Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best show ever.
Finally this is being released on Region 2 DVDs! This is by far the best comedy series that is running at the moment. It's been running for 6 seasons, and season 7 premieres in the US in September.

For those of you who don't know anything about the show, it's about 3 guys who own a bar. Charlie, the illiterate, dyslexic, and utterly hilarious janitor. Dennis,...
Published on 17 May 2011 by Stephen Netuka

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but...
...not very good either. Humour is to direct, too much "clowning". Oh well, I've probably been spoiled by "The Office" and "Green Wing"...
Published 16 months ago by De Vlieger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best show ever., 17 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally this is being released on Region 2 DVDs! This is by far the best comedy series that is running at the moment. It's been running for 6 seasons, and season 7 premieres in the US in September.

For those of you who don't know anything about the show, it's about 3 guys who own a bar. Charlie, the illiterate, dyslexic, and utterly hilarious janitor. Dennis, the "playboy" kind of guy. And Mac, the dude who sees himself as totally badass, but when he faces a potentially dangerous situation he pussies out. Another main character is Deandra (also known as Sweet Dee) She doesn't own the bar, she just works there, and the guys often tend to rip on her.

This first season is by no means the best, and as I've said to several of my mates when they started to watch the show; use the first season to get to know the characters. There are several great episodes, and some brilliant one-liners. Especially Charlie's gem "I will smash your face into a, into a jelly!!".. Anyway, from season 2 onwards, Danny DeVito joins the cast as Dennis and Dee's father, and he is outstanding!

Do yourselves a favour and watch this show. Be patient, and once you get hooked, you will be laughing your brains out! Funniest show there is. 9.5/10 on IMDb speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angry, dangerous and downright hilarious, 29 May 2011
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Unless you spend a lot of time watching semi-obscure cable channels or take an active interest in US comedy, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia could easily have passed you by. If, however, you're a fan of the similarly neglected likes of Arrested Development, 30 Rock, Eastbound and Down and Curb Your Enthusiasm, Always Sunny could well be your new favourite show.

It follows the misadventures of group of amoral, directionless bar owning friends in blue collar Philly; three dudes: Dennis, Mac and Charlie, (former semi-struggling actors Rob McElhenney, Glenn Howerton and Charlie Day, who also write the show) and their female compatriot `Sweet' Dee, (Kaitlin Olson, who played Cheryl's sister Becky in Curb). From season two they are joined by Dennis and Dee's estranged father Frank, played with gusto by the magnificent Danny Devito.

Episodes traditionally focus on a pop culture or political phenomenon - from abortion to wrestling, Extreme Home Makeover to the global financial crisis; and the gang's attempts to exploit said phenomenon for their own personal gain. The format is well illustrated by the Season Four episode `The Nightman Cometh' , where Charlie announces he has written a musical.

Charlie: I wrote a musical. It's pretty damn good, OK? I wanna put it on.
Mac: Right, what's your angle?
Charlie: I don't have one.
Dee: Yeah, whose--whose face are we shoving this musical in?
Charlie: You don't shove a musical in someone's face. What are you talking about?
Mac: Right, but who versus? Who are we doing it versus?

Other reviews of the show on Amazon make it sound pretty stupid and offensive. I would agree that the show is not for the easily offended, and when it is stupid it is gleefully, unashamedly stupid. However, I can't think of many other sitcoms that would base an entire episode on a critique of the Israel-Palestine situation, or the welfare system, or North Korean nuclear disarmament. The skill of the show is can make these subjects as outrageously funny as it's rampant arguing and violence. It's this combination of pop culture trashing, violence, satire and controversy that makes Always Sunny the closest thing to a `punk' sitcom since The Young Ones. I would also argue that there's a fairly strong liberal morality underscoring the writing; most of the issues are sensitively presented, it's the gang's selfishness and solipsism that is being ridiculed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute genius, 10 July 2011
By 
Mr. J. A. Stansfeld "JaysElectronics" (Redhill, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Mature themes herein, but a superb show and a brilliant cast.

There are few better adult comedies anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly funny shows, 14 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Trickett "Tricky" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I second the other 5 star reviews - this show is simply funny as hell, and I'm up to series 4.
It's a gem that I'd never heard of until I searched the all-knowing imdb website (internet movie database)
for the top comedy shows of all time. With 1000s of votes, this came second only to Arrested Development which I also recommend.

Unlike many comedy sitcoms including Arrested Development, this show is aimed at adults as opposed to families, with a delightfully devious streak running right through it that allows the situations to push out into territories other shows fear to tread.
When I started watching I thought 'my God this is the show I've been waiting my life for!' I kid you not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tasty treat, 30 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Maxwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I've followed Sunny since the second season was airing back in 2006, and although it is easily my favorite on television, I think the real testament to it's quality is just how many people I know (here in the UK where it is not easy to see) who have also become hooked through just word of mouth; I have not met single person yet who didn't fall in love with the antics of The Gang. I don't really have any intelligent insight to the comedy but I would say it's a dark, character-based comedy with a lot of heart (created, written and directed by the main cast, with little to no studio interference). I definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of buying and also to everyone who isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant start to an astonishing show, 19 April 2012
By 
Slurms McKenzie (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh boy, I had all but given up on Netflix as simply not having anything decent on it...until I found this, which makes a subscription almost essential! Especially as whoever is in control of these things seems to be determined to keep this a secret - hell, at least Arrested Development and 30 Rock get airtime in the UK, but this is nowhere to be found right now. And you know what? I think this is better than those shows, and in the genre of Curb Your Enthusiasm and similar US comedies, this is the best of the lot.

I absolutely love this show; all seven seasons are really cruel, original, spiteful, controversial, offensive, and gloriously funny. Season 1 manages without Frank Reynolds (the twins probable father, a career performance by Danny Devito from Season 2 onwards), so we focus on Mac, Dennis, Charlie and Dee (and the other semi-regulars like the Waitress, the various mothers etc.).

And it`s just magnificent. The characters are narcissistic, stupid, violent, law-breaking, philanderous but somehow retain enough humanity to make you want to carry on watching, rather than turn off. How can you not enjoy people who will become crack-cocaine addicts to get welfare, or watch in sympathy as Mac recalls bitterly how he was not sexually abused by a teacher? Abortion, Nazi grandparents, dead hobos...this show has it all folks, you must find it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show - Amazon please sell more seasons!, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Kevin Robertson (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic comedy series, instantly likeable and watchable. Although it never ventures into emotional or dramatic territories, it somehow makes me incredible happy watching it and proud to be a fan of the show, I think purely because most of the cast write it and play a huge part in the production of the show, which gives the impression that they have an absolute blast making the show and creates a near perfect comedy show. Although this season is only 7 episodes - they are all great episodes - but the show seems to really take off during season 2 and onwards but for some strange reason only season 1 is available at this time of writing, I just hope further seasons will be available sometime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sunny prospects for black humour lovers, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
os (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It's Always Sunny in
Philadelphia is an
inside tip for all
black humour lovers.
The American
independent sitcom
follows four
narcissistic friends,
referring to
themselves as `The
Gang' who run
`Paddy's Pub', an
Irish bar in South
Philadelphia.
Although highly unsuccessful with every aspect in their lives, the four underachievers
have a great deal of self­confidence and are not afraid of any unethical actions as long as
fast profit of any kind comes into sight. Often confronted
with controversial issues like racism, homosexuality, drug
abuse or paedophilia, the selfish, disloyal, though highly
lovable characters always step right into the puddle.
The series began with a short film idea written by Rob Mc
Elhenney and Glenn Howerton (both starring in the show as Ronald "Mac" McDonald and Dennis Reynolds). After developing a pilot, which was
shot by Charlie Day (also starring in the show as Charlie Kelly) using an ordinary digital
camcorder, the actors went to various studious simply showing executives the final DVD.
After viewing the pilot, FX Networks ordered seven episodes, which became the first
season. Kaitlin Olson, former starred in minor appearances, joined the group starring
`Sweet Dee', the main bar keeper of Paddy's Pub and only female member of `the Gang'.
In real life she is married to creator and co­-actor Rob Mc Elhenney.
'It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia' or just `Always Sunny' is a welcoming break from
current big­time comedy shows. The short episodes (averagely 20 minutes) come along
like jokes with the full range from indecent borderline racism to bizarre social taboos
like cannibalism; and while the viewers threshold for vulgarity heightens, the bizarreness
keeps finding a new level too. Whereas in episode one Sweet Dee fancies a black guy
who turns out to be gay, she and Charlie, seemingly converted to cannibalism, prefer to
eat a white guy in the first episode of season four, but not because the other one is black,
but just because she has never been "into dark meat."
To be fair, it does sound rough, but we have seen a lot when art tries to get to a point.
Always Sunny is unflinching entertainment that gets you thinking. It is a strike. It is a
series produced with love and passion. And when someone is still not tempted to see for
himself, I kept a last titbit for the end: after season one Danny DeVito joins the gang to
give the audience an extra treat of good acting performance, astonishingly without
outacting his young colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release all seasons please!, 17 Nov. 2012
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the funniest shows I've ever seen. I've heard some people call this the real life version of Family Guy, and I can definitely see why. If you like Family Guy's sense of humour, then chances are you will love this. I would say if you'll easily offended or have a weak stomach then don't bother, this was not made for you. Hopefully, they'll bring out all eight seasons (and however many more there are to come) on DVD in the UK. Unlike a lot of TV shows, I would say the first season is just as funny as the seventh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best comedy series I have ever seen, 8 Oct. 2011
By 
DrMagical (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched a lot of comedy and this is without a doubt the best comedy ever - fact, not opinion, fact. I'm up to Season 5 now and they just keep getting better. Season 1 is very short and in the USA is bundled with Season 2. The Nightman Cometh - just WOW! I would pay good money to see that in the West End. Love the characters. Why no other seasons on Region 2? I have to buy them Region 1 and convert them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 1 [DVD]
£12.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews