Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd hard drive on notebooks
This is a good way to add a second hard disk on a notebook. It works fine on a Dell Precision M4600 notebook and probably on most notebooks that use 9.5mm hight slimline cd/dvd drives. Take the slimline CD/DVD out of the notebook, put a hard drive in the caddy and substitute it in place of the cd/dvd. When buying this also buy an e-sata to slimiline sata or a usb to...
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by Dimitris Kostopoulos

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fairly OK product to extend your storage in Late 2011 MacBookPro 13"
Does what it says on the tin - at least it did for my Late 2011 MacBookPro 13". I put original hard disk into it and system saw it straight away, taking superdrive completely out. However, its bit overpriced as for this volume of plastic and bit of metal. Also, it is lacking of any type of handles that you could use to screw it in place. Effectively, you just slot hdd in...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by simeruk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it claims...., 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
I have just purchased one of these caddy's and it does exactly what it claims.
You connect your 2.5" SATA hard drive to the connector inside the caddy, remove your SATA CD/DVD drive (if you have a bracket to hold the drive in the laptop, remove it and connect it to the caddy) plug in the caddy, screw into case (with previously connected bracket).

You will then have a second SATA hard drive in your laptop.

Just make sure that you realise that this caddy is only 9.5mm high. If your laptop CD/DVD drive is 13mm this is not the caddy for you, if however your CD/DVD drive is 9.5mm high then this caddy will work just fine.

You can also remove the square bezel provided and connect the one from your laptop to keep the sleek lines (if look is important to you)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant (provided you're not afraid of taking the back off your laptop), 7 Feb 2012
By 
S. Whatling (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
Exactly what I needed. Loaded up a 1TB drive and plopped it into my Toshiba Satellite R630-13r, to replace an optical drive which I never use. Meant removing the whole laptop base (loads of small screws) but I've had to do that before following a drink spillage so wasn't too much of a worry. Drive caddy drops in easily and securely. There were no screws to hold the drive into the caddy, nor to hold the caddy inside the laptop - but everything's such a snug fit in there that it really didn't need them. The external edge of the bay doesn't exactly match the original tray cover but it's close enough. Personally I don't give a damn what it looks like as long as there are no bits sticking out to get snagged. Pleased to find that it worked perfectly first time and the extra drive hasn't reduced the battery consumption as much as I'd feared.

Bear in mind that it comes without instructions and every model of laptop will present its own challenges - but if you're not happy tinkering you probably wouldn;t be buying one of these in the first place. Might seem expensive for what it is but it's not something they'd be manufacturing in large volumes - and compared with the cost of replacing my laptop it was a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not neat, 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
Fantastically easy product to install and use so it does exactly what it says on the tin. Only quibble is that is doesn't fit snug with my laptop bay, but it never said it would. If it was a little neater it would be perfect.

Was installed in my work laptop - Dell Latitude e6420.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replace Dell E6410 DVD-RW with extra hard disk, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Steve Ward (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
This fits my Dell E6410 perfectly. I rarely need a DVD-RW but since I replaced the Dell's original hard disk with a (smallish) SSD I do need a portable hard disk to store all my important data and Virtual Machines. Now I can just carry the portable hard disk in the PC, reducing the number of boxes and cables required.

Just in case I still want to use the DVD-RW, I haven't moved all the user and temporary files to the SSD, otherwise if the hard disk isn't present the computer won't boot. However, it does have a backup of important user files in case the SSD gets corrupted (not sure if this will happen but as SSD is in some way an emerging technology I like to make regular backups).

Pros:
+ less stuff to carry
+ less weight
+ fits SATA hard disk and Dell E6410 perfectly
+ native SATA interface gives full speed access to SATA hard disk
+ looks fine with black panel to match E6410 chassis

Not really cons, but worth noting:
- needs long fingernails or a screwdriver to remove caddy from E6410 (no eject mechanism)
- must remember to backup to off-line device as well; otherwise of the laptop is stolen or damaged both hard disks are gone
- no obvious way to have DVD-RW installed and connect caddy with disk drive externally (or vice versa); to do this I have to remove the hard disk and install in an 'Icy Box Enclosure For 2.5" SATA Hard Drive with ESATA & USB External Connector' or use a different DVD drive via USB; but this should rarely be an issue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SATA Caddy for 2.5" HDD, 8 Sep 2011
By 
M. J. Hutton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
Worked perfectly, easy to install the HDD into the drive bay and then firmly clicked into place. The HDD operated exactly as expected and has enable the laptop to have much higher storage without having to replace the main HDD and the hassles that results in.

Due to the design of the Dell E6410 removing the caddy was little awkward and required a couple of thin tools to be used, but as this was a rare need it hardly matters.

All in all for the prices and ease of use I would highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for your macbook pro., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
Works like a charm. Replaced macbook pro 2011 dvd drive with ssd drive. You need thuis to place it in your computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars However a few mods were required with super glue., 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
Got it to fit on the lenovo G700. However a few mods were required with super glue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a MacMini early 2009, does not fit very well, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
I took a shoot in the dark and I try to buy this instead of the more expensive optibay because my Magic Drive died and I decided to replace it with a 128GB SSD.
I have no complains about the product, just be aware that is not the best choice for a MacMini. I was able to screw only a couple of holes and I had to remove the plastic bit from the front, that, differently from the advertise picture, did not come as separate part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
I couldn't actually use my DVD-RW front-panel and it looks out of place on my HP laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worked on and off for a bit, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bipra 9.5mm SATA to SATA Second Hard Drive or SSD Bay Caddy for Laptops, MacBook and MacBook Pro (Accessory)
In my dell it needs a firm push in and has to be levered out with a screwdriver. It worked intermittently for a bit, and now no longer (although the computer sometimes says there's a device that it doesn't recognise). Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews