Customer Reviews


722 Reviews
5 star:
 (416)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies - ever
This is one of my top favourite movies. Not only the plot is incredebly clever and intriguing, the photography is also stunning and one of the few movies where special effects actually add to the story rather than distracting from it.

In a nutshell, having discovered a way to break into other people's dreams to "steal" ideas, a group of...
Published 16 months ago by Daniela. G.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but strangely memorable
This is about a team who specialise in entering the dreams of others, and then manipulating them in this dream state into thinking they must do something when they wake up. The team are also capable of designing dreams which they then implant. For example, the main plot of this film is that a wealthy CEO has paid the team to invade the dream of his main business rival and...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by M. McManus


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies - ever, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my top favourite movies. Not only the plot is incredebly clever and intriguing, the photography is also stunning and one of the few movies where special effects actually add to the story rather than distracting from it.

In a nutshell, having discovered a way to break into other people's dreams to "steal" ideas, a group of "criminals" is assigned a mission going in the opposite direction. They must "implant" an idea, which makes their task even more difficult. Since in dreams we live forever, the task is complicated even further by a dead woman who just does not want to stay dead.

You can watch it over and over and still find something new in every viewing. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, Unique & Outstanding Sci-Fi Action Spectacular, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Inception (DVD).

DVD Info.
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Region: All Regions
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.78:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 12
Studio: Warner Home Video
Running Time: 148 minutes

Cast.
Leonardo DiCaprio as Dom Cobb
Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Arthur
Ellen Page as Ariadne
Tom Hardy as Eames
Dileep Rao as Yusuf. Rao
Cillian Murphy as Robert Michael Fischer
Tom Berenger as Peter Browning
Marion Cotillard as Mal Cobb
Pete Postlethwaite as Maurice Fischer
Michael Caine as Professor Stephen Miles
Lukas Haas as Nash

Box Office.
Budget $160 million
Box office $825.5 million

Trivia.
1)If you take the first letters of the main characters' names - Dom, Robert, Eames, Arthur, Mal and Saito - they spell "Dreams". If you add Peter, Ariadne and Yusuf, the whole makes "Dreams Pay", which is what they do for a mind thief.
2)When Cobb gave Ariadne the puzzle test, Ariadne's final solution was a diagram of King Minos' Labyrinth. Ariadne is the name of King Minos' daughter in the same mythology.
3)Joseph Gordon-Levitt performed all but one of his own stunts during the fight scene in the spinning hallway.
4)The role of Arthur was originally meant for Heath Ledger before his untimely death.
5)Despite prominent billing, Michael Caine only gets three minutes of screentime.
6)Christopher Nolan has said that the snow-based third-level dream was inspired by his favourite James Bond film On Her Majesty's Secret Service (1969).

What's The Story.
Dom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state, when the mind is at its most vulnerable.

Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world of corporate espionage, but it has also made him an international fugitive that has cost him everything he has ever loved.

Now Cobb is being offered a chance at redemption. One last job could give him his life back but only if he can accomplish the impossible-inception, but instead of the perfect heist, Cobb and his team of specialists have to pull off the reverse: their task is not to steal an idea but to plant one. If they succeed, it could be the perfect crime. But no amount of careful planning or expertise can prepare the team for the dangerous enemy that seems to predict their every move. An enemy that only Cobb could have seen coming.

Timelord Thoughts.
Christopher Nolan rebooted & reloaded Batman into a phenomenal trilogy of movies, Inception sees Nolan up the ante that crosses James Bond & The Matrix with excellent results that are simply mind blowing as not only does Nolan deliver a full on action packed adventure he also delivers a unique & original story that ties all the characters together somehow & includes many puzzles to solve throughout the movie that may require up to more than one viewing.

Nolans sharp cutting & up tempo pace means that there is always something happening on screen whether it's action or an intriguing plot point, if not then the wonderful visuals are interesting enough to keep you entertained.

The final hour of the film, is possibly one of the most complicated action sequences put together on film which demands the viewers complete attention to understand all of the layers of what is happening while the ambiguous final twist will have many moviegoers debating the movies final shot.

All of the actors are fantastic too, Leonardo Di Caprio is brilliant as Dom Cobb who adds emotional weight & gravitas as he portrays Cobb as a flawed, grim, fragile man, who has knowledge about everything else but yet can't seem to come in grips with himself & his past demons.

Ellen Page gives a equally great performance throughout as Cobbs guide Ariadne while actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt gives a clever understated performance as Arthur & features in one of the movies big stand out action sequences & finally Tom Hardy is awesomely good, charming & completely bad ass as Eames who completely steals the show from under Di Caprio.

In a world full of remakes, reboots, sequels, prequels this is like a breath of fresh air as Inception delivers a unique & original film & a chance for audiences to see something different as Nolan who has also written this movie directs superbly choreographed action & fight sequences which you can actually see what's going on instead of the constant fast schizophrenic MTV cutting of most of the movies directed today yet doesn't comprise on the movies storytelling & keeps the movie flowing despite the 148 minutes running time.

This is a masterpiece in moviemaking & a highly entertaining & creative movie that I would highly recommend to Sci-fi & action fan's who want to see something a little different from the usual standard action movie fare.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Amazon Instant Video)
Well worth a watch, very impressed with the film from start to finish. Be prepared for you mind to spin at the start as a lot of information to take in but I think that added to the depth of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Film, 21 April 2014
By 
Tristan Moss (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Amazon Instant Video)
An excellent film that you have to watch over and over to see if you understand it. I have seen it loads of times and some of it still confuses us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great attention holder, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as it had Leonardo in and was such a good price. I watched it last night and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. It certainly holds your attention and is quite complex, which I love as it makes you forget everything else that is going on. There are several layers to the dreams Leonardo goes into, so you do have to pay attention to remember which layer of dream he is in, as usual his acting is superb and the rest of the cast was very good too. A very original theme which I really enjoyed. Highly recommended for a cheap, entertaining evenings viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must see!, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I cannot believe it has taken me this long to get round to watching Inception I finally succumbed to the hype and can confirm that it was 100% deserved. Inception is a cleverly crafted film that will blow you away with its star studded (and very talented) cast, stunning CGI and mind boggling plot.

A whole host of famous actors star in Inception from Leonardo do Caprio to Tom Hardy to Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Ellen Page. I don't think I can fault a single move or sound that came from these actors who all gave flawless performances. I cannot pinpoint which character or actor stood out the most to me because they were all equally brilliant. Leonardo di Caprio is probably the actor who got to show the greatest spread of emotion and showcase different sides to his acting as his character is involved in a love story. This story permeates throughout the entire film, though rather strangely, few other characters are involved in it at all. This addition to the story just gave the film a little extra something and added an emotional level to this cool-as-a-cucumber film.

I do not think I have ever seen a film with such stunning CGI effects. Hats off to whoever was in control of the effects because they were truly brilliant and breathtaking at times. Inception deals with dreams within dreams (sometimes dreams within dreams within dreams!), in which the subconscious is allowed to create whatever world it desires and the cities created in this film were simply amazing whether it be a modern Western city, a Japanese city or even a ski slope. If only it were possible to fold a city in half with roads replacing the sky. It was not only the CGI used to create the scenery that was impressive, but also the effects used during the action sequences. There were plenty of fights during this movie, most, but not all, involving gunfire and the fluidity of the on screen action was astounding. This is not ordinary action though, in one case there was even a fight when the gravity had been switched off and ceiling became floor and vice versa multiple times. It was just so ... cool! James Bond has nothing on these guys.

Alongside the brilliant CGI effects there was really great cinematography. Now I don't really know anything about filming or the technical side of film-making but it's impossible not to notice the fluidity between shots and the capturing of perfect angles. There's also a really great soundtrack which just gives this film that extra umpf and makes everything more dramatic and tense. This film will not only play with your mind, but also your senses as you're assaulting by an array of brilliant sights and sounds.

All in all, Inception is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade and I don't think I can fault it in anyway. I rarely give 5 star ratings, but Inception truly deserves it. This is a must see film for everyone that will keep you entertained for every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but strangely memorable, 2 Feb 2011
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is about a team who specialise in entering the dreams of others, and then manipulating them in this dream state into thinking they must do something when they wake up. The team are also capable of designing dreams which they then implant. For example, the main plot of this film is that a wealthy CEO has paid the team to invade the dream of his main business rival and once there, plant ideas in his head to make him think he must take a certain course of action that will destroy his competitiveness. The dream is invaded by the team hooking themselves up to the sleeping victim using a special device, similar to a hospital 'drip' machine. Once there, the team members can interact with the victims to manipulate them. However this is a delicate task, as the mission will fail if they are killed in the dream (which will leave their actual self comatose) or if the subject realises they are dreaming and wakes up.

This film does contain some very confusing elements. For example, the team leave a tape playing music on in the room they are hooked up to the sleeping victim in. This is so that when the team in the dream hear certain lyrics or bars of music, they can remind themselves how much has elapsed. In some missions, they use these music cues as signals to do something in the dream. Perhaps the trickiest concept in the film is 'jumping levels', where they deepen the dream state. Even more confusing are points in the film where they design a dream that the person dreams they are dreaming....yes, I know!

The cast are all excellent, and good performances underline this. Given the tricky subject matter, there is a better than even chance you will feel a bit 'lost' at times, but you will still enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dream movie - literally, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Now I'll confess, I love Leonardos of all the shades, be they paintists, mutated turtles, or The Noblest Actor of Generations. Like most, I have had them fingers crossed for a sequel to everyone's favourite aquatic romp 'Titanic'. Alas oh how we's continue to wait! Regardless, my dog Benji and I decided to give this epic dream saga a shot - normally Benji prefers romcoms, while I'm more of a sci-fi'ist, but we're an open-minded duo. Knowing full well that this was the very director who had invented Manbat, I had high expectations for his latest wares. Well I can tell you somebody's tail was wagging (it was Benji) within minutes of the movie opening!

Admittedly, for me the film was a little hard to follow. Having missed some sequences while visiting the toilet, I tried falling asleep to generate some dreams that could plug the gaps. In my version of the movie Benji and I found ourselves in a samurai showdown with Ken Watanabe - we lost, which was Benji's fault (bad dog). Obviously this is a slight plot digression to that which other viewers will encounter. Overall, I found my version of the movie stimulatory, bangtastic and thrillsome at all the right points. Benji and I say two paws up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So clever it's head fell off, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this film. Leonardo is completely convincing and it is a thrill a minute all the way through. But ultimately the whole concept is total rubbish! If you are looking for a deeper meaning then perhaps the original Matrix will be better but for everyone else this film is great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU PREPARED FOR THIS?, 17 Feb 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A movie built like a labyrinth, complete with a menacing minotauric presence and a guiding Ariadne; worlds within worlds and dreams reflected onto dreams like an infinity mirror effect.

Nolan takes the viewer deep, deeper than any other filmmaker in memory, and without holding your hand all the way he never lets you get lost. His vision has years compressed into hours, Paris folding onto itself, militarized minds and entire worlds built out of a single person's imagination. Yet in the end, his logic is solid and his story scintillatingly brilliant.

This is bioSciFi, cyberpunk and action movie all rolled into a complex story in the near future, where not even our dreams will be safe and sharing our subconscious fears and fixations will only be an induced REM cycle away.

Have you tried your Totem yet?
Then how can you be sure?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inception [DVD] [2010]
Inception [DVD] [2010] by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2010)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews