Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blunt and brutal - a very British crime thriller with the feel of a 'Prime Suspect'
When we meet Jason Statham's 'old school' style copper, he's battering some nasty street thugs with a hurley club.
The characters in Blitz, the film quickly makes it clear, are from the 'real world' not the PC world. There are dirty cops, hookers, homophobia, and some nasty violence. What makes Blitz work is the way it handles these and turns it all into a watchable...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Benminx

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark, violent with some powerful acting
While set in modern London, Blitz is visually very retro, almost noir, with all vibrant colours sucked from the screen. It is a good film, gritty, violent and on occasions bleak. It tells the story of a psychotic killer determined to wipe out (Blitz) every cop that ever arrested him. Between him and his destiny is Jason Statham, a hard drinking detective suffering...
Published 19 months ago by J. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Fans Delight, 29 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Blitz [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Jason Statham has established himself as my modern action hero of choice. He makes a lot of similar films and rarely deviates from his role as chisel jawed fight merchant. Some of his films are better (Transporter, Bank Job, Crank) than others (Crank 2, The Mechanic), but when he is good, there are few better action heroes out there. `Blitz' is a prime example of brilliant Statham, the correct material for the correct man - coupled with a director who is actually capable of doing something with the camera. The Stath plays Detective Sergeant Brant, a dirty cop who sometimes sees justice and the law as two separate things. His antics can no longer remain hidden in the PR happy world of modern London so the bosses are nervous when he helps out investigating a new serial killer who is targeting cops.

`Blitz' feels like a top quality police procedural TV show that happens to have some great actors, great action and the running time of a feature film. Statham is cast perfectly as the antihero Brant and you really root for him. He is more than capably helped by the brilliant Paddy Considine as the new style police Lieutenant and Aidan Gillen as the snivelling criminal. These three actors are all at the peak of their careers and gathering them together for what is in essence a straight forward cop film raises it from average to excellent.

To punctuate the crime investigation element of the film, there are a series of action set pieces that are gritty, but high energy. Director Elliott Lester does a great job of portraying London as seething city of vice. With the pumping sound track, `Blitz' is an old fashioned action thriller that does not muck about. It arrives, entertains, and leaves with just the faint whiff of high action and cheesy one-liners in its tailwind. The powerhouse performances from two of my favourite actors (Statham and Considine), make this one of my favourite films of the year. The squeamish, action shy or those in need of a deep story may think less of this film, but if you are going to choose the wrong genre, at least choose the right film.

The seedy side of London looks great in HD and the extras are limited, but will entertain fans of the film.

Sammy Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Statham, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Blitz [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this at the cinema expecting high hopes....and it delivered in a true Statham fashion.

Sure he is a terrible actor but he plays a hardass so well. Its full of the usual Statham style cheesy lines, british humour and good old Statham brawling. If you like things like Lock Stock and Train Spotting then youll like Blitz.

The plot is rather good which keeps you hanging on but it is predicatable. You know where things are going and whats going to happen. Characters are a good mix up and the "bad guy" is a character you really begin to loathe which is some fabulour acting.

All in all its a good old viollent british film which I will proudly add to my collection when its out on dvd and itll sit comfortable between Snatch and Lock Stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best new cop thriller in a long time, 13 Nov 2011
By 
Mrgvase - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blitz [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It`s so nice to see a proper made action movie for once,with a straight forward story line,ok it`s far from PC and the violence is graphic,plus a load of swear words,but the humour more than compensates,infact myself and the wife had never had so laugh out loud moments in a long time,how many new films would have a line in them as,your a good cop for a poof,takes you back to dirty harry and the viewers routing for the guy who hates the system,go see this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, enjoyable and must-see!, 8 Oct 2011
By 
N. Alterskye "muso_confuso" (MK, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blitz [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What an awesome film and so underrated from what I have heard (or NOT, as has been the case) about it Statham's best role since Lock,Stock for me and far more depth to the film than the likes of Transporter etc.
Gritty and visceral look at London's police departments in the council areas. Great to see Statham in a UK production where he just fits in and has massive believability.
Beautiful lighting throughout the film with such vivid colours really bringing out the best (and worst) of London.
Aidan Gillen (aka Murphy) really shines throughout. It's a travesty that the likes of him and Tony Kebbell don't get more high-profile roles, whilst the one-dimensional bores that are Gerrard Butler and Clive Owen get Hollywood recognition. The World is a mysterious place devoid of justice in that respect.
The end result of the film is obvious from the beginning, but the story to get there is just so damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 30 July 2011
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blitz [DVD] (DVD)
basically its like all his other films in content. he will quip and beat people up while looking menacing in a really convincing way. you will enjoy it if you like that kind of thing, considine is under used and the the bad guy is also under played where you wish he was given a bit more room to become an actual character as the person playing him is much more capable than what we were offered. I liked the premise but felt it was more like lock stock than "seven" which it should have been more like to make it a great film. as an evenings viewing its quite good, as long as your a bloke. not a date movie really and some of the fights are a bit over the top in that if you hit someone that many times in the head with a crowbar then they will die and not be able to to call the hero names any more. the plots ok as mentioned but could have been more. you will enjoy it but you will probably watch it once and then accidentally find it one night on ITV in ten years time and happily watch it again. not before

3.5 out of 5 stars. good but could have been better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll have the usual please!, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: Blitz [DVD] (DVD)
Another typical Jason Statham movie (which I normally quite enjoy watching) although this one has been relocated to the UK. The plot is ok, although very predictable and full of holes. The baddie is someone you start to hate so I guess the actor is doing his job well. Jason Statham strolls around acting and looking hard as usual with some neat one liners to make you grin. The trouble with it is, I like it when he kicks loads of bad guy ass, as he does in The Transporter movies, Sadly there isn't enough fighting in this film (and hardly any guns are used by the cops as it is good old England after all)thsi make J.S. seem to amble through the film looking a bit bored as though if the director said 'beat that guy up' he would wake up and start enjoying himself a bit more. Finally, some of the acting in the minor roles is pretty poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great dvd, 29 Mar 2014
By 
john (FRESHWATER, Isle Of Wight, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitz [DVD] (DVD)
jason statham in a another movie no better actor in these type of movie this is another first class acting. bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another poor Statham outing..., 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Blitz [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I first noticed Jason Statham in the original 'Transporter' movie and then the 2 sequels- whilst not as good as the original, were still watchable. He definitely has some charisma and screen presence. He is also great in 'The Bank Job' and even the over-the top 'Crank' films.
Unfortunately I seem to be on a roll of watching terrible movies starring him lately... 'The Blitz' is now the 3rd or 4th movie in a row with the 'Stath' I've seen...and I'm afraid to say all have been no better than a made-for-tv style film...'Homefront', 'Hummingbird' (aka 'Redemption') and 'Parker' are other stinkers he's in.
Needs to pick his roles more carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blitz, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitz [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant I loved it .Statham at his best. His acting ability is limited but in this dvd he can can use his roughness with speech just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great action film, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitz [DVD] (DVD)
This is gritty and fast paced and the action maintains momentum just as you would expect from a Jason Statham film and all the actors make their characters believable. Best of all, it portrays what life is really like in many parts of the UK today and how the liberal establishment and media tend to treat 'antisocial elements' - or scumbags as they're called in the USA. The great thing about this film is that the 'fairytale ending' where the chief 'antisocial character' (Blitz) gets what he deserves rather than the leniency he would receive in reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa855bc)

This product

Blitz [Blu-ray]
Blitz [Blu-ray] by Elliott Lester (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews