Customer Reviews

928
4.1 out of 5 stars
Inception [DVD] [2010]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.97+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 February 2014
This review is for the Blu-Ray version - Amazon have a habit of bunching reviews together over different formats.

This is one film that I was happy to get on blu-ray over DVD. The picture quality is superb, a real show case for HD. Colours are vibrant and edges are sharp, with some grain where there are large patches of one colour, but not that you would really notice as you will be drawn into this film. The sound quality is great coming out of my standard TV speakers, but I can't comment any further as I don't have surround sound or a high end sound system.

Dom Cob (Di Caprio) is a thief, but not the kind that steals physical items or data. He steals information from minds. This is done by drugging the subject and using some hi-tech jiggery pokery he and his team are able to enter the targets mind whilst they sleep. A world is created in the targets mind and Cob must trick the person into giving up secrets whilst they go about their business in the dream. However, some people are aware of this and can take precautions.

What Cob can do is trick them further and create a dream within a dream. All this messing around in the mind is not without its dangers and if Dom and his team are not careful, they can get locked in forever. Pretty soon you begin to wonder if your life is real, or are you living in a dream world.

A very thought provoking film that may take a few viewings to get you mind around the time dilations that take place when 'going under'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2013
After collaborating with other writers and also adapting existing work Christopher Nolan chose to follow up the billion dollars plus grossing The Dark Knight with an original concept of his own that had been a germ of an idea near the infancy of his film career. Proving that he was more than capable helming a big budget blockbuster by resurrecting the Batman franchise in such a spectacular and creative fashion not only making one of the most impressive origin pictures in comic book history but also following it up with a deeper more complex and overall even more impressive sequel, anything that followed would need to be special and choosing to visualise a wholly original idea with huge ambition was a big gamble for Warner Brothers despite his track record, Inception isn't what you'd call just eye candy.

Already establishing the fact he was capable of casting quite brilliantly with previous efforts, Nolan nonetheless littered Inception with a rich cast and headed that with not just the leading man of the moment but also one of the most talented and dazzling actors of his generation. Leonardo DiCaprio had recently just come off the back of another impressive turn in his fourth and most impressive Martin Scorcesse collaboration Shutter Island. Nolan faith in DiCaprio is rewarded as he delivers another immersive performance and gives a powerful emotional reading of Nolan's protagonist Dom Cobb. Alongside Dicaprio an impressive roster of supporting characters essayed by Joseph Gordon Levitt, Ellen Page and Tom Hardy as members of Cobb's team, Hardy establishing his talent once again playing the charismatic Eames the forger. Marion Cotillard offers sultry support as Cobb's deceased wife Mal, that haunts his dreams and threaten to jeopardise their operations. Some Nolan regulars such as Ken Wantanabe as the mysterious business man Saito who hires Cobb's team after manipulating him to performing Inception a risky procedure but tempting Cobb with a prize he can't resist. Cillian Murphy as the mark Robert Fischer, Micheal Caine briefly pops up in another mentor type role and it is nice to see Tom Berenger once again on the big screen, Nolan showing an example of bringing more talent back from the dead like casting Eric Roberts in The Dark Knight.

Although the true star of proceedings is Nolan himself, first for providing his original idea, a fresh dazzling display of imagination testing the boundaries of what an audience can follow, bucking the trend of the usual dumbing down that Hollywood is guilty of more than often, great work still gets made but blockbuster cinema is not the usual arena for the intelligence on display here. Inception is a science fiction action thriller of epic qualities, a James Bond film filtered through Bladerunner. Having already changed the way the comic book genre can be interpreted, Nolan not only shows blockbusters can have a brain but also not at the expense of thrilling the audience, showing the second example of his brilliance the visual feast for the eyes. Once again utilising his regular collaborator his ever reliable cinematographer Wally Phfister, integral to Nolanâ(TM)s vision and delivers once again in spades, the epic real and dream like landscapes littered throughout the film. Bond and Batman special effects extraordinaire Chris Corbould adding to the mix his usual standard of extraordinary fireworks.

Nolan also ups his game, a small percentage of people criticised the staging of the action sequences in The Dark Knight but you'd be hard pressed to knock what is on display here, an undoubted highlight must be third level of the dream sequence where Nolan takes inspiration from his favourite Bond entry On Her Majesty Secret Service, not a rip off but an interesting riff on that spectacular 007 epic with the team thrown into an exciting action fuelled scene with loud gunfire and snow covered landscapes where the tension is upped to the max. There also thrilling car chases as well as hypnotic dream world sequences visualised in such epic proportions by Nolan and his team, it is a visual marvel and easily his most ambitious to date, simply breathtaking

If you were to aim any criticism, Nolan is well known for not been considered as a director who is strong on emotion, too much of a technician, similar to that other perfectionist David Fincher. This is concerned with dazzling the eyes and confounding the mind, tugging the heart strings is not really on the agenda although Dom and Mal's element that is at the heart of the film is performed by DiCaprio & Cotillard with enough conviction for the emotion to register. He's never been particularly good at writing for women but like Cotillard Ellen Page's architect Ariadne performs well with the small amount they are given.

After collaborating with Hans Zimmer since Batman Begins with his scoring partner James Newton Howard with the soundtrack for those films, Nolan enlists Zimmer to go it alone to provide yet another powerful score for Inception, until his work with Nolan my appreciation of Zimmer was small yes he composed some great early scores but then seem to slip into cutty cutter sound-alike phase, Nolan seems to have re-invigorated him no end that much is true witnessing the scores he's provided for Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes films. Zimmer's score drives the films action as well as emotive points, using Edith Piaf's Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien as a basis for his score using one note, Nolan was using the song as a trigger to bring people out the dream state and encouraged the use of it in the score.

A regular Nolan motif is the element of ambiguousness, leaving the story open to interpretation, Inception certainly isn't short changing us on that, those who grow tired with this element of Nolan's are likely to be just as frustrated, throughout the film hints and leaves clues that may lead the imagination to interpret different meanings, the conclusion of the film never really establishes a clear definitive answer, as any other film in recent memory spun up so much debate and conjecture? Although those who are more than happy for the mystery will have no problem diving into this celluloid dream scape.

Once again Nolan is unable like the Batman films to top Memento and The Prestige, those smaller more intricate films showing the man well and truly a master of his craft, there is a desire to see him venture back into more intimate film making once again although we have the conclusion of one Winged Vigilante to be concerned with first but seeing such a creative auteur in the large commercial arena making these big budget epics with lucrative returns shows Hollywood one thing, if you build it they will come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 December 2012
The Story: Dominic Cobb is suspected of murder and a wanted man in his homeland. A wealthy benefactor with his own agenda offers Cobb the opportunity to return home to his children safely if he can successfully achieve Inception on one of his competitors, a process whereby an idea is implanted into another person's sub-conscious without them knowing. Without any other choice to see his children again and no guarantee that the benefactor can deliver, Cobb reluctantly accepts.

The Result: `Originality' is a word that can seldom be used to describe film lately. Many blockbusters of the 21st Century are excellent forms of entertainment and worthy of many impressive accolades in themselves, but do not always present anything groundbreaking. Fortunate the film-world is to have Christopher Nolan, then, the director who has brought us several masterpieces of intelligent entertainment over the past decade or so, ranging from battles between giant bats and pencil-wielding clowns to magicians who take their jobs just a little bit too seriously. Inception fits the bill somewhere between `sci-fi thriller' and `action mind-boggler', producing concepts in a comfortable 140 minute slot that people the world over can only (literally) dream of. I'll establish one thing immediately: Inception is groundbreaking.

To give away much more of the story than I already have would be to do it a great injustice. No one likes spoilers and Inception is a movie that should not just be watched, but EXPERIENCED by you and you alone; everyone has a different perspective. The final shot is a perfect example of how a film can really make you think, but also the best example of how the film justifies the term `ingenious'. What I would say is that it would be unwise to take a bathroom break at any point of the film to save yourself the efforts of watching the remainder of the film without a clue of what is happening.

Leonardo DiCaprio, an actor who has never really produced a performance less than good on-screen, is a brilliant match for such a film. His charisma and charm in this film results in one of his best performances to date, providing audiences with a reason to give a damn. The rest of the cast is equally adept at adding their own aspects of wit, comedy and drama to the feature. Before Inception relative newcomer Tom Hardy had not really been given a chance to show off his acting talent to a blockbuster audience, and here he shows why he was selected (forgive the pun) as Batman's bane (also see Warrior if you like films about fighting, it is another great example of his talents and an awesome film in itself). Nolan's lucky charm Michael Caine could have perhaps used more screen time in Inception as he is always majestic, but his character unfortunately does not warrant much of a role.

In terms of content, Inception is a hugely entertaining film. Nolan's eye for action has excelled since Batman Begins and there is great pacing here. Sets and effects are spectacular, and whilst you may need to watch the film a couple of times to really take it in, the editing team have done a fantastic job of letting you keep up with the plot.

Naturally, the complexities of Inception will - and indeed already have - roused multiple naysayers to point out what they consider to be major plot-holes, labelling the film ridiculous. Whilst these may well be valid points in regards to realism, in a film they should not hold any weight against interpretations of how good the film is. The fact is that less-than-few movie-makers even attempt something this clever and thought-provoking: something that respects its audience enough to bring them into such a concept. Therefore just enjoy it and do not try and pick it apart; to do so is to destroy much of the magic that films can provide. At the end of the day, it is top-notch entertainment and pretty difficult to beat in terms of action, plot, performance and direction, which is surely why we all watch films in the first place?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2012
After being blown away by writer/director Christopher Nolan's "Batman/Dark Knight" trilogy (2005-2012), and his earlier "Memento" (2000), I just had to see this film, and found it to be the most visually stunning and complex sci-fi movie since "The Matrix" (1999).
"Inception" tells the story of a group of specialists who can penetrate the human mind through dreams, where they are able to remove thoughts and information.
But when they are asked to plant an idea, the Inception of the films title, in the mind of a young man about to inherit his father's business empire to prevent a take-over of the worlds energy supply, it presents a whole new level of problems, especially when the late wife of the groups leader (Leonardo Dicaprio) has a habit of cropping up at the most unexpected times in their dreams and putting all in danger.
Like "The Matrix", this film works on a whole number of levels, and a first watching can be confusing. But it is well worth pursuing, as the rewards are truly great. Featuring jaw-dropping special effects and stunt work, it once again proves what a truly great and original filmmaker Nolan is, making the audience work to distinguish between actuality and imagination.
The extra features on disc two include a 45-minute documentary on the exploration of dreams featuring input from various experts and Christopher Nolan. There is also an animated comic book feature, which sets up a prologue to the main movie, plus a chance to sample some of Hans Zimmer's truly epic musical score. The extras are completed with art galleries and a set of trailers.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Dom Cobb (DiCaprio) is asked for a 'favour for a favour'. He is propositioned to plant an idea inside coorporate titan Cillian Murphy's mind, this is known as an inception.

He gets a team together to pull this off, specialists in their fields each one of them in order to get inside his mind without being detected.

This is the premise for Christopher (dark knight) Nolan's big budget blockbuster, Inception. A complex movie at times as it's set within a dream within a dream within a dream! It gets deep.

Inception looks and sounds brilliant on bluray. CGI there is but also lots of special effects (you don't hear that term much nowadays do you?) The scene outside the Paris cafe so beautifully shot did not use any CGI. The FX chaps used air cannons to strategically blast all the objects, chairs, tables etc in specific directions whilst Cobb and Ariadne just sit untouched, looked brilliant as does the whole movie. Colours are natural, blacks are inky yet clarity is crystal clear. Picture quality is outstanding. Audio is ear shattering. We had the surround on and the train crash suddenly happened. A change of pants all round was required! Aamazingly basey, I swear my windows rattled! Some great shootouts and fight scenes to enjoy soundwise too.

Extras include some featurettes, extraction mode, 'The Cobol Job' animation, a short about dreams, stills gallery and the BD live content.

This all comes inside a holographic/3d slipcover.

A must have for your bluray collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2014
I have lost count of how many times I've watched this movie and it never gets old. Each time I watch it I pick up something that I missed before. Stunning performance from Di Caprio and the score from Zimmer is sensational especially the track "Time". One of my all time favourite films
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
I cannot believe it has taken me this long to get round to watching Inception I finally succumbed to the hype and can confirm that it was 100% deserved. Inception is a cleverly crafted film that will blow you away with its star studded (and very talented) cast, stunning CGI and mind boggling plot.

A whole host of famous actors star in Inception from Leonardo do Caprio to Tom Hardy to Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Ellen Page. I don't think I can fault a single move or sound that came from these actors who all gave flawless performances. I cannot pinpoint which character or actor stood out the most to me because they were all equally brilliant. Leonardo di Caprio is probably the actor who got to show the greatest spread of emotion and showcase different sides to his acting as his character is involved in a love story. This story permeates throughout the entire film, though rather strangely, few other characters are involved in it at all. This addition to the story just gave the film a little extra something and added an emotional level to this cool-as-a-cucumber film.

I do not think I have ever seen a film with such stunning CGI effects. Hats off to whoever was in control of the effects because they were truly brilliant and breathtaking at times. Inception deals with dreams within dreams (sometimes dreams within dreams within dreams!), in which the subconscious is allowed to create whatever world it desires and the cities created in this film were simply amazing whether it be a modern Western city, a Japanese city or even a ski slope. If only it were possible to fold a city in half with roads replacing the sky. It was not only the CGI used to create the scenery that was impressive, but also the effects used during the action sequences. There were plenty of fights during this movie, most, but not all, involving gunfire and the fluidity of the on screen action was astounding. This is not ordinary action though, in one case there was even a fight when the gravity had been switched off and ceiling became floor and vice versa multiple times. It was just so ... cool! James Bond has nothing on these guys.

Alongside the brilliant CGI effects there was really great cinematography. Now I don't really know anything about filming or the technical side of film-making but it's impossible not to notice the fluidity between shots and the capturing of perfect angles. There's also a really great soundtrack which just gives this film that extra umpf and makes everything more dramatic and tense. This film will not only play with your mind, but also your senses as you're assaulting by an array of brilliant sights and sounds.

All in all, Inception is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade and I don't think I can fault it in anyway. I rarely give 5 star ratings, but Inception truly deserves it. This is a must see film for everyone that will keep you entertained for every second.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 December 2010
This box set is a great gift for any hardcore Inception fan. Cobb's totem is a little smaller than I expected, but still evokes the same sense of thrill when attempting to spin it. The cards are nice, if useless - but if put in a frame would like nice hanging on your wall. The instruction guide, is nothing but an instruction guide. The writing is too small for my liking, but nonetheless I have terrible eye sight.

I think only hardcore Inception fans would enjoy this box set. The best part of this is the triple play, knowing I can watch this movie even when the blu-ray DVD player is being used. The totem, instruction guide to the PASIV, and the cards, are unnecessary features, if you just liked the movie and may want to watch it again. In that case it would be more responsible to buy JUST the triple play. However hardcore fans, like myself, would feel delight when opening the PASIV and immediately remember the joy they felt after watching this fine movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
81 of 96 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2010
Whoever is reading this knows what Inception is and is probably wanting to buy the film, if they want to read a review then best go to Rotten Tomatoes or IMDB, but I'm here to tell you about "Inception: Limited Edition - Triple Play (Blu-ray & DVD & Digital Copy)".

It comes in a plastic case covering the metal briefcase that is bigger than the briefcase it's self obviously. The briefcase however is lighter than one would expect. Carved into the front is the title of the film and then under that is the clip which you undo to open the briefcase. In front of you after opening it is the Blu-ray box with a holographic slipcase. On the other side is the "Portable Automated Somnacin IntraVenous (PASIV) Device Instruction Manual MV-235A" which tells you how the fictional PASIV Device used in the film works, it's a nice tie-in book. If you take that out then under the book are five art cards that are about the size of a postcard. Two are posters from the film and the other three are stills from the film. Above that is a replica of Cobb's Totem as seen in the film. Underneath it says "INCEPTION" carved into the Totem. Next to the space where the Totem rests in the box are the numbers "528 491", a reference to the film of course. All of the contents are in a hard foam.

If you open up the Blu-Ray box you will see three discs. Two Blu-Rays and one DVD. There is a leaflet inside instructing how to get your version of the Inception Digital Copy. As with most Digital Copies they have an expiry date (05/12/2011, in a years time yesterday). The first disc (Blu-Ray) is disc 1 of 2. It is in black and white and has a birds eye view of a city but with "Inception" written in as if a building itself. The second disc is in colour and shows the Totem spinning on it's side. The third disc (DVD) is black and white too with nice relevent patterns on it.

---

Special Features (as copied from the back of the box):

Extraction Mode - Infiltrate the Movie's Imaginative Landscape to Learn How Christopher Nolan, Leonardo DeCaprio and the Cast and Crew Designed and Achieved the Film's Signature Moments

Dreams: Cinema of the Subconscious -Can the Dream World Be a Fully Functional Parallel Reality? Joeseph Gordon-Levitt and the Leading Scientists Take You to the Cutting Edge of Dream Research

Inception: The Cobol Job - Comic Prologue in Full Animation and Motion: See the Events That Led to the Beginning of the Movie.

5.1 Soundtrack Selections From Hans Zimmer's Versatile Score.

---

Main Feature
1080p High Definition (DVD standard definition for the third disc) 16x9 2.4:1 DTS-HD Master Audio: English 5.1 Dolby Digital: Castilian Spanish 5.1, English 5.1 Audio Descriptive Service.

Subtitles
English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Special Features
May not be in High Definition. Audio & subtitles may vary.

---

Final note for people who don't own Blu-Ray players but are buying this boxset for the collector's items: the special features are on the second Blu-ray disc. The DVD disc contains just the film, no special features. So if you are a collector who wants the items as well as special features then I recommend buying this and the 2-Disc DVD edition.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
1818 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 19 May 2014
Well worth a watch, very impressed with the film from start to finish. Be prepared for you mind to spin at the start as a lot of information to take in but I think that added to the depth of the film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Dark Knight Rises (DVD) [2012]
The Dark Knight Rises (DVD) [2012] by Christian Bale (DVD - 2012)
£4.59

Shutter Island [DVD] (2010)
Shutter Island [DVD] (2010) by Leonardo DiCaprio (DVD - 2010)
£2.99

The Prestige [DVD] [2006]
The Prestige [DVD] [2006] by Hugh Jackman (DVD - 2007)
£3.87
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.