Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Funhouse
First off, Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse is the best one I've played since Sam & Max: Hit the Road.

The gameplay of each chapter is slightly different from the last, with a new twist being introudced each time the game progresses.

My only problem with the game was the occasional frustrating moment when you can't figure out how to progress. In...
Published on 17 Aug. 2012 by Jon Hamstead

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars More irritating than entertaining
More irritating than entertaining.

You need a lot of patience in this travelling around in circles to find out which character has some new dialogue, which allows you to then do what you have known for a long time what it is you want to do. Listening to the same dialogue for the nth time gets very tiresome. Moving from place to place was slower than necessary...
Published 8 months ago by Prof TBun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Funhouse, 17 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
First off, Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse is the best one I've played since Sam & Max: Hit the Road.

The gameplay of each chapter is slightly different from the last, with a new twist being introudced each time the game progresses.

My only problem with the game was the occasional frustrating moment when you can't figure out how to progress. In most cases, you know what you need to do, but getting Sam and / or Max to do it is another matter entirely.

In short, the game is hilarious and unpredictable, but occasionally frustrating.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam and Max, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Lane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was first introduced to this series by my friend and I'm glad for the recommendation. The series is delightfully funny and entertaining with "the devil's playhouse" being one of their best games yet. If you enjoyed Monkey Island then this is certainly a game you will love, if your a fan of games that are funny and don't take themselves too seriously then this is for you. Also there's a dog in a suit and a fluffy bunny with psychic powers, what more do you want haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars More irritating than entertaining, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
More irritating than entertaining.

You need a lot of patience in this travelling around in circles to find out which character has some new dialogue, which allows you to then do what you have known for a long time what it is you want to do. Listening to the same dialogue for the nth time gets very tiresome. Moving from place to place was slower than necessary having already done it once.

I didn't like the alien setup or Max's gadgets, The humour is pretty base. The solution to each episode is very linear and if you go off script, nothing much interesting happens.

The interface I thought was unfriendly, and the investigator's notebook was a complete waste of space.

It is very disappointing that this game falls well short of the entertainment value of the games of 20+ years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best entertainment you'll get for 3, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Probably the best entertainment you'll get for 3.75.
Devils play house follows on from the previous 2 seasons but returns to an interface more similar to Hit The Road.
The humour is all still there, the story is good, and you get a free poster and some badges.

My only issues are that it didn't come out on Xbox, and that some of the chapters are a little easy. I'm not knocking stars off though as I would really recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't play if you suffer from motion sickness, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This collection of episodes of Same & Max has introduced a change of visual display from previous Sam & Max games. This results in a shakly display when you try to change direction. I had to stop playing the game after a few minutes as I was feeling nauseous.

DO NOT PLAY this game if you suffer from motion sickness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
An amazing game. Great gameplay, hilarious dialogue. Overall a brilliant game! The special features like posters and badges are great to.

The package came on time as said.

It was good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Algae, fish poop, rust... Yup, this tank is 100-percent fish free., 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My life is better after playing this.
Still never as good as Sam & Max hit the road.
But will anything ever be as good as that???

V.Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great fun - excellent game: very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back again - what's not to love!, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It's Sam n Max, back again - what's not to love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Good product would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD)
Sam & Max: The Devil's Playhouse - Collector's Edition (PC DVD) by Lace Mamba Global (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews