handy and easy to use.

Cleaning very easy.

Efficient so shaving quickly complete. One charge lasts a week.

Amazon price much better than big multinational supermarket!

Only downside - you don't get a case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Shaver, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
Quite simply, the best shaver I have ever bought. Having tried several shavers over the years I have always had to abandon them because of excessive razor rash. However this shaver is my first Braun and I cannot imagine buying any other make in the future. It gives a good, close shave, recharges easily and quickly and, above all, gives a marvellously comfortable shave, without a trace of razor rash! Thoroughly recommended,( especially if you have sensitive skin ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
I have always used Braun shavers. This one is by far, better than any other I have purchased, including more expensive models. I am very pleased with it's performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 194 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay but..., 29 Aug 2011
By 
Nick C (Middleton, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a recent convert to electric shaving again after years of wet shaving and reviewed a Philips shaver not long ago Philips PowerTouch PT720 Rechargeable Electric Shaver, that shaver I found to provide a really close shave once you got used to using an electric again and the only quibble I really had was the fact that the shaver didn't have a long hair trimmer for sideburns e.t.c.
Now this one has so I thought I'd give this one a go (I'm not some crazy electric shaver collector....yet!).

I can't help comparing this shaver to the Philips (even though the prices are quite different with the Philips being a lot cheaper) as that was the only one I'd used for years and was so pleased with it that it's almost like a benchmark.

The charge time on this is excellent 1 hour compared to the Philips 12 hours or so (but if your trickle charging, i.e. returning them to charge after shaving then it's no big deal how long they take). It has a good solid feel about it and a nice hum when shaving whereas the Philips seemed a little rickety.
Another big plus is that this one has a long hair trimmer whereas the Philips model didn't, and it trimmed my trimmable bits on my face nicely.

Now for general shaving - I've been using this for a couple of weeks and no matter what I do I can't seem to get a really satisfying shave, the instructions say hold it 90 degrees to the skin for best results which is what I do, but I find it a little awkward after a while. I seem to keep having to go over the same areas again and again to get any modicum of satisfaction.
Anyway in the intrests of science and grooming I didn't shave for a few days and shaved half my face with this and half with the Philips and the Philips shaved me smoother and much more quickly than this. It also doesn't cope so well with longer hairs from say 4 - 5 days growth and I resorted to using the long hair trimmer to take what I could of these of as the regular foils couldn't manage it, whereas again the Philips coped with them admirably.
It is a very good looking shaver and has a great feel and some nice features like a light to tell you when the foils need replacing.

If it had been maybe £30 - £40 cheaper it may have got another star .... but shave wise I don't think it is as good as the much, much cheaper Philips model. If your desperate for a long hair trimmer then the Philips range does have a more expensive model which provides the feature and I would expect it to give the same general shave quality as their cheaper model that I'm afarid I'll be using more than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid German Design and Performance, 24 Aug 2011
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Braun Series 3 340s-4 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been happy with a Philips rotary the past three years. The Philips shaver caresses and gently soothes as it removes, almost unobtrusively and without any histrionics, the stubble that's grown on my face overnight. It's so quiet that it's close to shaving by stealth.

This German Braun model however attacks the face with all the ferocity of a biting tackle by Lothar Mathias. It's a real man's shaver and you're never in doubt that it's in operation as it noisily - and effectively - kicks and bullies the whiskers off your face.

It's a great looking instrument with a soft grip surface that runs almost the entire length of both flanks and a lovely metallic blue section that offsets the black body nicely. It also has a nice beard trimmer that is engaged at the back - and, for me, this is a bonus feature that my Philips lacks.

And, it looks super stylish when it's recharging in the attractive stand that accompanies it.

Overall it delivers a good, close shave in a minimum amount of time - and you can't really ask much more of a shaver than that. A lot of this is down to the triple action free float system (their words) that er, allows the shaver to float freely over your face with its triple action.

Negative points? I can think of two: first of all, it's not the cheapest model around; and secondly there's what I believe to be a slight design fault insofar as the top is too shallow and can come off when you exert too much pressure on the underside of your chin - and slip.

This machine has now become my new main shaver. No, that it isn't a typo; it's not become my new mains shaver, which is to say a shaver that operates directly from the mains, because of course it's a rechargeable. No, it's become my new PRINCIPAL shaver and has relegated my Philips to the role of trusty back-up; a reliable supersub if you like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews