Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary
An absolutely extraordinary account of Andrew White who works with Muslims, Jews, and Christians in the Middle East, seeking peace and understanding.

White is the Vicar of an Anglican church in Baghdad, he meets with Sunni and Shia clerics, cites Muslims and Jews as his best friends, has had various high ranking officials come to secret meetings, is working and...
Published on 12 April 2010 by freedomrulesok

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was I cheated?
I was delighted that book was sent very quickly to someone who had asked me to get it for her - as another, much cheaper supplier had let me down. However, I wonder why I was charged MORE than the price printed on the book.
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by Reggie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 12 April 2010
An absolutely extraordinary account of Andrew White who works with Muslims, Jews, and Christians in the Middle East, seeking peace and understanding.

White is the Vicar of an Anglican church in Baghdad, he meets with Sunni and Shia clerics, cites Muslims and Jews as his best friends, has had various high ranking officials come to secret meetings, is working and has worked for the release of people kidnapped, has been beaten up, detained, railroaded, has lost close friends to violence, despairs at the length of time to get anything done, and yet hopes beyond hope that there will be peace and seems to work every minute of every day toward it. Phew!

With so much being talked about conflict in Iraq and Jerusalem, here's someone who's working for peace and reconciliation between all faiths and none, and doing an extraordinary job. Some incredible stories.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the vicar of baghdad, 9 July 2009
One of the best written books on life in Iarq I have read
excellent and thought provoking read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 April 2009
By 
Mrs. H. Dunn (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fascinating insight into life in the Middle East through the eyes of a mediator. It is written by a courageous man struggling against illness while at the same time endeavouring to maintain the trust of opposing factions. The situation was always volatile and danger close at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 2 Jun 2010
By 
F. Jarrett (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A personal, God filled and very real account of what Andrew has been involved with. Whether you are really interested in the topic areas covered or just have a mild curiosity it is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vicar Of Baghdad, 1 April 2009
This is an excellent book about a very brave and Christ-like man who is doing amazing things in the Middle East. It is an inspiration. Here is someone who is clearly following God's call on his life. A highly recommended read for anyone interested in Iraq and Israel/Palestine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book... even for non-believers, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
'Vicar!'

For some reason the word instantly brings up associations with long, droning sermons by people who have a captive audience and want to tell you all the ways in which your life is at fault. Not that this is a problem (as we are all in need of perfecting), it's just books by vicars can often be a case of 'those who say the most have the least to say'.

But what is refreshing about this book is that the author has true humility. Andrew White doesn't preach, he doesn't ramble on at length and yet he imparts excellent lessons on the Middle East and how to bring peace (which he admits has no rhyme, reason or formula).

What's more, the book is a true reflection of the man himself. Having had the honour of seeing him preach, it is fair to say that he has a compelling quirkiness which can be often lost in writing but here his easy charm and extraordinary bravery come across well.

And all this is within 200 pages - a neat, short book that is easy to read and yet also has a great deal of economy of language in conveying the full story of his times as Vicar of Baghdad. Furthermore there are no unnecessary diversions, and yet there are still a number of interesting stories, such as his meeting with an Al Qaeda leader who enigmatically told him "Those who cure you, will kill you" (the meaning of which is explained in the book).

So, even if you've been put off books with 'Vicar' in the title and don't consider yourself religious, this book is still a fascinating read. White himself does admit that Religion is responsible for a lot of the violence in the Middle East, but also that there is no possibility of understanding the Middle East (or bringing Peace) without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the direct line of fire, 23 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy biographies and this one is brilliant, a story of courage and determination and the power of the Holy Spirit at work today bringing peace and reconcilliation in one of the most dangerous cities in the world. Where else does an Anglican vicar have an armed guard?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vicar of baghdad, 4 Dec 2011
FASCINATING WORTH READING INSPIRATIONAL AND EASY TO READ.THIS BOOK COMES HIGHLY RECOMMENDED I WOULDNT HESITATE TO BUY ANOTHER ONE OF HIS BOOKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Aug 2009
Everyone should read this book as an encouragement for hope where there appears to be none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an inspiring and humbling read that you can't put down, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vicar of Baghdad: Fighting for Peace in the Middle East (Kindle Edition)
I had heard Andrew White many times on the radio throughout the struggles in Iraq, but reading this book brought home to me the enormity and complexity of the Middle East situation...and the bravery and devotion of Andrew White! The strength of his faith is overwhelming and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1d0e240)

This product

Only search this product's reviews