Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The birds and the Bush
Kate is a british icon - still sounding as unique as she did 30 years ago. That was a time when true talent was nurtured, rather than dropped after one failed single. It was wonderful to see her back and reminding us of her eccentric genius.

It's 'A Sky of Honey' that lifts this album into the 'essential' category. You owe it to yourself to sit in an English...
Published on 21 April 2009 by Jeffrey M. Black

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sorry kate, very average
Everybody is raving about this album but i'm a little disappointed. It sounds very nice but i keep waiting for something to happen, it doesn't. Twelve years ago i wondered if she was running out of ideas, this shows that she has. Even after such a long break she sounds no different except there is no excitement in the music like there used to be. Kate Bush was...
Published on 13 Nov 2005 by Frippoid


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The birds and the Bush, 21 April 2009
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
Kate is a british icon - still sounding as unique as she did 30 years ago. That was a time when true talent was nurtured, rather than dropped after one failed single. It was wonderful to see her back and reminding us of her eccentric genius.

It's 'A Sky of Honey' that lifts this album into the 'essential' category. You owe it to yourself to sit in an English country garden and listen to it. Just a beautiful summery concept album, where Kate makes songs from the coo-ing and chirping of pigeons and blackbirds. The moment when I gazed out over the moonlit ocean in Miami and the words "We stand in the Atlantic and we become panoramic" played over my iPod will stay with me forever. It's worth the price for CD2 alone.

Elsewhere, 'A Sea of Honey' is less cohesive, but still intriguing. Only Kate can get away with writing child-like songs about cheerful domesticity. Maybe her love for her son can be a little cloying, but at least it's honest. 'Pi' manages to make numbers sound sexy as hell. 'A Coral Room' is an intensely personal song about the death of her mother. You feel like you're intruding on her grief just by listening to it - but that's what separates a true artist from the wannabe; she expresses the loss in the best way she knows.

Kate Bush is an original and we should cherish her while we still can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 years of waiting..., 20 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. N. R. Baxter "mnrb" (Staffs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
Having been a huge Kate fan since I was in my teens back at the end of the seventies, this is a hard album to review, in fact it took me a week to play it after buying it on release day, such was the anticipation, so here goes.. Disc 1: King Of The Mountain,we all know by now: Pi, odd but excuisite: Bertie, a little too self indulgent for my liking but we'll forgive her that one: Mrs Bartolozzi, odd subject matter but hey it's kate: How To Be Invisible, great song: Joanni, stand out song of disc 1 great rythyms haunting melodies and b.v's, would sit niceley on "The Dreaming" (Kate's best album): A Coral Room, just Kate and a piano nobody does this kind of song better in fact nobody does this kind of song full stop. So disc 1 gets 4 stars. Now... Disc 2: This has to be reviewed as a whole, and as such, I give it 5 stars... no.. blow it, let's give it 6, this is what we have so missed for the past 12 years, it's why Kate has such a long and loyal following and why we love her so much. Nothing anyone else does touches this. This is pure music. This is pure magic. This is pure Kate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knows who wrote that song of colour that blackbirds sing at dusk?, 16 Jun 2007
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
Two albums really. Disc one is a mix of Bush quirk. Some songs are great - Mrs Bartolozzi stands out - but some aren't.

The second disc is the reason you want this in your record collection. More of a painting than a record. It's a concept album like the Hounds of Love second side the Ninth Wave and as good as that was this is better - more mature, inventive and mysterious. Every time you listen it reveals something new. It's like being relaxed and stimulated at the same time. Her voice gets better with the years, which is handy given the amount of time she takes to make records. Although as impatient as you get for new songs you forgive her as soon as they come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure music, 7 July 2006
By 
P. I. MCCLINTON (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
This album is a true grower. Owning every Kate Bush album I was keen to hear this latest release. I made the mistake of listening to it once and thinking it wasn't up to the usual standards expected of Kate. It was then shelved until 2 months ago when I thought I would give it another go. Am I glad I did.

This is an album which I don't want people to know about. It is a personal and beautiful work of art which if you don't understand, then so be it.

Go away and hide if you don't appreciate this work - this is music at it's finest. Uncategorisable. Rock, jazz, pop - who cares? - it's fantastic music.

I listen to this album every night before I go to sleep and I am sure my dreams are sweeter because of it.

Kate - Please give us more soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Kate Bush, 9 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
Like thousands of others I have waited a long time for this one but I can assure you it was worth it. One of the interesting things about Kate Bush is how she doen't appear to be affected by current music trends; she just does her own thing. In an age of talentless wannabes she is a positive gale of fresh air.
On A Sea of Honey, she makes the mundane profound, the everyday; sublime. Washing machines, numbers, little brown jugs all take on their own significance. We are all made up of these seemingly meaningless moments. Combined with hypnotic soundscapes, Ariel draws you in like a siren. Femaleness has always been intrinsic to her work and 'Bertie'is a celebration of absolute mother love, while 'A Coral Room' is an ode to loss.
A Sky of Honey charts the progress of a day and is filled with birdsong, or as Bertie puts it 'The sky is full of birds'. At one point she laughs and laughs, in an imitation of birdsong. Not only does she get away with it but it all makes perfect sense!
The result is a dreamlike vision, richly textured and full of colour that make you glad to be alive, exhibiting a depth and maturity which surpasses even the Hounds of Love. Don't get me wrong, she is still as peculiar as ever, only even more convincing these days. This album made me cry, not just because of its beauty, but because it is so wonderful to know that pure God-given talent still does exist. Buy it because it is the best Kate Bush album yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album from Kate, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece from Kate with some stunning tracks on the first CD and just the most lusciously beautiful 'day painting' on the 2nd CD. You don't need to wonder, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kate is back....but in a different vein, 6 Nov 2005
By 
D. Dixon "Diggler" (Middlesbrough, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
She's back, but has matured into a more orchestral artist. Kate has always produced multi-layered songs, but this album is something else. Sea of Honey (d1) is kate at her lyrical best, Sky of Honey(d2) shows Kate's compositional skills at the zenith.
She still has the ability to summon the lump in your throat ( re coral room ), but I'm struggling to find words to describe just how good songs like Nocturne and Aerial are.
It's not 'Hounds..', 'Sensual..' or anything that has gone before, this is Kate for the new millenium...intelligent,insightful,sensitive and (like her) beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!!!!!!!!, 25 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
Having waited so long for the return of the music goddess to make and produce another album - I was so excited to buy it and listen to it! And it doesn't disappoint - what an understatement! The different levels that the music and lyrics reaches is phenomenal! The layers and textures of the sounds are incredible - it truly is a masterpiece. One of her best. I recomend either a dark room to let the sounds just consume your very being or driving to hear the sounds bounce from all four speakers!! Great stuff! How many 47 year old women could write, play and produce such original amazing music - what a heroine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Glorious Return..., 11 Nov 2005
By 
Brian (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
I've been listening to "Aerial" for 4 days now - we get new releases on Friday over here in Ireland - and I can't recommend this record highly enough to anyone. It takes a couple of listens to aclimatise to the weird and wonderful world that Kate conjures up - but it's always the ones that don't sound so impressive at first that become the most enduring, timeless and addictive classics.
Aerial is all of this and more. It has a collection of songs on "A Sea Of Honey" which defy categorisation, swooping from reggae tinged rock in "King Of The Mountain" through medieval sounding (yet somehow funky!) lutes or suchlike on "Bertie" and on to the incredible piano and voice tour de force of "Mrs Bertolucci". This is one song which really sounds ridiculous at first - but get past the bizarre subject matter and the emotional intensity is all consuming. "Washing Machine" never sounded so creepy, erotic or melancholy.
"How to be Invisible" should be the next single - a funked up yet completely understated slice of tasteful rock-pop which invokes the mundanities of everyday life to create a cloak of privacy for our heroine - ironically it's more revealing about Kate Bush's state of mind than any of the more crazy tracks on the CDs... "Joanni" is an odd one, a grower though that sounds better and better every time I hear it. "A Coral Room" returns to piano and voice... perhaps the most beautiful thing ever recorded by Kate Bush, it's classical overtones and changes in tempo serve to accentuate an intensely moving, cinematic lyric involving cities covered in nets, the "little brown jug" that once belonged to and now reminds of her late mother. It's heart wrenching yet somehow uplifting and leads beautifully to the second half, "A Sky Of Honey" which begins on a musical echo of the close of the first CD.
This suite of songs and instrumental passages almost resists review on a song by song basis as the cumulative effect of the whole creates a sense of great exhilaration, the epilogue to the relaxing calm and beauty of much of the disc. "Prelude" is so beautiful I could listen to it on repeat over and over again, "Prologue"... bliss, especially as Kate slips into Italian as the languid drums assert themselves. "An Architect's Dream", though having rather ordinary musical accompaniment in comparison to some of it's company (lovely chiming synths notwithstanding), fearures some amazing vocal swoops and dives and the potentially embarassing appearance of Rolf Harris on "The Painter's Link" is handled beautifully...
From here it's all further uphill! "Sunset" combines a languid, jazzy arrangement with stunningly vivid imagery and the unforgettable enunciation by Kate of the words "A sea of honey, a sky of honey..." wherein both sea and sky are stretched to about 10 syllables each! The flamenco interlude is as surprising and dynamic a shift of focus as I have experienced in music with the gruff male voice duetting "the day writes the words right across the sky, they go all the way up to the top of the night" adding wonderful depth to a beautifully poetic notion.
"Arial Tal" sees Kate duet with a bird to wonderful effect leading us to my personal Highlight - "Somewhere In Between". Lyrically, musically and structurally perfect, potentially generic skittering drum and bass sounds are instead transformed into a vivid evocation of twilight. It's moody, erotic, mystical and beautiful. Kate bush at her best.
There is no drop from this peak. "Nocturn" drifts in on a swell of new agey synths, features a superbly controlled vocal performance which ranges from soft ethereal tones describing the dreamlike experience of surrendering to the Atlantic to the roaring chorus heralding the sunrise "climbing up the aerial" (possibly the most spine tingling moment on the album....).
And still more, the unrelenting climax of "Aerial" sweeps us up in the celebration of dawn. Kate sounds almost deranged "I gotta get up on the roof" as a pounding, almost disco beat drives us towards the utterly climactic yet tastefully understated guitar solo as Kate's voice becomes one with the birds...
This is Kate Bush's masterpiece. It has all the positives and none of the overindulgent negatives of her past output. Everything is reined in, controlled and perfected in pursuit of the ideal. It's a bloody incredible piece of work that needs to be listened to loudly and repeatedly for the sheer genius to sink in... And when it does its very difficult to think about much else...
God it's a brilliant piece of work. Well done Kate and long may you continue creating your amazing, beautiful, mind-expanding music away from the glare of publicity and the emptiness of celebrity. I'd be willing to wait another 12 years for something else as wonderful as "Aerial", but it'd be great if it arrived sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Aerial reception, 5 Mar 2006
This review is from: Aerial (Audio CD)
Twenty-eight years ago a precocious teenager dancing in a white dress and singing about Emily Brontë's Heathcliff and Cathy captivated me. Four months ago Kate Bush released the two-disc set "Aerial", her first new album since 1993's turbulent "The Red Shoes". Is the man as entranced now as was the boy then?
Kate Bush's prestige derives largely from albums of the 1980s; the chaotic, idiosyncratic pop of "The Dreaming" (1982) and the commercial yet satisfyingly deep "Hounds Of Love" (1985). "Aerial" falls short of those, but only because the first disc in this set ("A Sea Of Honey") is as plain, in places even dull, a set of songs as Kate Bush has ever released. However, the second disc ("A Sky Of Honey") is a song cycle that is at first rhapsodic, then rapturous. It is, quite simply, glorious music.
"Sea" sees Kate Bush writing on themes that, on the whole, have little of the emotional turmoil that is everywhere in her earlier work. Perhaps only "King Of The Mountain", her meditation on fame, and "A Coral Room", clearly and painfully about her deceased mother, are of this darker, more substantial, hue. "Pi" is little more than a recital of the constant, "Bertie" a jolly Elizabethan pastiche doubling as a paean to her son and two other songs are forgettable doodles. "Mrs Bartolozzi" is better, but is marred by some strained vocals towards the end.
However, "Sky" is a triumph. From the opening wood pigeons and a boy (her son?) speaking to the closing laughter of the title track, the listener is taken on a journey through a day that begins pastorally and ends in manic dancing. This is a Kate Bush who, presumably fulfilled by her "lovely little boy", having rescued her life from a fate of trivial celebrity and having overcome the sadness documented in "The Red Shoes", has found a new voice. Gone is the darkness, come are the celebrations. On its own I would have rated it at five stars. I take one off for the squib that is the first disc.
If "Sky" is Kate Bush's last musical statement, then she has signed off magnificently and this man is still entranced after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aerial
Aerial by Kate Bush
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews