Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Drama, Great Action
There is a saying that "there are no new stories" and this is a case in point. As other reviews have pointed out the struggling under dog, two battling brothers, "father issues" and the one last chance to get what you want does mean that this could be the UFC Cinderella Man or coming out in the same year even a bit like the autumn version of The Fighter...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by J. Duducu

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I popped his shoulder...(spoilers)
An ex-Marine haunted by a tragic past, Tommy Riordan, returns to his hometown of Pittsburgh and enlists his father, a recovered alcoholic, to train him for an MMA tournament awarding the biggest purse in the history of the sport.

As Tommy blazes a violent path towards the title prize, his brother, Brendan, a former MMA fighter unable to make ends meet as a...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Drama, Great Action, 17 Oct 2011
By 
J. Duducu (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
There is a saying that "there are no new stories" and this is a case in point. As other reviews have pointed out the struggling under dog, two battling brothers, "father issues" and the one last chance to get what you want does mean that this could be the UFC Cinderella Man or coming out in the same year even a bit like the autumn version of The Fighter.

However if you accept that all films have a passing similarity to at least something that's gone before then this is a highly polished example of a familiar tale, it is further enhanced by an excellent script and brilliant acting, Tom Hardy in the space of a year has been the wise cracking forger in Inception, the skittish English spy in Tinker, Tailor and now the huge and powerful ex US Marine Tommy in the warrior, it's hard to believe it's the same guy in all 3 films and yet is completely believable playing these very different characters. Dare I say it, could he be this generation's De Niro? However the role of the now sober alcoholic and abusive dad was written for Nick Nolte and a bit like the character he's portraying Nick knows this could be a last hurrah and grabs onto the role with both hands giving a performance that is a master class in understated acting (surely a best supporting actor nomination in the Oscars?). Then Joel Edgerton plays the most likeable of the central trio as the MMA (Mixed Martial Arts- don't call them cage fighters!) fighter who after getting badly hurt turned to teaching, but now has to step back into the ring. He may not have the power house moments of the other 2 but he's the easiest character to root for as it's simply win fights or lose his house and as he has a wife and 2 small kids it's an emotional resonance perfect for the current domestic anxieties across the globe.

Indeed like the first Rocky this is a film very much of it's time- recession, foreign war, war widows are the current sign of the times and adds a level of reality to what isn't a true a story but in the future you will just know this has to be set around 2011. However the main thing to add spice to this impressively grown up mixture is this is an MMA sports film not a boxing film and that's an important difference, having only ever seen 1 UFC fight on TV I was not ready for the electrifying fights. We've all seen enough boxing in films to know the basic moves even if you aren't a fight fan, however here almost anything goes, so you go from familiar exchanges of punches to powerful kicks, to the gasps that will come out of you when somebody gets thrown to the floor, to being up close and personal in the horrifyingly intimate grapples. There's simply more for a film maker to show then just above the belt punches and blocks. This is what makes the quest of the central characters even more frantic and even a little tragic- these are desperate men indeed.

A must see film that didn't make a huge wave under initial cinema release, possibly because the topic wasn't the more familiar boxing, possibly because there were no big names either in front of or behind the camera but this film needs to get a bigger audience and hopefully here on DVD/BluRay that discovery will start.

If you liked this there's more historical debate and fun at @HistoryGems on Facebook and Twitter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Hot Hot, 29 May 2013
By 
Ms. A. Settle "A settle" (london, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, much better storyline than imagined and watching Tom Hardy looking so hot in a pair of shorts is every girls dream isn't it......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cliched but excellent (from someone who knows nothing about the sport)., 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
I know nothing about MMA or UFC but...

...putting aside the mawkish cliché, which this film has a streak of a mile thick, its hard to say a bad thing about it. However, this is less "all the Rocky's rolled into one" than The Wrestler with less subtle character arcs.

It has a trio of very fine performances, from Hardy's brutish, emotionally wounded war vet, to Edgerton's all round dignified good egg, and Nolte's guilt ridden father who is trying to repair his life and atone his sins.

The fight scenes are frenetic and well shot, with convincing bruising action.

Come the end i and the g/f were both very emotionally engaged in the whole affair and im not ashamed to admit on a couple of occasions the drama was genuinely upsetting and uplifting.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Knock Out!!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
Jamie Press - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
I love Gavin O' Connor films, this guys directs and writes this stunning, moving and brutal family sports drama and he blends all together a good sports movie and a moving drama together so well, just like he did with his police drama "Pride and Glory". Tom Hardy is the next big thing, this guy is going places and I can't wait to see his performance in Batman next year.

But as for this, he is truly outstanding, this is without a doubt Tom Hardy second best peformance in his career (first being Inception) and he is really worthy of a Oscar win or nomination for his portrayal of "Tommy", the role is almost silent role, he has speaking roles but this role requires parts of the emotion to feed through facial expressions, etc and Tom pulls a hard punch. The Best Supporting Actor award for this year so far is going to Nick Nolte who portrays the father "Paddy", he portrays such strong emotion that is hard not to be moved, when we see him in a particular scene in a hotel room drunk, we know that part is coming at some point and when it does, its breathtaking.

When he begins walking over to "Tommy" at the door, it can be portrayed a a frightening thing, because of his past and how he is acting. It's such a strong and emotionally driven role and he hits it right on the nail.Joel Edgerton portrays "Brendan" a family man who is at the end of a rope to support his family, I have to say whilst Joel gives a good performance as a man at his wits end and is desperate, Joel's performance is the weakess in the film, I'm not saying he is terrible, hell no, he has some cracking scenes such as the end fight and his confrontation of his father on the front lawn.

But the thing Joel's performance lacks is emotion. He gets the desperation and troubled life right but he lacks the emotional grip that is required for the role. But the film in general is outstanding and even though its been disapointing at the box office it's a strong film that is deserves recognition at the Academy Awards 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I popped his shoulder...(spoilers), 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Warrior [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An ex-Marine haunted by a tragic past, Tommy Riordan, returns to his hometown of Pittsburgh and enlists his father, a recovered alcoholic, to train him for an MMA tournament awarding the biggest purse in the history of the sport.

As Tommy blazes a violent path towards the title prize, his brother, Brendan, a former MMA fighter unable to make ends meet as a school teacher, returns to the amateur ring to provide for his family.

Even though years have passed, recriminations and past betrayals keep Brendan bitterly estranged from both Tommy and his father.

But when Brendan's unlikely rise as an underdog sets him on a collision course with Tommy, the two brothers must finally confront the forces that tore them apart, all the while waging the most intense, winner-takes-all battle of their lives.

It's well acted, and is very entertaining, but on the other end of the spectrum, the film is way too long, and predictable.

From the upstart, we know that Brendan is going to come up smelling of roses, because he has the family, Tommy on the other hand, has a huge chip on his shoulder and the attitude as well, any seasoned film goer should know the outcome.

The director does throw a little curve-ball when we learn that Tommy will give his prize money away, but it's far too late to change the mind of the viewer, because Brendan is a nice guy, with all the school behind him.

The three leads though are amazing and really put their all into the film, making that little more watchable.

But for critics saying that this is better than Rocky, they should really throw in the towel.

Good, but not amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tough, but good., 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
I found this to be quite a good film, and it's rated 4 stars by the Radio Times (to me that means "good to watch and engrossing"). For once, the blurb on the cover is right... it really is like "all the Rockys rolled into one"! It's tough. Good acting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On of the best martial arts movies of all times, 30 May 2012
By 
Jarek (Wroclaw, Poland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I just love it. Of course it has many flaws, you can find quite a few "holes" there, but they will not take away the thrills you will have over and over watching this movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something of an anticlimax, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. R. Howe (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warrior [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Warrior is a good movie, maybe even a great movie. What works for this film are the stellar performances of the two brothers who take the lead roles. At no point in the movie are we led to support one over the other, which really works on the whole, and Nick Nolte steals the show with his performance as the troubled father. Tom Hardy is also fantastic here.

Where the movie falls, unfortunately, is the somewhat anticlimactic feeling which the film generates.

You see, while the movie studio are clearly wanting to make the most of DVD sales they have unintentionally hurt this movie by putting things like "All the Rocky movies rolled into one!!!!" on the front of the cover. Given that most folks interested in this movie will also love the Rocky saga, it sets up for inevitable disappoinment....

Much like any shark move will draw "better than Jaws" hype from those caught up in the pre-release crazyness, any fight flick will inevitably draw "best since Rocky" or "better than Rocky" and in turn both phrases alienate the exact people which they are trying to sell the movie to.

Warrior is simply not 'all the Rocky movies rolled into one'. I can see where people drew comparisons given the fighters' personal/financial situations (particularly to Rocky 1 and the final chapter) but that is where the simiarity ends. It's a great fighting movie, the best in a very, very long time indeed and will be incredibly enjoyable if you go into it without comparing it to something you probably by now love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot On!!!, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: Warrior [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First thing I've got to say is I grew up watching all the 80's martial art's films Kick boxer, Best of the best, Bloodsport and of course all the Rockys (apart from 5) and so on. So this in my mind is a valid opinion, I loved it its like all the films I mentioned before but with actor's that can eerr! act. With all the best will in the world and the fact I would defend there films to the hills but JCVD and Seagal and the rest did not really set the pules's racing with the dialogue, Apart from the odd few Rocky 4 one liners that still crack me up to this day It was the fact you could watch a good old beat down. This is that same idea just done well I kind of think of it as if Christopher Nolan had directed Bloodsport I loved it. I'm not going to go into the plot for the reason I went in to it as knowing nothing about it and I think thats the best way, But I know loads and loads of people that have seen it and not one bad word so in my eyes It's a must!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start yet powerful, 19 Feb 2012
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
Warrior is easiest described as "Rocky" meets "Fighter"...the first hour establish the 2 leads separately; we meet two brothers, Brendan and Tommy (Joel Edgerton & Tom Hardy)and the fact that they are brothers is not even mentioned for the first hour. Brendan is a high school physics teacher, married with children. Tommy is a Marine who served in the Middle East. They were both wrestlers or boxers in high school and trained by their father, Paddy (Nick Nolte). However here they are, 20 years on arriving at the same decision: They need to fight to make a living.

Once this setup is established, it is as sure as eggs is eggs, that Brendan and Tommy will meet in the ring for the championship of a mixed martial arts tournament. This accounts for the initial rounds, because each has to advance through a semifinal before the inevitable final confrontation in the final. What is clever is that "Warrior" doesn't have a favorite; both characters are likeable, have their own motives, and after an unhappy split in their childhood both fighters hate each other. There shared bond is a mutual dislike of their father who was responsible for their broken family & unhappy upbringing.

By this point in the film you are well & truly hooked; the pacing & timing picks up, and the big fight action in the cage contains some of the best combat sequences ever seen. The final showdown between the two leads is bloody, brutal, and seems to be happening in real time. A great touch that I loved was the entrance of the 2 men; Tommy swaggers aggressively through the crowd ignoring almost everyone, yet pasues to acknowledge his former comrades, a Marine choir. Meanwhile Brendan enters the ring to Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. Brilliant.

Get it, watch it, stick with it for the first hour then love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac3658b8)

This product

Warrior [DVD]
Warrior [DVD] by Gavin O'Connor (DVD - 2012)
4.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews