Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book
This book was written beautifully, however I was cringing and I have go admit some parts of the book was very graphic in parts where at one point I was going to stop reading it but I decided to keep on reading it and finding out more.

I would recommend this book, but readers do be aware that some events are detailed.
I wouldn't let young adults read this...
Published 16 months ago by bookworm

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing read
I have now read many similar books over the years about adults and children who have tough lives and suffered abuse.

This was a very harrowing read, but somehow was difficult to read, but not because of what was written. It may be the style of writing or perhaps that the troubles the author experienced were laboured too much in the book.

What is...
Published 10 months ago by Chris in Hampshire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never a Hero To Me: An innocent girl. A father's sins. And the men who closed ranks against her (Kindle Edition)
This book was written beautifully, however I was cringing and I have go admit some parts of the book was very graphic in parts where at one point I was going to stop reading it but I decided to keep on reading it and finding out more.

I would recommend this book, but readers do be aware that some events are detailed.
I wouldn't let young adults read this book....just because of the graphic details that are in this book.

Can't wait to read more of Tracy Black books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly heartbreaking., 17 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Never a Hero To Me: An innocent girl. A father's sins. And the men who closed ranks against her (Kindle Edition)
what a terrible childhood. the depravity,cruelty and sheer terror inflicted upon her stuns me. she has grown into a remarkable woman. i hope other victims draw strength from this story, it is never too late to report paedophiles and bring these foul monsters to justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moving, informative and gripping, 27 Jun. 2011
This book is written from the heart and is a moving account of a young girl and her shocking experiences. There is a good balance between detailing events without being too graphic. A must-read for anyone who works with children and young people to raise awareness of the shocking abuse some children endure and gain an insight into the lives some children lead. A real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillantly written, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just finished this book yesterday, one of the best books i have ever read, i couldn't wait to find out how Tracey had fared in life after all the horrors she had suffered. It was great she came out the other side such a confident forgiving person, and that she at last has found such happiness. A book to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing read, 19 April 2014
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now read many similar books over the years about adults and children who have tough lives and suffered abuse.

This was a very harrowing read, but somehow was difficult to read, but not because of what was written. It may be the style of writing or perhaps that the troubles the author experienced were laboured too much in the book.

What is clear is that she was a very brave child, who had an extremely traumatic and loveless childhood, being abused by her father from 5 years old. It is unthinkable, but it tragically happens and the child is helpless. All of Tracy's problems were made worse by the fact that her mother favoured her brother Gary, and just did not love or have any time for her.

The only happy time for Tracy was the time she spent at boarding school. Even her marriage was a disaster.

I hope that in writing her book, that Tracy has now found peace and will only experience happiness and love from here on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars item, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i enjoyed this book very much and would advise any one to read this book the item came on time nd the packaging was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching book, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never a Hero To Me: An innocent girl. A father's sins. And the men who closed ranks against her (Kindle Edition)
A very good read found this book a little hard to get in to but the more I read the more I wanted to know if Tracy would get the help that she deserved !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A memoir that will stay with you long after you have read it., 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never a Hero To Me: An innocent girl. A father's sins. And the men who closed ranks against her (Kindle Edition)
This book is very well written indeed. I was drawn to this book from the description where I was shocked to learn the setting was within the British Army. I do not like to tell too much about a book as I hate spoilers. However when I finished reading I was astounded and drained. Tracy has been incredibly brave to write this story. I will read the sequel but feel I need to have a little time first. There are some graphic descriptions and this is most definitely an adult book. The good and positive things that I took from this book is that she made it through to the other side and on some levels has got a happy loving family and is now a grandma too. Well done to the author. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never a Hero To Me: An innocent girl. A father's sins. And the men who closed ranks against her (Kindle Edition)
A must read, shocking reading, very upsetting, but a book all should read to get rid of the myth that when these stories are brought out in adulthood they are sometimes made up, working on the theory that the child would tell at the time.

This book tells why a child stays quiet and how the mind and words of the perpetrator work on terrorising the child.

A very brave book to write and I hope in doing so it helped the writer put the past behind her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never a hero., 15 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. June Watson (Halstead, Essex Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never a Hero To Me: An innocent girl. A father's sins. And the men who closed ranks against her (Kindle Edition)
As a child, I was mentally and physically abused. At 16 my dad said he wanted to have sex with me. Fortunately after years of beatings i was not afraid of him. I said no and ran. Enough was enough. This book bought back so many memories, i cried for this poor kid because i understood her feeling. It was so brave of her to write a book that i couldn't put down
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews