Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film about beasts and monsters
TYRANNOSAUR
(dir. Paddy Considine/91 minutes)

Paddy Considine's directorial debut was the big winner at last week's British Independent Film Awards, picking up trophies for Best Director, Best Actress and Best Film. And rightly so. It's a remarkable film about beasts and monsters that pulls no punches. It's unrelentingly unpleasant; one (graphic) scene...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by tigerthedog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well acted but....
Depressing story of depressing people in depressing landscapes. Bleak and unlovely with nasty characters and animal cruelty.
Be prepared to be depressed.
Published 1 month ago by Dobblinski


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film about beasts and monsters, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
TYRANNOSAUR
(dir. Paddy Considine/91 minutes)

Paddy Considine's directorial debut was the big winner at last week's British Independent Film Awards, picking up trophies for Best Director, Best Actress and Best Film. And rightly so. It's a remarkable film about beasts and monsters that pulls no punches. It's unrelentingly unpleasant; one (graphic) scene towards the beginning drew a collective gasp of horror from the audience in the cinema. It tells the story of `tyrannosaur' Joseph, characteristically played with blistering rage by Peter Mullan. Joseph is a violent, bitter, alcoholic widower, full of anger and pain. He meets Hannah (a stunning performance by Olivia Coleman), an all-round good egg (she's a devout Christian working in a charity shop, what more proof do you need that she's a good person?) who takes Joseph under her wing and helps him on the road to recovery and redemption. It all sounds a bit predictable written down on the page like that, but the execution is far from predictable as Hannah is hiding something equally terrible about her own life. All the performances are standout (Eddie Marsan makes a distinct impression in his limited screen time as Hannah's monstrous husband James). Casting Coleman, primarily known as a comedy actress in Peep Show, Rev and Green Wing among others, was a masterstroke as she's so warm and nice that you just want to give her a hug. She'll break your heart. That's a promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and Riveting, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Tyrannosaur is a powerful award-winning drama about a man who suffers from terrible outbursts of rage who, after one public outburst, dashes into a charity shop and hides. There, he is consoled by a religious woman who prays for him. Sounds like the comfortable sort of Christian drama that you might watch on a Sunday afternoon, doesn't it? Well, it isn't. Joseph (Peter Mullan) kicks his dog to death in a fit of rage within the first few minutes of the movie, his language is strong and relentless throughout, and Hannah (Olivia Colman), despite her Christianity and her charity, is a battered wife who suffers the most despicable physical abuse by her husband, James (Eddie Marsan).

If you can take the disturbing elements of this movie, then you will watch an exceptional drama that, for me, dragged up all sorts of emotions. I was repelled by Joseph and his tirades. I was angry with Hannah for not going to the police and having her nightmare of a husband put away. I was frustrated by them both. And I could not stop watching the drama unfold and it was relentless and I didn't come away from it happy, or relieved. But it did get me thinking how lucky I am to live in my world that is not theirs and it did make me hope that that never changes. There but for the grace of God go I, as the saying goes.

Tyrannosaur has beaten Tinker Tailer Soldier Spy in the British Independent Film Awards. I don't know if I could ever watch it again. If I do, it won't be any time soon. But it's a powerful movie, an exceptional one and certainly, I think, deserves watching once.

Written and directed by Paddy Considine who is also an actor. He starred in The Cry of the Owl (2009) and Dead Man's Shoes (2004) which he also wrote. Watch out for Peter Mullan and Eddie Marsan in Steven Spielsberg's The War Horse (2011). Eddie Marsan also appeared in London Boulevard (2010), also starring Colin Farrell. Olivia Colman plays Carol Thatcher in the 2011 movie The Iron Lady about Margaret Thatcher.

You can see my movies and books website via my profile. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking and powerful stuff, 26 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Outstanding performances by both Peter Mullan (Joseph) and Olivia Coleman (Hannah). I hated Joseph within the first couple of minutes of this film, and I think that's a first. In time however, you realise that he hates himself a lot more than anyone else ever could, and is violently frustrated with his own inability to change. He shows remorse (but only in private moments) for his actions, particularly for killing his dog, and therefore you start to warm to him despite yourself. He is a complicated character without having that much dialogue, and your feelings towards him change from scene to scene. Hannah is the quiet, kind, down-trodden and abused woman who is struggling with life. All she wants is a family and a quiet existence. When Joseph seeks solace in her, he gets a lot more involved than he baragained for as it slowly transpires she has her own problems, which are actually worse than his. Olivia Coleman is incredible as Hannah and her character is so heartbreaking. The domestic violence is hard to watch and her husband is such a disgusting man you just want to rescue her. When Joseph's best friend dies, there is a wake, which is a strangely uplifting part of the film and you start to feel and hope that maybe things will be ok. The film then takes a darker turn, with both characters' secrets being exposed and leading to another upsetting scene involving a dog. This is a thought provoking and moving piece of cinema, which although not the most comfortable viewing at times, is incredibly well directed and quite beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film of 2011., 10 Oct 2011
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Simply put this is the film of 2011. Within the opening minutes the viewer is aware that Joseph (Peter Mullan) is one seriously horrible piece of work. He is a torrent of rage and abuse waiting to explode and it takes little to set him off. Yet beneath all the twisted hatred, exists a man fully aware of his actions and perhaps that is what fuels his angry outbursts. Without a doubt Mullan's performance is stunning as a man at war with himself and everyone around him. Despite his chaotic world of booze and the odd eruption of violence, he has a soft spot which is found by Hannah (Olivia Coleman).

Again, its a powerful performance and Coleman is excellent as the charity shop worker who extends the hand of friendship to the volatile Joseph. As horrible as Joseph may be, he pales in comparison to Hannah's vile husband. Joseph can at least see his faults and doesn't hide behind a facade as a nice guy whilst actually being loathsome. As the film progresses more and more little pieces of Joseph's past become clear but beneath his obvious faults is a man who can feel for those suffering needless abuse.

The film is not for those easily offended by some choice language, this is gritty realism which pulls no punches. There are also a couple of uncomfortable scenes involving cruelty to animals although in one case it may be entirely justified seen through the eyes of Joseph.

All in all this is probably the best film I have seen this year and is incredibly powerful stuff so hats off to Mr Considine and all involved. Rough going but thoroughly captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mullan - what a superstar, 16 Jan 2012
By 
P. J. Legg (southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Within the first ninety seconds Peter Mullan's character kicks his dog to death. It's that kind of film. You knew that already. Peter M is outstandingly convincing as a character who could detonate at any second. It's a quiet film. It tells a simple story, very well. Imagine if Nil By Mouth was a bit more outdoorsy and had fewer characters and was slightly less oppressive. Halfway through this film I felt it was pretty obvious where it was going. But I was wrong. I'm a crybaby and I did get a bit choked up at the ending. It sure aint a comedy - but I did laugh once - at our first sighting of Eddie Marsan (in the wedding photo). For a film directed by someone more famous as an actor, this is the total opposite of that recent Tom Hanks-directed thing - in a totally brilliant way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
This film is brilliant. The storyline was very moving and so well acted by both leads. Very sensitively dealt with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the power of Tyrannosaur, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was a frightening look at how hope can overcome the most desolute circumstances. The acting was powerful and moving, the charactures and settings all too real. A must to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty British film., 20 April 2013
By 
Lily (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In true tradition, this is a British film that will stand the test of time. Compelling, gritty realism with fine acting and it stays with you afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, 18 April 2013
By 
P. G. Strachan (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hands up. I wasn't entirely in the mood for this when I plonked it in the dvd. If there had been something lurking around promising to cheer me up I'd have grabbed at the succour it appeared to offer. Sadly my stock of feelgood movies was depleted so I was left with the option of a feelunrelentiinglymiserable film - namely Tyrannosaur.
So wrong mood to start with and oh....here comes Peter Mullan playing an angry alkie. Self- harm seemed just around the corner. But the story - summed up more than adequately elsewhere in these reviews - gradually hauled me back from the brink. The performances here are outstanding, the direction excellent, the plot compelling. Alright it didn't send me off to bed with a warm glow (actually I felt as though I'd been dragged through an emotional mill) but if that's what you're looking for try the grocery department. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Horlicks-Plain-1-x-2kg/dp/B006O00CY4/ref=sr_1_1?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1366276162&sr=1-1&keywords=horlicks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty but excellent, 16 April 2013
By 
Olivarovich (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tyrannosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This multi-award winning film pulls no punches. It is gritty and disturbing, working on themes of violence, rage and redemption. But the story is compelling and the cast is excellent. Olivia Coleman in particular produces an absolutely fantastic performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9f7abc)

This product

Tyrannosaur [DVD]
Tyrannosaur [DVD] by Paddy Considine (DVD - 2012)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews