Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking for a great film this is good if you want to know ...
If you are looking for a great film this is good if you want to know how China came about this tell the story how one of the great men of China came to power this is for you.
Published 4 months ago by J. Rice

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good, but definitely NOT that bad (false cover notwithstanding)
It is easy to be spiteful about this film simply because it features three well known Chinese martial artists (Mr. Chan, Mr. Li and Mr. Yen), who appear for maybe a total of 2 minutes in the whole film (if you include Andy Lau it doubles to a mind blowing 4 minutes), but it is nothing more than a smart marketing ploy designed to get people to buy or rent the film...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Mario A. Mezquita


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good, but definitely NOT that bad (false cover notwithstanding), 3 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
It is easy to be spiteful about this film simply because it features three well known Chinese martial artists (Mr. Chan, Mr. Li and Mr. Yen), who appear for maybe a total of 2 minutes in the whole film (if you include Andy Lau it doubles to a mind blowing 4 minutes), but it is nothing more than a smart marketing ploy designed to get people to buy or rent the film.

Nothing that hasn't been done in the West before.

As a 'Historical Drama' it is somewhat one-sided. But you would expect that, since as the saying goes 'History is written by the victors'. You wouldn't really expect a Chinese made film to depict Chairman Mao as anything other than the charismatic, coalescing force behind 'The Founding of the Republic' (and we know which Republic that is from the start), would you?

My suggestion: watch it and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misleading, 8 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
As other reviewers have said, the cover is totally misleading. They only played cameo roles and to put them on the front cover and call this an action movie is deceitful.
Essentially this is a documentary on the Chinese civil war. If you knew this in advance, you would accept it for what it is and not mind. It is not that bad as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading cover art, 30 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
The marketing for this film is seriously misleading.

Ignore the pictures of Jet Li, Jackie Chan and Donnie Yen on the cover - they have purely cameo roles.

Also ignore the wording on the reverse, which states that 'Jet Li, Jackie Chan and Donnie Yen 'star' in this action-packed monumental epic'.

This is an okay film, though I'd imagine aimed more at fans of history or completists who must have the '5 second and miss it' appearances from the 'stars' shown on the cover.

It's a film that's worth a watch - but if you're expecting to see the stars on the cover, then best look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Climax of the year goes to...., 27 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
WOW! Three of the biggest martial arts experts of all time in one movie! Also starring Andy Lau!!! What monumentous gem of epicness will bestow my eyes? Am I worthy of such a visual splendour? Will my excitement boil over so much that I will be chopping at balsa wood props for weeks afterwards? Answer, No.
It is one of the most boring Hong Kong cinema films I've ever seen (No Exaggeration). It's even more boring than The Postman Fights Back which takes some beating!
It is however, very well produced and although it has a rather rose tinted view of Mao, if you're wanting a historic type film that lasts far too long, then you'll be creaming yourselves when you watch this.
The cover is misleading and just builds the viewer up for a mighty fall when ten minutes in you're thinking maybe there'll be a fight in a minute....
Overall I think this was a massive waste of a good publicity campaign and urge people not to buy it if they're not avid collectors or Chinese history enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars misleading....... if u are buying for the marital artists., 17 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
for folks looking for a historical account of the founding of Mao China then fill your boots....... but if like me you were expecting a martial arts movie based on the actors on the cover then you will be extremely disappointed.

the cover is misleading. many movies all over the world do this but it doesn't make it right. the three actors on the cover appeared for a total of not even 5 of a 138 minute movie.

since when did actors playing cameo roles / extras have the right to be on the box cover over the main actors in the movie..... usually when the marketing dept want to exploit the paying public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blink and you'll miss them!, 23 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
First of all the cover art is very misleading Jackie Chan, Jet Li and Donnie Yen only have very small roles in this movie they are more like blink and you'll miss them type roles they are so brief they could be easily missed.
Secondly this is not an action movie it's an historical drama that retells the tale of the Communist ascendancy and triumph.
So don't be fooled into thinking this is a big action movie starring 3 of the greatest action stars to come out of China if you like historical dramas or if your a Jackie Chan, Jet Li or Donnie Yen completist then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameless, dull propoganda, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
J Brealey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
"Action Packed"

"3 stars together for the first time"

These two lines made me buy the film, only to get it home and realise there are no "action" scenes as such and the stars have purely cameo roles.

The film does at least live up to its title as it tells the story of modern china's forging in 40s. However it shows a very one sided perspective - many scenes of Mao sitting in fields of flowers surrounded by children, or weeping at martyrs graves. Meanwhile his opposite number (filmed with less flattering filters) plots relentless war and genocide against his people seemingly with no motivation.

I would assume that "luckily" for China Mao triumphs and brings "peace and unity" to the country, however I'm afraid I turned it off before it got that far.

If you are after a film about mindless tyranny and rebellians, then get "Starwars" as I'm sure it provides just as much historical accuracy. If you want a good historical martial arts film try "Fearless" or "IP man" (not that either of these are any more accurate, however they are at least fun to watch). Either way, do yourself a favour steer well clear of this self induglent propoganda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They're martial artists Jim, but not as we know them!, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. P. J. Morton (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
Basically, if you're not interested in a historical account of Mao's rise to power don't waste you're money on this film. Forget the big names on the cover, forget the suggestion that it's an epic film. This is not a martial arts film with these three in, in fact they hardly feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blatant propaganda, and misleading cover art, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
Robert Potter "mojowire" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
As others have said, the presentation of this film is utterly misleading. The cover suggests that your fave martial arts heroes are starring in an epic: while the film does indeed have epic scale conceptually, and - on one or two short occasions only - a visually epic quality, it is in fact a rather dull documentary-style recitation of the post-WW2 events in China leading to the establishment, on the one hand, of the People's Democratic Republic that we know and love, and, on the other, of the Republic Of China (aka Taiwan). The 3 heroes - Chan, Li, Yuen - appear in the tiniest of cameos, and - almost literally - if you blink you will miss them.

The film itself is blatant propagandist tripe, obviously sponsored by the Chinese government. I do not know enough about the detail of the history to pick particular nits; but Chairman Mao and his boyz are all wonderful folksy chaps, beloved of the people and doing the right thing, while the Kuomintang are all duplicitous nasty swine who deserve what they get (to be chucked out of China - the mainland, at least).

If you are a student of Chinese history, this may be of interest to you; although I would suggest you take it with a large packet of Saxa. If you are not, you may well find it dull, one-sided, and propagandist. Either way, you should consider the marketing of it an enormous swizz. I am only pleased that I got it on marketplace for pence (plus postage), and I will be recycling it to the charity shop as soon as I can be bothered to go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading propaganda, 17 Sept. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Founding of the Republic [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed with this film for two reasons:

First of all the look of the DVD is totally misleading. It deliberately shows three kung fu action stars (Jackie Chan, Jet Li and Donnie Yen) and exclaims about an epic film with all three stars in it. However not only do they not play the characters portrayed on the front cover, they're not in the same scenes and any scene they're in lasts less than five minutes. Jet Li must say two lines, at best!

Secondly the film was written as pro People's Republic of China propaganda to mark their 60th anniversary. As a fan of old China I would have been interested in watching a film about the evolution of modern China however as other reviewers have pointed out Mao was no saint and yet they make him out to be a sage to rival Confucius finally able to bring peace to the warring parties of China. The fact is that his party did unify China did but I doubt it happened anything like it does in this film.

If you are expecting a kung fu action film then you will be disappointed. If you're expecting an historical recount of the creation of modern China, again, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Founding of the Republic [DVD]
Founding of the Republic [DVD] by Jianxin Huang (DVD - 2011)
£3.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews